Switch Theme:

Void mines and cover saves  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ru
Drew_Riggio




Russia

its doesn't matter its have *range. as stated in reference at the back of the codex, and in its profile too.
*special range, that described in weapon transcription.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/23 19:37:43


are writer, not reader
FB DE 1-0-0 | 1-1-0 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





And the range is it's movement as has been ridiculously pointed out time and time again and again and again.....
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

So you are saying its allowance to be used in the movement phase is simply extraneous? If it is not a shooting attack, it does not need an allowance to be used in the movement phase.

Regardless of whether it is a shooting attack or not, you are saying it is not fired so restrictions on firing do not apply?

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in ru
Drew_Riggio




Russia

2Rymafyr
and so? By all stats from BRB its a ranged weapon, with your words: range is its movement. so? wheres problem? Type of weapon Assault clearly say that you fire with them, are this not enough for you?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/23 19:56:30


are writer, not reader
FB DE 1-0-0 | 1-1-0 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Weapon is "used" in the movement phase, not fired.

Page 52 also states no firing during the shooting phase when flat out. The rules on page 70 are under these same restrictions.
   
Made in ru
Drew_Riggio




Russia

So its ranged assault weapon, and you not fire it - but "use"..
"The deeper you go into something, the bigger the problem get".. awesome.. i stop with writing in this thread.. seems we discuss different games.
ps. and after FAQ i'l just laugh at your faces.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/23 20:21:57


are writer, not reader
FB DE 1-0-0 | 1-1-0 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





penek wrote:2Rymafyr
and so? By all stats from BRB its a ranged weapon, with your words: range is its movement. so? wheres problem?


Again, I was showing that this is a weapon used in the movement phase.

penek wrote:Type of weapon Assault clearly say that you fire with them, are this not enough for you?


No, it is not. As this weapon, while classified as an Assault type weapon, is not fired in the shooting phase... thus the issue. You can't even choose to fire this weapon in the shooting phase if you wanted to as it's very explicit how it is to be used.

kirsanth wrote:So you are saying its allowance to be used in the movement phase is simply extraneous?


Not at all. It is explicit.

kirsanth wrote:If it is not a shooting attack, it does not need an allowance to be used in the movement phase.

Regardless of whether it is a shooting attack or not, you are saying it is not fired so restrictions on firing do not apply?


That is correct, it is not a shooting attack and yes the firing restriction for a vehicle moving flat out does not apply.


The problem both penek and Kirsanth have is still thinking of this as a shooting weapon. Sorry, it is not. Just because it uses 'shooting' rules to resolve how hits and wounds are allocated that in and of itself does not determine the weapon to be a shooting weapon.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/11/23 20:43:54


 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

So it is not the shooting of projectiles from weapons?

I ask, because you also said :
Rymafyr wrote:While I'm not a 'RaW' enthusiast


Which since you hinge the assertion on the single word "fire" (and not its definition), sounds a little off.

Editing to add:
Nothing wrong with that, mind you. I tend to the side of "RAW enthusiast" myself.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2010/11/23 20:42:24


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





See you still try to classify it as a projectile to be fired even when asking another question. The point is it is a mine, dropped from the VRB.

No, I'm not a RaW enthusiast, read any other post I've made as I try to follow common sense more than RAI or RAW, but this is clear cut as far as I'm concerned. The rules in the DE Codex state without confusion how to use and resolve this weapon with the exception of direction of cover.

But as I did state previously, I think if there ever is an FAQ done for it, I believe it will be resolved as you and penek believe. Until then, roll a die and hope it rolls in your favor.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/23 20:50:02


 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Rymafyr wrote:The rules in the DE Codex state without confusion how to use and resolve this weapon with the exception of direction of cover.

But as I did state previously, I think if there ever is an FAQ done for it, I believe it will be resolved as you and penek believe. Until then, roll a die and hope it rolls in your favor.
That much I 100% agree with.

Oddly, I disagree with the conclusion as to HOW the use and resolution of the weapon is handeled.

Which I guess makes the 8th and 9th words quoted something we both disagree with--in restrospect.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
penek wrote:ps. and after FAQ i'l just laugh at your faces.
Oddly, it seems most think the FAQ will agree with you, however--so no need for all that.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Rymafyr wrote:you still try to classify it as a projectile
Err. . .it's not?
It is not a CC attack, and does not have 0 range--which even projectiles can, in theory.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Rymafyr wrote:A blast weapon by it's own definition within the DE codex.
See page 30 of the BRB for what Blast weapons are.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2010/11/23 21:19:47


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Here's the common sense reasons why i think it is used despite a flat out move.

Why put it in the movement phase to begin with if it could be used in the same fashion during the normal shooting phase?

Also, even though we don't know the size of the VRB, you would just about have to be on top of an enemy unit to be able to use it or risk landing on that unit after you move.

If you can only move 12" and use this weapon; why would I use a weapon that is going to have only a potential window of 4 to 6 inches of area to affect? Likewise, it will more likely destroy the VRB than an enemy model or unit since it can potentially scatter up to 6" 66% of the time.

Common sense dictates it can be used on a flat out move.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/11/23 22:08:41


 
   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut






To be late to the party.
As it is now, due to the additon of "Note this counts as using a weapon." to the end of VRB text, one can not use it when moving flat out, as has been said more than a few times.

Common sense or no, until it's sorted with an FAQ one has to declare a flat out move which prohibits one from firing weapons, which unfortunatley this counts as doing :(

"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Late to the party, and didn't read anything. As has been said, use =/= fire. Check the quoted texts.
   
Made in us
Tough Tyrant Guard





Sacramento, ca

I beleive the counts as firing is so you cant pick two targets... (for example.. i shoot my void lances and destroy the land raider, I move too the next target the juicy troops inside, drop mine....) fly off...
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Rymafyr wrote: As has been said, use =/= fire.
Unless one looks up blast weapons.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut






Rymafyr wrote:Late to the party, and didn't read anything. As has been said, use =/= fire. Check the quoted texts.

Oh, I'm sorry, I didn't realise you were seriously going to pistolwhip them with your bomb in CC, as this is the only other way in which weapons are used in 40K Can you find another way to 'use' a weapon short of firing it?

"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

OP cover saves can be taken because nothing disallows cover saves for the Void Mine.

kirsanth wrote:
Rymafyr wrote:A blast weapon by it's own definition within the DE codex.
See page 30 of the BRB for what Blast weapons are.


Q: The Void mine is a weapon?
A: Yes, it is A blast weapon.
"Note this counts as using a weapon."

Q: can a vehicle use weapons after it moves flat out?
A: No
"Fast vehicles moving flat out may fire no weapons."

Use = Fire

penek wrote: Its used after move\or while moving:
During VRB movement phase, it may place a small blast marker centered upon any one model it has passed over that turn.....


You use the Void mine after you finish your move

You place a small blast marker centered upon any one model it has passed over that turn.

Since once you move a unit you can not go back and re-move the same unit.

So you move the unit the distance you want, check if you moved flat out, then if you have not moved flat out you can fire the Void Mine.


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Tunneling Trygon





I'd vote that "fire" has to equal "use." There are numerous weapons in 40K that are clearly ranged weapons, but which one would not say are being "fired." For example, one does not "fire" a psychic shooting attack, so much as "use" or "activate" it.



=====Begin Dakka Geek Code=====
DA:70+S++G+++M+++B++I++Pw40k00#+D++A++++/wWD250T(T)DM++
======End Dakka Geek Code======

http://jackhammer40k.blogspot.com/ 
   
Made in ca
Doomed Slave




Ontario, Canada

We've been using cover only if the target unit is in cover. It's not like there is a line of fire when you're being bombed, you can hit the deck and hope to hide under bits or rubble or something, but the trees 100 yds away from you aren't going to help when crap is dropped on your melon.
   
Made in us
Araqiel




Yellow Submarine

nosferatu1001 wrote:I can fire weapons

I am restricted from firing weapons, in the shooting phase, when moving flat out.

I am not firing weapons in the shootiung phase, therefore I retain permission to fir...
Done. Now show a restrictin that applies when moving flat out to weapons fired in the movement phase, or concede.


The Stormraven can move flat-out and shoot one weapon due to PotMS. Sure the Voidraven does not have it but I just mention this to illustrate there is precedence for moving flat-out and shooting. To me the Voidraven is making a bombing run much like a flyer in ApOc. If we limit ourselves to only what we already have experience then it's hard to experience new things. There are many reasons why the rules could say it counts as having fired a weapon. Seriously what good is a mine if you can only move 12" to drop it. This is a good example of where trying to make it a case of pure RAW falls flat on it's face in my opinion.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/30 03:44:02


Mayhem Inc.  
   
Made in us
Tough Tyrant Guard





Sacramento, ca

Well the void dragon can move at cruising speed and fire all its weapons... (aerial assault) or it can go flat out called supersonic .. It looks like Gw need too make a FAQ about the useage of the void mine and the dragon... to clear it up... whats the point of moving 12 and dropping a mine, that might bounce back and hit you....
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: