Switch Theme:

Chapter tactics  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Do Kor'sarro Khan Chapter tactics cover the whole army or just C:SM units?

And yes checked FQA it doesn't say.(or I missed it.)
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

What other army could you take that has the Combat Tactics special rule?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Knight of the Inner Circle






I think he is suggesting that if you allied with other PA books....I highly doubt this is so but look in the FAQ at chapter tactics and make sure it doesn't read "this only effect C:SM units with combat tactics"

6000 points
4000 points
Empire 5500 Points

 
   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Utah

All Chapter Tactics rules say they exchange Combat Tactics with the special version of Chapter Tactics listed. So unless the other army also has Combat Tactics it will not effect the allied detachment.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Captain Antivas wrote:All Chapter Tactics rules say they exchange Combat Tactics with the special version of Chapter Tactics listed. So unless the other army also has Combat Tactics it will not effect the allied detachment.

False. You should read Kahns and Vulkans rules sometime. And Pedro's.

RAW all dedicated transports get outflank. I doubt it's intended though.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Utah

rigeld2 wrote:
Captain Antivas wrote:All Chapter Tactics rules say they exchange Combat Tactics with the special version of Chapter Tactics listed. So unless the other army also has Combat Tactics it will not effect the allied detachment.

False. You should read Kahns and Vulkans rules sometime. And Pedro's.

RAW all dedicated transports get outflank. I doubt it's intended though.


Pedro has a 2 part rule. The first part says "If you include Pedro Kantor then all units in your army exchange the Combat Tactics special rule for the Stubborn universal special rule..." so although all benefits of his rule don't have to be exchanged there is half of it that does, and the 2nd half only affects Sternguards and not the army as a whole. Which means if your ally doesn't have Sternguards you don't get the 2nd benefit.

Vulkan you are right, I forgot about that. Good catch.

Khan also says "all units in your army exchange the Combat Tactics special rule for the ability to outflank." Exchange, just like with Pedro, if you don't have Combat Tactics you cannot exchange it so you don't get the benefit if you do not have Combat Tactics, unless as you pointed out you are in a DT. But a foot slogging ally does not get Outflank unless it also has Combat Tactics. So you are mostly right about Khan too. And since that was the OP question is the most important.
   
Made in us
Hurr! Ogryn Bone 'Ead!




From the way I read it for those that "Replace chapter tactics" then yes only space marines with the rule get the bonus. How ever for those like Vulcan it would fall under the allies ruling, For battle brothers you get all positive bonus. thus I would say yes, they are combined "Your army" and you get the bonus. how ever ONLY for battle brothers, I used this same logic at a lot of tourney's before the new sisters codex came out. Vulcan and the old witch hunters was a Nice combo.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/08/13 11:57:25



 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

aleis wrote:From the way I read it for those that "Replace chapter tactics" then yes only space marines with the rule get the bonus. How ever for those like Vulcan it would fall under the allies ruling, For battle brothers you get all positive bonus. thus I would say yes, they are combined "Your army" and you get the bonus. how ever ONLY for battle brothers, I used this same logic at a lot of tourney's before the new sisters codex came out. Vulcan and the old witch hunters was a Nice combo.

No, you do not get to use Vulcans rules for anything that is not from the SM Codex.

page 109 under the Partial force organization charts heading,
"If your codex contains the primary detachment section of the Force Organization chart, the allied detachment and fortification sections will not be present, as individual codexes do not contain rules for allied units or fortifications."

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

Deathreaper - you're right, but for the wrong reason. That line, when taken in context, is essentially saying that you need to follow the rulebook for how your Codex's rules cover allies and fortifications because it won't be in the Codex itself. It doesn't say that your Codex's rules won't *affect* your allies, and in fact the allies rules for Battle Brothers says exactly the opposite.

Instead, Vulkan's ability applies to any friendly models from Codex: Space Marines because the FAQ now says so.

This raised another question in my head - what if you had two versions of Chapter Tactics in different detachments? For instance - can I have Pedro allied with Vulkan, to give me the +1 Attack bonus AND twin-linked weaponry? This depends on the definition of the word army, and to me that means the entire selection of units covered by your points, not just a detachment. So far my argument for this is within the FAQ again, top right of page 3. It mentions that such a decision needs to be made on the army list.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/13 17:23:23


"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in us
Preacher of the Emperor




Boston, MA

Super Ready wrote:Deathreaper - you're right, but for the wrong reason. That line, when taken in context, is essentially saying that you need to follow the rulebook for how your Codex's rules cover allies and fortifications because it won't be in the Codex itself. It doesn't say that your Codex's rules won't *affect* your allies, and in fact the allies rules for Battle Brothers says exactly the opposite.

Instead, Vulkan's ability applies to any friendly models from Codex: Space Marines because the FAQ now says so.

This raised another question in my head - what if you had two versions of Chapter Tactics in different detachments? For instance - can I have Pedro allied with Vulkan, to give me the +1 Attack bonus AND twin-linked weaponry? This depends on the definition of the word army, and to me that means the entire selection of units covered by your points, not just a detachment. So far my argument for this is within the FAQ again, top right of page 3. It mentions that such a decision needs to be made on the army list.


You are prohibited from building an army like this. Allied detachments must be chosen from a different Codex (page 109). Per the normal C:SM rules, you would have to choose between Pedro and Vulkan's Chapter Tactics for which would affect the army. Pedro would get to use his +1A bubble since that is a seperate rule from his Chapter Tactics (replace Combat Tactics with Stubborn).
   
Made in us
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker





Steel Angel wrote:Do Kor'sarro Khan Chapter tactics cover the whole army or just C:SM units?

And yes checked FQA it doesn't say.(or I missed it.)


I've brought this up before. There's nothing you're missing. RAW, the second part of his rule affects allied units, and GW neglected to FAQ while FAQ'ing other abilities from similar characters (providing weak RAI). However, I'd definitely check with your TO or opponent before using it.

   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Ricter wrote:
Steel Angel wrote:Do Kor'sarro Khan Chapter tactics cover the whole army or just C:SM units?

And yes checked FQA it doesn't say.(or I missed it.)
RAW, the second part of his rule affects allied units.

No it does not.

Army, taken in context from Kor'sarro Khan's rule means Codex Space Marines units. (And Battle Brothers maybe pending FAQ)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/13 22:46:44


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: