Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/29 10:52:48
Subject: Ork squad in trukk can charge turn one??
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Hey guys,
i just have a doupt yesterday when i realise i could charge turn one with my squad in my trukk. I normaly never start, but yesterday my 4 squad in trukk where in CC 5 min after dr beggening of the game. Is it normal? 12" trukk moce, 6" desembark, you need 6" to charge your ennemy if is directly on the deployment edge. + Er we go you can roll 1 of the 2 dice!
Did i miss a place where its says its not possible or its just that good?
|
May the WAAAGH!!! be with you! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/29 13:20:54
Subject: Ork squad in trukk can charge turn one??
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
calarok wrote:Is it normal? 12" trukk moce, 6" desembark, you need 6" to charge your ennemy if is directly on the deployment edge. + Er we go you can roll 1 of the 2 dice!
Look at the first sentence of the "disembarking" rule in the BRB. Remember that your trukk moved 12'', not 6''. Did i miss a place where its says its not possible or its just that good?
Scouting units can't assault on the first turn. I can't think of anything else with that explicit restriction against charging on the first turn. It's just that (unless you're going up against scouts) you'll have to go more than 24'', something beyond most units. EDIT: Unless there's some special rule.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/12/29 13:32:53
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/29 13:29:53
Subject: Ork squad in trukk can charge turn one??
|
 |
Yellin' Yoof on a Scooter
Spearfish, SD (ass end of nowhere)
|
If you move the trukk 6 inches, disembark and move them 6 inches, have a boarding plank to add 2 inches and then charge for an average of 8 inches you can get 22 inches of charge. If the universe is very kind you might get 12 inches of charge giving you a 28 inches which might get you into melee in turn 1 depending on deployment so it is possible if you play your cards right.
However Mallich is right about the rule in the BRB. 6 inches max move before deployment.
|
Everything will burn if you get it hot enough. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/29 13:43:15
Subject: Ork squad in trukk can charge turn one??
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Nothing stops a first turn charge.
But forces are set up more than 24" apart, which makes it impossible for most units.
Boarding planks will allow it, Stormboyz, as will a Warlord trait.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/29 13:44:55
Subject: Ork squad in trukk can charge turn one??
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
boarding planks only allow a max 12 inch charge.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/29 20:01:54
Subject: Ork squad in trukk can charge turn one??
|
 |
Yellin' Yoof on a Scooter
Spearfish, SD (ass end of nowhere)
|
Good point on the max 12 inch thing. Forgot about that detail. Takes the average up nicely though.
|
Everything will burn if you get it hot enough. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/29 20:23:32
Subject: Ork squad in trukk can charge turn one??
|
 |
Slashing Veteran Sword Bretheren
|
Wait, I still thought there was a restriction on charging if you go first on turn 1. I knew if you went second on turn 1 you could charge, but can you really charge now if you are the first player to go?
I might be thinking of Scout, which I believe prohibits charging on the turn after they make a Scout redeployment.
|
DR:80+S++G++MB--IPw40k12#+D++++A++/fWD013R++T(T)DM+
"War is the greatest act of worship, and I perform it gladly for my Lord.... Praise Be"
-Invictus Potens, Black Templar Dreadnought |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/29 20:28:36
Subject: Ork squad in trukk can charge turn one??
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
WA, USA
|
That restriction applies only to scouts and infiltrators, Icculus.
|
Ouze wrote:
Afterward, Curran killed a guy in the parking lot with a trident.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/29 20:52:07
Subject: Ork squad in trukk can charge turn one??
|
 |
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin
|
To get a first turn charge, you need to move 12" and have a charge over 12 inches. Right now I believe the greater brass scorpion is the only model capable of this.
Theoretically Daemons using the portal glyph can as well. Because it can scatter up to 24" it could go up to your opponents lines. It is an open topped vehicle, and can spawn D6 daemons. So you could get lucky and get a first turn assault with it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/29 21:30:36
Subject: Ork squad in trukk can charge turn one??
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
gwarsh41 wrote:Theoretically Daemons using the portal glyph can as well. Because it can scatter up to 24" it could go up to your opponents lines. It is an open topped vehicle, and can spawn D6 daemons. So you could get lucky and get a first turn assault with it.
The portalglyph is not Open-Topped so they can't assault on the turn it arrives.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/29 23:49:28
Subject: Ork squad in trukk can charge turn one??
|
 |
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine
|
As others have mentioned, maximum charge out of a vehicle is 24". If either side is even 1 atom width behind the line, no charge is possible if Orks go first.
Of course, anything beyond the deployment line is fair game, so opposing infiltrators and scouts are vulnerable. Or just go second and see if anything moves up...assuming the truck / boys survive until your turn.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/30 04:25:28
Subject: Ork squad in trukk can charge turn one??
|
 |
!!Goffik Rocker!!
|
grendel083 wrote:Nothing stops a first turn charge.
But forces are set up more than 24" apart, which makes it impossible for most units.
Boarding planks will allow it, Stormboyz, as will a Warlord trait.
Stormboyz can't. As you can't WAAAGH! turn 1 so no run + charge there.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/30 05:09:11
Subject: Ork squad in trukk can charge turn one??
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
One guy at my hobby store told me that If you deploy your trukk sideways and you rotate before moving you gain a inch and a half.Then you move 6"after deploy a other 6" Ans then ou cahrge up to 12".
Is it me or i am sure its not really lgal to do that? He told me it was common in tournment. Like a small trick to gay few inch....
Anyways, i will have a rematch with my opponent cause i charge im turn one!
|
May the WAAAGH!!! be with you! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/30 05:18:54
Subject: Re:Ork squad in trukk can charge turn one??
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
The rules for moving vehicles clearly state that no part of a vehicle may move more than X inches (whether it be 6, 12, 18, etc.). Therefore, with or without a pivot, there is no way to get a truck (or any part of the truck) to move more than 12" (or whatever its limit is).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/30 07:43:43
Subject: Re:Ork squad in trukk can charge turn one??
|
 |
!!Goffik Rocker!!
|
Anywayz, even with boarding planks it's not likely you're gona make it there. Too many factors against it. Even if the opponent is exactly 24' away from you, he needs to be in the open ground and in a straight line without DT to matter. Than you got to roll a 10 and not loose anything to overwatch. Even in ideal circumstances you have somewhere < 20% of suckseeding. And if you fail, you have an exposed unit of boyz. Not worth it.
Now if you want to charge something within 18 - infiltrators, scouts - it's all perfectly fine.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/30 11:01:25
Subject: Re:Ork squad in trukk can charge turn one??
|
 |
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver
|
I think, though a 1st turn charge is possible, it is too risky to disembark your orks. Personally, if you wanted to go 'all in' as it were, i would get several trucks, some with boyz, some with manz missiles, perhaps some tankbustas with 4,5 or 6 trucks. move 12" in move, 12" in shooting phase and you are in their deployment first turn. if you go first, they will only get 1 turn of shooting in before you get a mighty reliable charge, or if you go second, they will get 2 turns of shooting coming your way, but hopefully using cover to your advantage when setting up terrain, bear this in mind).
|
|
 |
 |
|