Switch Theme:

Storm Talon question.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Ultramarine Scout with Sniper Rifle





Oklahoma

The question is where can I start it ? On the table first turn or do I have to place it in reserve as the main rulebook states since it's a flyer.


This is what starts it for me. Escorting

The Escort rule says" If placed in reserve". What if I don't want it in Escort mode does that mean it's in reserve anyway?

Or can I just start it with my regular line up, on set up.

I might just be dumb clue me in folks.

_______________________________________


And they shall know no fear. 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Its a flyer, it starts in reserve now...no choice. Its type is found in the Appendices of the rule book... A grand option that I have been using is having it escort an outflanking unit on the table...very devastating. I love the way the enemy scrambles when my baal pred and the storm talon come in...
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Kelendros wrote:Its a flyer, it starts in reserve now...no choice. Its type is found in the Appendices of the rule book... A grand option that I have been using is having it escort an outflanking unit on the table...very devastating. I love the way the enemy scrambles when my baal pred and the storm talon come in...

I assume the storm talon is an ally since only vanilla marines can take them.

Unnessesarily extravegant word of the week award goes to jcress410 for this:

jcress wrote:Seem super off topic to complain about epistemology on a thread about tactics.
 
   
Made in ie
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight





Limerick

Kelendros wrote: A grand option that I have been using is having it escort an outflanking unit on the table...very devastating. I love the way the enemy scrambles when my baal pred and the storm talon come in...


Actually it is quite the opposite; the Storm Talon doesn't have to make a reserve roll, and has to come on within 6" of the Outflankers, but still is not permitted to Outflank, meaning you have now relegated your Outflankers to a 6" section of the board edge in which they can come on or else its illegal procedure.

Read Bloghammer!

My Grey Knights plog
My Chaos Space Marines plog
My Eldar plog

Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
Made in us
Preacher of the Emperor




Boston, MA

Deak wrote:The question is where can I start it ? On the table first turn or do I have to place it in reserve as the main rulebook states since it's a flyer.


This is what starts it for me. Escorting

The Escort rule says" If placed in reserve". What if I don't want it in Escort mode does that mean it's in reserve anyway?

Or can I just start it with my regular line up, on set up.

I might just be dumb clue me in folks.


The Storm Talon must now always begin in reserves (per the FAQ, which tells you to follow all the normal vehicle rules for its profile, i.e. flyer). You then have the additional option of attaching it as an escort craft to any other eligible unit you choose to put in reserves during the preparing reserves stage (i.e. a unit that is not deepstriking and not another Storm Talon). If you do so, you make one reserve roll for both units and they enter play at the same time. The Storm Talon must then enter within 6 inches of its escorted unit (note: not finish its move, but enter the board)
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: