Switch Theme:

Dedicated Transport in Reserve and Deploying  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Raging Ravener




Riding a Carnifex

How does it work if you buy a Flyer dedicated transport for a unit? Does the unit have to start the game in reserve embarked on the Flyer, or can it be deployed on the field and leave the flyer in reserve (because flyers have to start in reserve)? If you buy the Flyer transport and want to embark them on it, how does this work if you're only able to keep up to half your total number of units in reserve?

Specifically, this is about the Night Scythe.

2400 points Tyranids
4800 points Blood Angels

Your sarcasm will not affect me, your serious will.

 
   
Made in ca
Sinewy Scourge






Fliers MUST start in reserves.

40K:
5000+ points W/D/L: 10/0/6
4000+ points W/D/L: 7/0/4
1500+ points W/D/L: 16/1/4

Fantasy
4000+ points W/D/L: 1/1/2
2500+ points W/D/L: 0/0/3
Legends 2013 Doubles Tournament Champion  
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




You declare what is embarked or not embarked when you are deploying...you do not have to embark on a dedicated transport...but the only unit that "Can" start in it is the unit that bought it. This is explained in the rule book under deployment i believe. So for example you have a squad that purchased a flyer as a dedicated transport it can deploy on the board and the flyer be in reserve. As well you could keep both in reserve and the guys walk on (I.e. not embarked) or deep strike if they are allowed. The only Caveat is that when deploying you must declare how it is arriving...this is when you say it is embarked, deep striking, or just using reserves. Hope that helps. (Note the "Default" way of arriving is walking on from the board edge so make sure you declare to avoid agitating your opponent)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/16 04:42:38


 
   
Made in us
Raging Ravener




Riding a Carnifex

Thank you very much. This clears up everything.

2400 points Tyranids
4800 points Blood Angels

Your sarcasm will not affect me, your serious will.

 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Also not that a Storm Raven is Heavy Support, Not Dedicated transport...I notice you play BA and I am assuming that this is where the rules question is coming from.. It can start with any squad as you don't purchase it specifically as a Dedicated Transport.
   
Made in us
Preacher of the Emperor




Boston, MA

Kelendros wrote:You declare what is embarked or not embarked when you are deploying...you do not have to embark on a dedicated transport...but the only unit that "Can" start in it is the unit that bought it. This is explained in the rule book under deployment i believe. So for example you have a squad that purchased a flyer as a dedicated transport it can deploy on the board and the flyer be in reserve. As well you could keep both in reserve and the guys walk on (I.e. not embarked) or deep strike if they are allowed. The only Caveat is that when deploying you must declare how it is arriving...this is when you say it is embarked, deep striking, or just using reserves. Hope that helps. (Note the "Default" way of arriving is walking on from the board edge so make sure you declare to avoid agitating your opponent)


A squad that is in reserves with its dedicated transport must arrive embarked in the transport.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




PanzerLeader wrote:
Kelendros wrote:You declare what is embarked or not embarked when you are deploying...you do not have to embark on a dedicated transport...but the only unit that "Can" start in it is the unit that bought it. This is explained in the rule book under deployment i believe. So for example you have a squad that purchased a flyer as a dedicated transport it can deploy on the board and the flyer be in reserve. As well you could keep both in reserve and the guys walk on (I.e. not embarked) or deep strike if they are allowed. The only Caveat is that when deploying you must declare how it is arriving...this is when you say it is embarked, deep striking, or just using reserves. Hope that helps. (Note the "Default" way of arriving is walking on from the board edge so make sure you declare to avoid agitating your opponent)


A squad that is in reserves with its dedicated transport must arrive embarked in the transport.


They can arrive separately pg 124.
   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Utah

PanzerLeader wrote:
A squad that is in reserves with its dedicated transport must arrive embarked in the transport.


This is making up rules. No limitation like this exists in this edition. They are the only ones who can arrive in the DT but they don't have to.
   
Made in ca
Veteran Inquisitorial Tyranid Xenokiller






Also note that if the unit is embarked in it's DT Flyer, they do not count towards half reserves.
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

CrashCanuck wrote:Also note that if the unit is embarked in it's DT Flyer, they do not count towards half reserves.


Doesn't matter if they are embarked or not. A unit and it's dedicated transport always count as one unit when determining your reserves 'count'. And if (part of) the unit is unable to deploy because it must start in reserves, then it cannot be counted against your reserves.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Preacher of the Emperor




Boston, MA

Captain Antivas wrote:
PanzerLeader wrote:
A squad that is in reserves with its dedicated transport must arrive embarked in the transport.


This is making up rules. No limitation like this exists in this edition. They are the only ones who can arrive in the DT but they don't have to.


Reported. Please follow the forum rules like Fragile did and provide the rules quote. I stand corrected on this one---I misremembered a rule set from an earlier edition. It is certainly not making up rules.

Edit: After double checking pg 124, I see my confusion a little better. Units that are embarked in transports arrive together on one roll. If you split the unit and the transport, they make two seperate rolls. Got it now.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/17 20:41:45


 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Question answered.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: