Switch Theme:

Question about Demonic Rewards from Chaos Daemon Codex  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in th
Despised Traitorous Cultist




Ocularis Terribus

Hi, I was playing my Chaos Daemon army against some random people at a LGS and we have a bit of an argument about Daemonic rewards. Here's what happen: I roll twice on greater rewards and once on lesser rewards For my DP which turns out to be pretty crappy. So, I declare" Well, I'll exchange one lesser and one greater rewards for an Etherblade and a GreaterEtherblade. At least I could get a cool dual wielding Daemon prince with +1 attack this way " ,and they all suddenly said "That's cheating. It's against the rules. You can't take two magic weapons on a single model and Monstrous creature can't get two-weapon attack bonus ". As a recently returned player I was confused. I think I remembered the rules correctly, but since they are very vocal about it, I decided to do what they want and ask the forum later.

TLDR; 1. Can I exchange both a lesser reward and a greater reward to get two magic weapons on a single model?(In this case he is a Daemon prince) I did this in order to get +1 bonus attack since both swords are specialist weapon.
2. Can Monstrous creature benefit from two-weapon attack bonus?

EDIT: I got my hands on a codex book and the exact words are: " ... he can choose to swap a single Lesser, a single Greater and/or a single Exalted reward for result 0... " So, I interpreted that it is fine to exchanged more than one rewards if the rewards are of different tier, is that correct?.

Thanks in advance,

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/02/11 12:49:56


 
   
Made in nl
Confessor Of Sins






I don't have my codex handy atm, but the process for exchanging a lesser/greater gift for a weapon is explained in the section with the rewards. It also explains in what order you can do it.

Cratfworld Alaitoc (Gallery)
Order of the Red Mantle (Gallery)
Grand (little) Army of Chaos, now painting! (Blog
   
Made in au
Dakka Veteran





There is no problem if you want to exchange both weapons for their basic alternative, such as an etherblade and a lash of slannesh if you have both a lesser and greater reward. But it is unclear if you can dual wield on that model, or even what the rules are when it comes to dual weilding. In tournament situations, only run what the rulebook states clearly, for example if nothing is stated about dual weilding don't assume a model gets the same bonuses.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




APart from the basic rules in the BRB - more than one weapon, whcih allows any model with Two (or more) melee weapons to gain +1 attack, barring specialist weapons as an ecception, of course

1) Theyre talking rubbish. Theyre thinking of old fantasy, where magic weapons were limited to one per model, apart from very rare models where they were specifically given them
2) Monstrous Creatures have NOTHING prohibiting them from gaining the bonus attck for wielding two melee weapons.

Tell them to show you the page and line next time.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: