Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/06 18:33:39
Subject: XV-8 Crisis Suit Weapon Loadouts
|
 |
Huge Hierodule
|
So I see nothing against this tactic, but I wanted to run it past the forum before trying it in games:
Can you take a twin-linked weapon, and another weapon of the same type on a single crisis suit? In the old codex this was explicity forbidden to do, but the new book harbors no such restrictions.
I want to take a twin linked flamer/flamer suit team for some cheap burning deep strike shenanigans vs horde armies.
input appreciated.
|
Been out of the game for awhile, trying to find time to get back into it. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/06 18:37:43
Subject: XV-8 Crisis Suit Weapon Loadouts
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
You are an evil evil man if you take that suit, but according to everyone so far it is fine for now, but people think good old GW is gonna spoil the fun and FAQ it (I pray not as my bro plays green tide and I would love to see the look on his face with that suit unit).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/07 00:32:27
Subject: XV-8 Crisis Suit Weapon Loadouts
|
 |
Legendary Master of the Chapter
|
What about taking just a flamer and a flamer? it doesn't specifically say anything about buying 2 equal twin-link, only that the second cost is if you buy it twin linked right?
|
Unit1126PLL wrote: Scott-S6 wrote:And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.
Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/07 02:35:58
Subject: XV-8 Crisis Suit Weapon Loadouts
|
 |
Huge Hierodule
|
That's true but I want a twin linked one as part of the setup.
|
Been out of the game for awhile, trying to find time to get back into it. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/07 03:20:55
Subject: XV-8 Crisis Suit Weapon Loadouts
|
 |
Legendary Master of the Chapter
|
Edit: blarg reading comprehension failing me. Just wana see does anyone else agree that suits can take 2x the same weapon?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/04/07 04:11:08
Unit1126PLL wrote: Scott-S6 wrote:And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.
Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/07 04:20:31
Subject: XV-8 Crisis Suit Weapon Loadouts
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
I believe you can take 2 of the same weapon.
The rules as worded don't seem to mandate that whenever you take 2 of the same weapon, you must use the second points cost and count them as twin linked.
In the previous codex, this restriction was not covered by the rules regarding twin-linking, but by the statement explaining the armoury which said:
"No model can pick the same item twice"
Since that restriction is not listed in the new armoury, I see no reason you can't select the same item twice.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/07 04:30:23
Subject: XV-8 Crisis Suit Weapon Loadouts
|
 |
Douglas Bader
|
Drunkspleen wrote:I believe you can take 2 of the same weapon.
The rules as worded don't seem to mandate that whenever you take 2 of the same weapon, you must use the second points cost and count them as twin linked.
This is correct. RAW you can. Whether or not GW changes it when they release a proper FAQ remains to be seen.
|
There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/07 05:54:05
Subject: XV-8 Crisis Suit Weapon Loadouts
|
 |
Deranged Necron Destroyer
|
Peregrine wrote: Drunkspleen wrote:I believe you can take 2 of the same weapon.
The rules as worded don't seem to mandate that whenever you take 2 of the same weapon, you must use the second points cost and count them as twin linked.
This is correct. RAW you can. Whether or not GW changes it when they release a proper FAQ remains to be seen.
Translation: Use magnets.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/07 08:00:50
Subject: XV-8 Crisis Suit Weapon Loadouts
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Drunkspleen wrote:"No model can pick the same item twice"
Since that restriction is not listed in the new armoury, I see no reason you can't select the same item twice.
I would consider that rule to be redundant; you are not normally allowed to pick the same option multiple times, you need explicit permission to be able to do that, rather than a specific restriction to prevent it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/07 08:06:01
Subject: XV-8 Crisis Suit Weapon Loadouts
|
 |
Douglas Bader
|
Pyrian wrote:I would consider that rule to be redundant; you are not normally allowed to pick the same option multiple times, you need explicit permission to be able to do that, rather than a specific restriction to prevent it.
So which other instances of the battlesuit weapon list have that rule? Because it doesn't matter if some other codex says you can't pick an option twice, just like it doesn't matter if some codices have ATSKNF as an army-wide rule. Tau don't have either.
|
There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/07 11:08:03
Subject: XV-8 Crisis Suit Weapon Loadouts
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Pyrian wrote:I would consider that rule to be redundant; you are not normally allowed to pick the same option multiple times, you need explicit permission to be able to do that, rather than a specific restriction to prevent it. Citation Required Seriously can you back this claim up at all? It would prevent tau units with access to drones from picking multiples of the same drone type, and render pairs of lightning claws almost impossible to take for other codices. Given that, I think unless you support your claim with actual rules, I won't be playing that way. edit: To clarify, you have permission to pick multiple times from the same list, which means you can pick from it without limitation, including the same thing multiple times, a specific restriction against picking the same thing multiple times is needed to prevent it.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/07 11:10:09
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/07 11:35:38
Subject: Re:XV-8 Crisis Suit Weapon Loadouts
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
The way I see it, you can take a twin-linked and vanilla version of the same gun on the same model, sure, no problems. It'll get pretty expensive to do so though.
There's nothing stopping you from taking all 3 vanilla on the same model either, but this would be stupid as you have no means of firing all 3 at once.
Given those two points, I don't see anything wrong with how it's worded right now.
|
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/07 11:47:50
Subject: XV-8 Crisis Suit Weapon Loadouts
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
As far as I can see, it says "...the second is for two weapons (counting as a twin-linked weapon of that type)."
So I see it as fine for a suit to have a TL and standard Burst cannon for example, and a commander with his 4 hardpoints to have two TL BC's.
Seems ripe for an FAQ, but also seems to me it would have been done just as quickly as that overly spammable missile pod change
|
"If you don't have Funzo, you're nothin'!"
"I'm cancelling you out of shame, like my subscription to white dwarf"
Never use a long word where a short one will do. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/07 11:49:16
Subject: XV-8 Crisis Suit Weapon Loadouts
|
 |
Servoarm Flailing Magos
|
Drunkspleen wrote:Pyrian wrote:I would consider that rule to be redundant; you are not normally allowed to pick the same option multiple times, you need explicit permission to be able to do that, rather than a specific restriction to prevent it.
Citation Required
Seriously can you back this claim up at all? It would prevent tau units with access to drones from picking multiples of the same drone type, and render pairs of lightning claws almost impossible to take for other codices.
Given that, I think unless you support your claim with actual rules, I won't be playing that way.
edit: To clarify, you have permission to pick multiple times from the same list, which means you can pick from it without limitation, including the same thing multiple times, a specific restriction against picking the same thing multiple times is needed to prevent it.
What Pyrian is asking for is there. There IS an explicit permission to pick the same option multiple times. The only thing making Tau players unsure is that there USED to be an explicit restriction to prevent it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/07 17:36:26
Subject: XV-8 Crisis Suit Weapon Loadouts
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Deathrain + pathfinder just got ugly. No missile drones but you can still get your missile spam
Or you have a need for dead specials 2 Plasma rifles + ATS= The new Burning Eye Special.
I think suit names are going to get a major overhaul.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/07 20:05:59
Subject: XV-8 Crisis Suit Weapon Loadouts
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I don't think there is a restriction on this except the limits on how much you can buy. Iirc standard crisis suits can take up yo 3 items there so a twin linked framer, and a flamer is 3 items.
|
In a dog eat dog be a cat. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/07 20:14:51
Subject: XV-8 Crisis Suit Weapon Loadouts
|
 |
Huge Hierodule
|
That's how I read it as well. This new book allows for ultra specialized suits.
|
Been out of the game for awhile, trying to find time to get back into it. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/08 09:03:26
Subject: XV-8 Crisis Suit Weapon Loadouts
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I see no problem with picking the same weapon 3 times. RAW, there's no conflict at all.
My issue comes up with using 2 of the same, non-twin-linked weapons (2 standard plasma rifles or 2 standard missile pods, etc). As much as I would love it, I really don't see how it can be justified.
The line: "...the second is for two weapons (counting as a twin-linked weapon of that type)." seems clear to me. If you purchase two of the same weapon, it counts as a twin-linked weapon of that type.
Best bet for now - don't permanently assemble suits with 2 of the same weapon, and ask permission before using it in a list. I'm a Tau player and I would love for my army to be as powerful as it can...but this is pushing it. Even RAW, there seems to be evidence that you can't do it (let alone RAI).
Unfortunately, there's no definite answer right now and it'll probably be a while before we get one.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/08 18:18:24
Subject: XV-8 Crisis Suit Weapon Loadouts
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Yeah I see valid points on both sides. GW needs to think ahead and make clearer statements or add more statements to support one sided sentences. They must be charged per word printed. paulsongames.com makes a good twin link plasma gun
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/08 19:40:53
Subject: XV-8 Crisis Suit Weapon Loadouts
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Btw, it says that twin-linked weapons count as TWO choices for those who missed the note.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/08 19:48:55
Subject: XV-8 Crisis Suit Weapon Loadouts
|
 |
Legendary Master of the Chapter
|
Dracoknight wrote:Btw, it says that twin-linked weapons count as TWO choices for those who missed the note.
That could just be referring to the up to 3 choices written in the suit sections.
anyway magnets all the way
|
Unit1126PLL wrote: Scott-S6 wrote:And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.
Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/08 20:24:04
Subject: XV-8 Crisis Suit Weapon Loadouts
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Purifier wrote: Drunkspleen wrote:Pyrian wrote:I would consider that rule to be redundant; you are not normally allowed to pick the same option multiple times, you need explicit permission to be able to do that, rather than a specific restriction to prevent it.
Citation Required
Seriously can you back this claim up at all? It would prevent tau units with access to drones from picking multiples of the same drone type, and render pairs of lightning claws almost impossible to take for other codices.
Given that, I think unless you support your claim with actual rules, I won't be playing that way.
edit: To clarify, you have permission to pick multiple times from the same list, which means you can pick from it without limitation, including the same thing multiple times, a specific restriction against picking the same thing multiple times is needed to prevent it.
What Pyrian is asking for is there. There IS an explicit permission to pick the same option multiple times. The only thing making Tau players unsure is that there USED to be an explicit restriction to prevent it.
What used to be does not matter, only what is
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/08 21:09:47
Subject: XV-8 Crisis Suit Weapon Loadouts
|
 |
Courageous Space Marine Captain
|
Siphen wrote:
My issue comes up with using 2 of the same, non-twin-linked weapons (2 standard plasma rifles or 2 standard missile pods, etc). As much as I would love it, I really don't see how it can be justified.
The line: "...the second is for two weapons (counting as a twin-linked weapon of that type)." seems clear to me. If you purchase two of the same weapon, it counts as a twin-linked weapon of that type.
I agree. I don't think you can have two of the same weapon and not have them twin-linked.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/08 22:52:54
Subject: XV-8 Crisis Suit Weapon Loadouts
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
This thread just made my day. The last codex specifically says you can't. This one says nothing of that so I say green light to double plasma gun fun time.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/08 23:01:09
Subject: XV-8 Crisis Suit Weapon Loadouts
|
 |
Courageous Space Marine Captain
|
Neroman wrote:This thread just made my day. The last codex specifically says you can't. This one says nothing of that so I say green light to double plasma gun fun time.
It specifically gives different price for a pair of weapons though. Note that it doesn't say the price is for twin-linked, it says it is for two weapons (which count as twin-linked.)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/08 23:02:41
Subject: XV-8 Crisis Suit Weapon Loadouts
|
 |
Douglas Bader
|
Crimson wrote:Siphen wrote:
My issue comes up with using 2 of the same, non-twin-linked weapons (2 standard plasma rifles or 2 standard missile pods, etc). As much as I would love it, I really don't see how it can be justified.
The line: "...the second is for two weapons (counting as a twin-linked weapon of that type)." seems clear to me. If you purchase two of the same weapon, it counts as a twin-linked weapon of that type.
I agree. I don't think you can have two of the same weapon and not have them twin-linked.
What that statement means is you have two choices for what you can do with two upgrade choices:
Two single weapons at X points.
One twin-linked weapon at Y points which is cheaper than X.
The "counts as two choices" limit doesn't say anything about it being the ONLY way you can do it, it just says that if you take the cheaper twin-linked weapon it takes up two of your upgrade slots even though it's a single item in the table.
|
There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/08 23:06:51
Subject: XV-8 Crisis Suit Weapon Loadouts
|
 |
Courageous Space Marine Captain
|
Peregrine wrote:
What that statement means is you have two choices for what you can do with two upgrade choices:
Two single weapons at X points.
One twin-linked weapon at Y points which is cheaper than X.
The "counts as two choices" limit doesn't say anything about it being the ONLY way you can do it, it just says that if you take the cheaper twin-linked weapon it takes up two of your upgrade slots even though it's a single item in the table.
No. There is no permission to buy two of the same weapon separately. If you buy two, you have to use the method specifically described.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/08 23:13:40
Subject: XV-8 Crisis Suit Weapon Loadouts
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Crimson wrote: Peregrine wrote:
What that statement means is you have two choices for what you can do with two upgrade choices:
Two single weapons at X points.
One twin-linked weapon at Y points which is cheaper than X.
The "counts as two choices" limit doesn't say anything about it being the ONLY way you can do it, it just says that if you take the cheaper twin-linked weapon it takes up two of your upgrade slots even though it's a single item in the table.
No. There is no permission to buy two of the same weapon separately. If you buy two, you have to use the method specifically described.
Like said earlier, how do you get a pair of lightning claws, or other such arrangements in other codices. The Second option is just a choice to twin link it. It doesn't say you have to twin link it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/08 23:21:15
Subject: XV-8 Crisis Suit Weapon Loadouts
|
 |
Courageous Space Marine Captain
|
Neroman wrote:
Like said earlier, how do you get a pair of lightning claws, or other such arrangements in other codices. The Second option is just a choice to twin link it. It doesn't say you have to twin link it.
The text is quite clear: "...the second is for two weapons." How may weapons were you buying? That's right, two. Then you know what price to use and what rules to apply.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/04/08 23:31:49
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/08 23:31:49
Subject: Re:XV-8 Crisis Suit Weapon Loadouts
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
It looks like an Easter Egg, prolly smells like one, but ...
I interpret the structure of things:
XV8 - pays XX points and gets a TL-PR. 2 hard points. Pays another XX points and gets ... another TL-PR. Last two hard points and both TL-PRs can fire because of the inbuilt Multi-Tracker.
Da-yam. I may have to paint up those unused PR bits.
So far, I have equipped a few XV8s with a TL- BC and a TL- MP.
Humph. A 4 shot Deathrain.
|
"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.
"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013
Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic |
|
 |
 |
|