Switch Theme:

modelling for advantage  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Strider - the one backed up by the rules, not the one ignoring that in this case unit == model.


All you are doing with this argument is arguing that Corbulo only gets FnP when he's joined another unit by RaW (and you may well have a point there, probably one for the fun list of RaW).

Corbulo the model is not the same as Corbulo's unit. Whilst at times the unit will only consist of Corbulo at others it will not.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




When he is by himself he is COrbulo the unit AND Corbulo the model. The two are congruent.

THe fact his FNP is conferred on him shows your assertion that models cannot be friendly to themselves is incorrect.

Edit: the word you are missing there is "always". I never said they were *always* the same, just that, by himself, they *are* the same. Meaning that, in that instance, model and unit are equivalent terms.

Which is all that is needed to show that he is friendly to himself.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/23 08:52:14


 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





When he is by himself he is COrbulo the unit AND Corbulo the model. The two are congruent.

THe fact his FNP is conferred on him shows your assertion that models cannot be friendly to themselves is incorrect.

Edit: the word you are missing there is "always". I never said they were *always* the same, just that, by himself, they *are* the same. Meaning that, in that instance, model and unit are equivalent terms.

Which is all that is needed to show that he is friendly to himself.


But that doesn't show that he is friendly to himself all that shows is that unless he joins another unit he does not get FnP...

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Huh? No, it really doesnt.

He gains FNP from himself, and is a friendly unit AND model.

You can be friendly towards yourself. end of.
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






If you're friendly to yourself, do you also count as a member of your own unit? (for things which affect "members of your unit")

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/24 15:08:42


 
   
Made in us
Huge Hierodule





Louisiana

Yes. Tyranid Hive Tyrants confer Preferred Enemy in a 6" radius with an upgrade ability. They themselves are friendly to themselves and gain the preferred enemy bonus as well. Same goes for a Tervigon casting catalyst on itself. A friendly unit within 12" can be the unit itself casting the power.

Been out of the game for awhile, trying to find time to get back into it. 
   
Made in us
Ork Boy Hangin' off a Trukk




in the stomp'n center of da WAAAAAAGGH!!!!

it would be funny fighting a kan wall where all the kans have modeled walls in frount of their legs

"I dunno wot you been told,
stormboyz mobs is mighty bold.
We're da hardest of da lot.
We make you look like gorts.
5,000 orks
2,500 black templar
1,000 pts of Sprue-crons  
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Charleston, SC

nosferatu1001 wrote:Huh? No, it really doesnt.

He gains FNP from himself, and is a friendly unit AND model.

You can be friendly towards yourself. end of.



I suspect that most guys on this site are friendly with themselves. Maybe too friendly.
   
Made in us
Sslimey Sslyth




Vrakk wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:Huh? No, it really doesnt.

He gains FNP from himself, and is a friendly unit AND model.

You can be friendly towards yourself. end of.



I suspect that most guys on this site are friendly with themselves. Maybe too friendly.


Yikes....
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Friendly with myself and my husband....
   
Made in sg
Regular Dakkanaut




FlingitNow wrote:
When he is by himself he is COrbulo the unit AND Corbulo the model. The two are congruent.

THe fact his FNP is conferred on him shows your assertion that models cannot be friendly to themselves is incorrect.

Edit: the word you are missing there is "always". I never said they were *always* the same, just that, by himself, they *are* the same. Meaning that, in that instance, model and unit are equivalent terms.

Which is all that is needed to show that he is friendly to himself.


But that doesn't show that he is friendly to himself all that shows is that unless he joins another unit he does not get FnP...
nosferatu1001 wrote:Huh? No, it really doesnt.

He gains FNP from himself, and is a friendly unit AND model.

You can be friendly towards yourself. end of.
If both of you make sense, I cant tell which is right now.
   
Made in ca
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





Edmonton, AB

Here's the thing though, this entire argument is irrelevant as it ends in the same game effect:

Case 1) The vehicle is friendly to itself, the FAQ states that this can be ignored for the purpose of its template weapon.

Case 2) The vehicle is not friendly to itself, therefore there is no restriction on placing the template over itself. Feel free to roll the Str 5 hit against the vehicle's front armour.

Q: How many of a specific demographic group are required to carry out a simple task?
A: An arbitrary number. One to carry out the task in question, and the remainder to act in a manner stereotypical of the group.

My Blog 
   
Made in se
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan






Sweden

Fearspect wrote:Feel free to roll the Str 5 hit against the vehicle's front armour.


Which is 11 on rhinoes...

For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: