Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/19 05:44:22
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
I like the:
Q: What happens when a unit arrives from reserves but is
unable to completely move onto the board? (p94)
A: The unit is destroyed and removed from play.
solves one debate at least.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/19 05:45:03
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Horrific Howling Banshee
|
Melissia: I agree entirely with you that FAQ should be considered Official. I'm just saying that even though they said the codexes wont be edited via errata, they still may release more Army FAQs
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/19 05:49:11
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Consigned to the Grim Darkness
|
I certainly agree there.
|
The people in the past who convinced themselves to do unspeakable things were no less human than you or I. They made their decisions; the only thing that prevents history from repeating itself is making different ones.
-- Adam Serwer
My blog |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/19 07:22:10
Subject: Re:New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Ork Boy Hangin' off a Trukk
Canada
|
Locclo wrote:Some interesting changes in this one. I find it interesting that you can't shoot at an unoccupied building - there's at least one person at my FLGS who's going to be much happier now, since his terrain includes two huge buildings which he hides his Basilisks behind. Although I do wonder...
Q: If a vehicle receives multiple Destroyed – Explodes!
results simultaneously how many D6 do you roll to
determine the blast radius? (p61)
A: One.
Was that really a point of confusion before?
I think you can have multiply explodes results now and have it explode several times now.
|
Being a Mac user is like being a Navy SEAL: a small, elite group of people with access to the most sophisticated technology in the world, who everyone calls on to get the really tough jobs done quickly and efficiently. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/19 07:37:48
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
How? The FAQ says the exact opposite - no matter how many times it explodes!, it only rolls 1D6 for range.
DR - and means Baneblades always take a hit when deployed in Spearhead, as you cannot reserve it and have it make it on the board alive.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/19 07:50:49
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Ork Boy Hangin' off a Trukk
Canada
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:How? The FAQ says the exact opposite - no matter how many times it explodes!, it only rolls 1D6 for range.
Then multiply by number of results. It just says to roll 1D6 for the radius instead of once for each result.
|
Being a Mac user is like being a Navy SEAL: a small, elite group of people with access to the most sophisticated technology in the world, who everyone calls on to get the really tough jobs done quickly and efficiently. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/19 07:59:54
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
BoyMac wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:How? The FAQ says the exact opposite - no matter how many times it explodes!, it only rolls 1D6 for range.
Then multiply by number of results. It just says to roll 1D6 for the radius instead of once for each result.
What?
|
"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/19 09:47:55
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
BoyMac wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:How? The FAQ says the exact opposite - no matter how many times it explodes!, it only rolls 1D6 for range.
Then multiply by number of results. It just says to roll 1D6 for the radius instead of once for each result.
Huh?
You roll 1D6 regardless of how many explosions you have. NOT 1D6 x number of explosions.
Not that tricky....
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/19 10:42:30
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The way I read it Nos was if they had say 5 explodes and rolled a 2 it would go 'boom!' 10" ^_^
|
"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/19 11:07:51
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Ah right. I just read it as totally ignoring the FAQ answer which is: you roll 1D6 no matter how many explosions you get.
Roll 5 explosions? Radius = 1D6
Roll 10000091 explosions? Radius = 1D6
I would prefer it to be radius = max ( D6 for explosion 1, D6sub2, ....., S6 sub n) as i think it is cooler
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/19 13:28:05
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Crafty Clanrat
Scotland
|
Mattieau wrote:Melissia: I agree entirely with you that FAQ should be considered Official. I'm just saying that even though they said the codexes wont be edited via errata, they still may release more Army FAQs
Ah my mistake... although do they need to? I can't see any FAQs being much different than what they are now. Would be interesting if they did though.
BoyMac wrote:
I think you can have multiply explodes results now and have it explode several times now.
No. Just... just no.
When a tank explodes it explodes... the wreckage isn't going to explode multiple times.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/19 13:59:47
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
DeathReaper wrote:I like the:
Q: What happens when a unit arrives from reserves but is
unable to completely move onto the board? (p94)
A: The unit is destroyed and removed from play.
solves one debate at least.
but doesent GW know that the model is both on AND off the table?
....man i hate that debate
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/19 21:54:19
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:...
DR - and means Baneblades always take a hit when deployed in Spearhead, as you cannot reserve it and have it make it on the board alive.
that seems to be what they are saying.
will only have an effect on apoc games. wont have an effect on regular games.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/19 22:07:22
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
DeathReaper wrote:will only have an effect on apoc games. wont have an effect on regular games.
And Necron players.
Or at least the one I play with regularly. He measured his monolith to be slightly over 6" square.
/shrug
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/19 22:12:35
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
sure, but show me where a deepstriking vehicle that can shove enemy models out of the way is going to have a hard time making it onto the board...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/19 22:15:08
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
If you declare them deepstriking, sure.
And do not mind deepstriking them.
Or never play Dawn of War missions.
Heck, even in apoc there are ways around the issues.
Disallowing them from moving on normally is strange, regardless.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/19 22:16:05
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Ailaros wrote:sure, but show me where a deepstriking vehicle that can shove enemy models out of the way is going to have a hard time making it onto the board...
Challenge accepted!
A board with small piece of impassible terrain evenly spaced across the entire board with 5" gaps.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/19 22:20:45
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Ailaros wrote:sure, but show me where a deepstriking vehicle that can shove enemy models out of the way is going to have a hard time making it onto the board...
That is like telling this guy to bring his White Scars SC, Khan: There are times Deepstrike is not valid--note: Monolith Deepstrike is only allowed when missions permit it just as there are times SC are disallowed.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2010/11/19 22:22:30
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/19 22:34:37
Subject: Re:New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
I just measured my Armourcast made Baneblade and it is 9" long by 7" wide so there's no way to bring it on the board in the normal manner.
edit:corrected manufacturer
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/19 22:46:17
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/19 22:44:14
Subject: Re:New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Leo_the_Rat wrote:I just measured my Forgeworld made Baneblade and it is 9" long by 7" wide so there's no way to bring it on the board in the normal manner.
Well, the Baneblade isn't 6" tall, so you could drive it in on it's side.
(Yes, this is silly, but it should work to counteract anyone being TFG who claims Baneblades in reserves are auto-destroyed.  )
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/19 22:47:32
Subject: Re:New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Grakmar wrote:Well, the Baneblade isn't 6" tall, so you could drive it in on it's side. LOL
Bonus points to you!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/19 23:12:43
Subject: Re:New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Flashy Flashgitz
Kintnersville/Philadelphia, PA
|
Grakmar wrote:Well, the Baneblade isn't 6" tall, so you could drive it in on it's side.
(Yes, this is silly, but it should work to counteract anyone being TFG who claims Baneblades in reserves are auto-destroyed.  )
Screw Creed's Tactical Genius, true IG commanders drift their tanks into battle.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/19 23:23:34
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Okay, we've got the tank on its side, now, how do we get it onto the battlefield?
If only Creed were here.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/20 02:10:55
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot
|
I thought that there was something in the rulebook stating that if a unit had to move farther than its normal movement that it would move 'hull on' and stop for its movement. But here I am leafing through my rulebook and I can't seem to find anything. Anyone know what I'm talking about or did my friends and I house rule this?
|
Sleep is for the weak, the dead, and the simple minded. One day I will be strong!
2000 pts-ish Space Wolves |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/20 02:55:11
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
oadie wrote:themrsleepy wrote:Q: If only some of the models in a unit have the Stealth
special rule, does the whole unit benefit from the +1 cover
save? (p76)
A: Yes. In effect the ones with the Stealth special rule
ensure their colleagues also find good places to hide.
This is a boost to Necrons! OMG! The destroyer lord teamed with scarabs now has a 2+ turbo boosting cover save of his very own! I'm amazed......
I didn't even realize that this could help Necrons. I assumed it was meant to clear up the debate about Telion/camo cloaks in scout squads. The combo you presented seems like an accidental allowance, honestly. It makes no damn sense, even if you acknowledge GW's propensity for allowing minor logical inconsistencies in the pursuit of rules-streamlining.
Yep and now my Tomb Spyder has a 3+ cover save thanks to the scarabs!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/20 03:08:49
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot
|
Kurgash wrote:oadie wrote:themrsleepy wrote:Q: If only some of the models in a unit have the Stealth
special rule, does the whole unit benefit from the +1 cover
save? (p76)
A: Yes. In effect the ones with the Stealth special rule
ensure their colleagues also find good places to hide.
This is a boost to Necrons! OMG! The destroyer lord teamed with scarabs now has a 2+ turbo boosting cover save of his very own! I'm amazed......
I didn't even realize that this could help Necrons. I assumed it was meant to clear up the debate about Telion/camo cloaks in scout squads. The combo you presented seems like an accidental allowance, honestly. It makes no damn sense, even if you acknowledge GW's propensity for allowing minor logical inconsistencies in the pursuit of rules-streamlining.
Yep and now my Tomb Spyder has a 3+ cover save thanks to the scarabs!
Add a destroyer lord to that and now you have a three to four model unit of T6 to shoot at and a 3+ cover save as you hide those tiny scarabs!
|
Sleep is for the weak, the dead, and the simple minded. One day I will be strong!
2000 pts-ish Space Wolves |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/20 03:32:54
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
themrsleepy wrote:I thought that there was something in the rulebook stating that if a unit had to move farther than its normal movement that it would move 'hull on' and stop for its movement. But here I am leafing through my rulebook and I can't seem to find anything. Anyone know what I'm talking about or did my friends and I house rule this?
It's a common house rule, but that's about it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/20 19:54:02
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
kirsanth wrote:DeathReaper wrote:will only have an effect on apoc games. wont have an effect on regular games.
And Necron players.
Or at least the one I play with regularly. He measured his monolith to be slightly over 6" square.
/shrug
If i were necron, I would shave my monoliths down to 6" square :-)
They are not much bigger than that anyway.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/20 23:18:15
Subject: New 40k FAQ
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
BuFFo wrote:
So I won't cut and paste the same thing over and over. FAQs are still house rules, and always will be.
I'll just note that they're CURRENTLY house rules, but have not always been so. No reason to think they won't change back to "official" rules again someday.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
|