Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/26 20:32:18
Subject: Herald of Tzeentch with Pink Horrors has 6 Warp Charges?
|
 |
Elite Tyranid Warrior
|
I know nothing of the Daemons codex but somebody today told me that a unit of 20 horrors with a herald attached can give their warp charges to the herald, meaning he gets 6 warp charge points. Is this accurate?
Cheers.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/26 20:34:04
Subject: Herald of Tzeentch with Pink Horrors has 6 Warp Charges?
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
No. He's wrong.
|
Cratfworld Alaitoc (Gallery)
Order of the Red Mantle (Gallery)
Grand (little) Army of Chaos, now painting! (Blog) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/26 20:40:42
Subject: Herald of Tzeentch with Pink Horrors has 6 Warp Charges?
|
 |
Elite Tyranid Warrior
|
Can you tell me why? The book apparently says that Pink Horrors generate x amount of warp charges based on the amount of horrors in the squad. The Herald already has 3 charges and is considered a Pink Horror. The Pink Horrors get 3 charges thselves because there are 20 of them. If the Herald is attached to the unit is he not part of the unit, meaning he can make use of the unit's warp charges as well as his own (because he is a Pink Horror)?
I need clarification to argue against it.
Cheers.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/26 20:41:18
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/26 20:42:08
Subject: Herald of Tzeentch with Pink Horrors has 6 Warp Charges?
|
 |
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant
|
The horrors have brotherhood of psykers, so count as a seperate psyker to the herald.
In general, unless there is a special rule that allows one psyker to donate his warp charge to another (and there isn't), then they cannot do so.
If your opponent insists that they can, ask to see their codex.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/26 20:42:46
Subject: Herald of Tzeentch with Pink Horrors has 6 Warp Charges?
|
 |
Lit By the Flames of Prospero
|
Basically, because the Herald is a separate unit from Pink Horrors, it has a separate Warp Charge number, so the Herald has the same amount of Warp Charges as a Pink Horror :3 Just because he's considered a Pink Horror doesn't mean he gets the benefits they get stacked onto his
|
Muh Black Templars
Blacksails wrote:Maybe you should read your own posts before calling someone else's juvenile. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/26 20:44:00
Subject: Herald of Tzeentch with Pink Horrors has 6 Warp Charges?
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
The herald is not a pink horror, he's a herald. The Chaos Daemon codex lists his unit entry as "Unit Composition: 1 Herald of Tzeentch".
|
Cratfworld Alaitoc (Gallery)
Order of the Red Mantle (Gallery)
Grand (little) Army of Chaos, now painting! (Blog) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/26 20:46:45
Subject: Herald of Tzeentch with Pink Horrors has 6 Warp Charges?
|
 |
Lit By the Flames of Prospero
|
Shandara wrote:The herald is not a pink horror, he's a herald. The Chaos Daemon codex lists his unit entry as "Unit Composition: 1 Herald of Tzeentch".
What I said in a nutshell xD
|
Muh Black Templars
Blacksails wrote:Maybe you should read your own posts before calling someone else's juvenile. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/26 20:48:07
Subject: Herald of Tzeentch with Pink Horrors has 6 Warp Charges?
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
BrotherOfBone wrote: Shandara wrote:The herald is not a pink horror, he's a herald. The Chaos Daemon codex lists his unit entry as "Unit Composition: 1 Herald of Tzeentch".
What I said in a nutshell xD
I should refresh faster!
|
Cratfworld Alaitoc (Gallery)
Order of the Red Mantle (Gallery)
Grand (little) Army of Chaos, now painting! (Blog) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/26 21:05:29
Subject: Herald of Tzeentch with Pink Horrors has 6 Warp Charges?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Warp points are non-transferable and therefore make very poor currency.... Your opponents argument appears to be formed around an interpretation of the Brotherhood of Psykers ruling, which the pink horrors have but the IC in question lacks. If you go to page 34 of the main rule book you can see for yourself what this is, as I do not post what can be viewed as copy written material word for word. What he is doing is taking an interpretation of the word 'unit' to mean the entire squad, IC's included. Now you need to really take a closer look at the independent characters special rule for the real answer. It has a restriction when you add an Independent Character to units that contain different special rules. In short, the special rules need to be worded in such a way that they are granted to the all models in the unit, and are not just a unit wide ability. They normally have the wording along the lines of 'a model with this rule grants the whole unit.' This whole restriction was designed so certain unit wide special powers, which I would say the brotherhood power was likely on top of that list, would not include the IC just because he joined them or vise versa. Think of it this way: Every model in the squad of the pink horrors contains the brotherhood special rule. The IC in question does not contain the brotherhood special rule. The brotherhood special rule does not state it expand that rule to models that lack it. Therefor the IC in question does not gain the brotherhood special rule, even though it is a 'unit wide' ability. Without the brotherhood special rule, the IC can not use any of the befits found within even if the rest of the unit can. I can even put forth an argument based on your opponents interpretation that breaks the herald in question, but I think I have put forth enough right now. If you are curious as to what that is, look at what benefits being more then a master level 1 gets you. Then look at the brotherhood rule again and realize that it grants you only master level 1. Fun fun, your IC is reduced to master level 1....
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/05/26 21:24:11
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/26 21:15:49
Subject: Herald of Tzeentch with Pink Horrors has 6 Warp Charges?
|
 |
Elite Tyranid Warrior
|
Excellent thank you guys!
|
|
 |
 |
|