Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/06 10:49:37
Subject: Is this legal?
|
 |
Crazed Spirit of the Defiler
|
htj wrote:Do excess wounds overflow, or do they count towards the combat like in fantasy?
They count towards the combat result, but cannot be inflicted on anything outside of the challenge.
Also, the book says that the combatants in the challenge are no longer counted as being in base contact with anything else in the unit.
And to avoid further confusion, the character that accepts the combat must be moved into base contact with the challenger, regardless of distance, other models or terrain.
|
If you see slaanesh, just look away.
"I can't look away!!!"
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/06 11:51:59
Subject: Is this legal?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Wrakkar wrote:htj wrote:Do excess wounds overflow, or do they count towards the combat like in fantasy?
They count towards the combat result, but cannot be inflicted on anything outside of the challenge.
That sentence is incorrect - there's no rule forbidding it.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/06 11:56:25
Subject: Is this legal?
|
 |
Crazed Spirit of the Defiler
|
rigeld2 wrote:Wrakkar wrote:htj wrote:Do excess wounds overflow, or do they count towards the combat like in fantasy?
They count towards the combat result, but cannot be inflicted on anything outside of the challenge.
That sentence is incorrect - there's no rule forbidding it.
No rule, but the models are not in base contact with the other models anymore, and they can't hurt what they can't touch. It's almost treated as a separate assault altogether.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/06 11:56:33
If you see slaanesh, just look away.
"I can't look away!!!"
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/06 12:00:08
Subject: Is this legal?
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Wrakkar wrote:rigeld2 wrote:Wrakkar wrote:htj wrote:Do excess wounds overflow, or do they count towards the combat like in fantasy?
They count towards the combat result, but cannot be inflicted on anything outside of the challenge.
That sentence is incorrect - there's no rule forbidding it.
No rule, but the models are not in base contact with the other models anymore, and they can't hurt what they can't touch. It's almost treated as a separate assault altogether.
Wound allocation carries over the nearest model not in base contact after all targets in base contact are dead.
|
Cratfworld Alaitoc (Gallery)
Order of the Red Mantle (Gallery)
Grand (little) Army of Chaos, now painting! (Blog) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/06 12:35:57
Subject: Is this legal?
|
 |
Crazed Spirit of the Defiler
|
Shandara wrote:Wrakkar wrote:rigeld2 wrote:Wrakkar wrote:htj wrote:Do excess wounds overflow, or do they count towards the combat like in fantasy?
They count towards the combat result, but cannot be inflicted on anything outside of the challenge.
That sentence is incorrect - there's no rule forbidding it.
No rule, but the models are not in base contact with the other models anymore, and they can't hurt what they can't touch. It's almost treated as a separate assault altogether.
Wound allocation carries over the nearest model not in base contact after all targets in base contact are dead.
working on it... Automatically Appended Next Post: You know what, I actually can't find anything that specifically disagrees with you...
Maybe its a balancing factor- you can hold up a character for a turn, but if you are unsuccessful, your character dies earlier, and your squad still takes a pounding...
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/07/06 12:47:39
If you see slaanesh, just look away.
"I can't look away!!!"
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/06 14:27:22
Subject: Is this legal?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Testify wrote:
Also I'd like to know how exactly a single man is supposed to delay/distract a charging Deamon of Khorne 
Commissar takes a spare skull from the scenery around him (in the grimdark future there are always skulls), ties it to a stick with some string, dangles it in front of the demon while going "who is a good demon, who likes to play with a skull for the skull throne".
Demon now is on his back, batting at the skull with his claws like a kitten, disaster averted.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/06 15:25:19
Subject: Is this legal?
|
 |
Crazed Spirit of the Defiler
|
d-usa wrote:Testify wrote:
Also I'd like to know how exactly a single man is supposed to delay/distract a charging Deamon of Khorne 
Commissar takes a spare skull from the scenery around him (in the grimdark future there are always skulls), ties it to a stick with some string, dangles it in front of the demon while going "who is a good demon, who likes to play with a skull for the skull throne".
Demon now is on his back, batting at the skull with his claws like a kitten, disaster averted.
Lol'd
|
If you see slaanesh, just look away.
"I can't look away!!!"
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/06 20:09:28
Subject: Is this legal?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Wound allocation rules: You keep going from closest (base contact) to farthest (not even engaged in the fight)
That is why the 'overflow' still works.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/06 21:39:08
Subject: Is this legal?
|
 |
Depraved Slaanesh Chaos Lord
|
So does anyone else think that Yarrick is now the High King of Tarpitting?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/06 21:43:58
Subject: Is this legal?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
azazel the cat wrote:So does anyone else think that Yarrick is now the High King of Tarpitting?
I'd go with Crowe tbh
I get back down, but I get up again, you aint ever gonna keep me down...
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/06 21:44:17
Unnessesarily extravegant word of the week award goes to jcress410 for this:
jcress wrote:Seem super off topic to complain about epistemology on a thread about tactics. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/06 21:51:34
Subject: Is this legal?
|
 |
Crazed Spirit of the Defiler
|
azazel the cat wrote:So does anyone else think that Yarrick is now the High King of Tarpitting?
Ahh, yes. But he only revives on the start of his turn, like the crons.
|
If you see slaanesh, just look away.
"I can't look away!!!"
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/06 21:55:20
Subject: Is this legal?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Crowe doesn't get back up...
Crons would at the end of the phase, so if you challenge with an Lord, then Rez Orb successfully, you have a 50% chance of not losing the model in the challenges. Leading to MCs being locked in combat for ages with a unit. As long as they make their Ld rolls, at least.
|
|
 |
 |
|