Switch Theme:

Dais of destruction  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


I've unlocked this thread after removing some completely unnecessary posts. Everyone needs to refrain from getting into the discussion about one person's opinion being more important than someone else's. My opinions and arguments are mine alone and do not carry any sort of special status.

But back on point:

Anglacon wrote:Yakface, by your theory then, if I take the dias and the duke, i can change all dark lances to dissies, deep strike the dias, disembark the turn it deepstrikes and shoot the crap out of people, then with the added ram, have an armour 16 (possibly) vehicle start ramming all over the place. SWEET!

Sorry. No options for upgrades are available in the rules, so no upgrades are available.
Every other entry in the book has upgrades priced individually for the model. the dias does not. It is treated as a raider in terms of nightfight, skimmer, etc... but it most certainly is not a standard raider.


nosferatu1001 wrote:Yakface - so is it allowed to swap "the" dark lance for a dissie then? And it can be an AV16 ramming tank?

Sorry, not buying it - you are told the rules for a raider are on page X, on page X there are no upgrades. Page 44 DOES have the only rules not explicated in the rules for the Dais (such as the extra armour) meaning additional entires are not needed.



I have presented a logical argument supported by premises that lead to a logical conclusion. Nothing you've presented here refutes my argument in any way.

Regardless of whether you think that the Dias should be able to take vehicle upgrades, the rules presented logically say that we can.

Again, the rules state that the vehicle is treated exactly like a Raider, period. That means ALL rules related to a Raider apply to the Dias except where noted otherwise. It is a logical fallacy to assume that because page 44 is mentioned these are the ONLY rules for Raiders that apply to the Dias. That is not a position that can be supported by logic.

And BTW, no you cannot swap out the Dark Lances on the Dias because its rules specifically mention that it has 3 Dark Lances, and that is one of the few exceptions of how it is different than a standard Raider, therefore you would not be able to swap them out.



I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Angry Chaos Agitator




Rochester, New York

Get em Yak!

I'm so putting a flickerfields, nightshield, shock prow and torment grenades on my Dias!

Eat that, enemy vehicles/units/attempts to get in melta range!

In fact, at the points you're paying for him why not go for broke and put every upgrade in the book on him?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/29 23:43:36


: 4000 Points : 3000 Points : 2000 Points 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







For what it's worth (i.e. Absolutely nothing), I would not mind my opponent taking upgrades.

Why? Well, it's a 200 Point Open Topped Skimmer that needs a 240 point Special Character AND 9 extra models (who you have to buy separates) inside it. It better bloody well be hard to kill!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/29 23:45:36


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Ship's Officer






yakface wrote:
*snip*


That seems like a logical argument. I suppose I can live with that interpretation as well. It does seem a bit unclear though (it would have been nice if the Dais had just been one of those "grey boxes" that appear under Army List entries, like Arjac, Lukas, etc in the SW codex). Agreed about not swapping Dark Lances.

Ask Not, Fear Not - (Gallery), ,

 H.B.M.C. wrote:

Yeah! Who needs balanced rules when everyone can take giant stompy robots! Balanced rules are just for TFG WAAC players, and everyone hates them.

- This message brought to you by the Dakka Casual Gaming Mafia: 'Cause winning is for losers!
 
   
Made in us
Araqiel




Yellow Submarine

I like how yak presented his case. I think this is basically what I have been saying as well.

Mayhem Inc.  
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





United States

Yeah... I can see myself sticking in 9 Trueborn, from three different units, in the Dias, all either armed with Splinter Cannons or Blasters.

Sounds like fun to me! Especially when you Deep Strike the darned thing

Ayn Rand "We can evade reality, but we cannot evade the consequences of evading reality" 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Except only one unit may be embarked at any one time. Basic transport rules
   
Made in se
Powerful Pegasus Knight





A transport can still only carry ONE unit, regardless if it's a rhino or a special super-mega-not-so-cheesy-raider-that-maybe-can-get-upgrades.

If I use -><- I'm not mocking you, it's a reflex from using the " silly" icon on every other forum.
However, if I use this -><- I might just mock you.
Rats with hats: 3k
: 750p
Karash (at the home page of SATW) on the subject of America's fear of nudity:

which gets even weirder, seeing how you americans tend to use [the F-word] more often in various meanings than a smurf would use "smurf".


Nearly a quote except the censorship.  
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





United States

"The Dias of Destruction must begin the game carrying nine models in addition to Vect himself. Other than this, it is treated exactly like a Raider"

Yes, the Dias is a Raider transport, but this little snippet means that the rule before it is in addition/exception the regular transport rules.

Other than being a transport, the Dia can carry 9 models, regardless of restriction.

Suffice it, this is extremely poor wording, as you can stick 9 Raiders inside the Dias.

- edit -

Actually, forget all this jazz. You still have to follow restrictions given by unit types, transport rules, etc...

Carry on

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/10/30 17:59:10


Ayn Rand "We can evade reality, but we cannot evade the consequences of evading reality" 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Yeah, I was about to say... you mad?

Still, one for my FAQ I suppose.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/30 18:06:38


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: