Switch Theme:

40K FAQ first draft posted (ALL CODEX FINAL FAQS added 1/20)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Major General





Florence, KY

... ongoing discussion in News & Rumours. FAQ can be found HERE.

Skitarii & Cult Mechanicus FAQs HERE.

Militarum Tempestus Scions, Inquisition, Adepta Sororitas and Officio Assassinorum HERE.

Imperial Knights, Genestealer Cults and Deathwatch HERE.

Daemonkin, Legion of the Damned and Blood Oath FAQs HERE

Codex Space Marines FAQ HERE

Codex Space Wolves FAQ HERE

Codex Dark Angels FAQ HERE

Codex Blood Angels FAQ HERE

Codex Craftworld Eldar, Dark Eldar and Harlequins HERE

Codex Tau Empire HERE

Codex Orks HERE

Codex Chaos Space Marines HERE

Codex Tyranids HERE

Astra Militarum and Grey Knights HERE

Codex Necrons HERE

Codex Chaos Daemons HERE

Main Rulebook FINAL FAQ posted HERE.

All Codex FINAL FAQS posted HERE

This message was edited 23 times. Last update was at 2017/01/20 14:54:44


'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Bush? No, Eldar Ranger





Oxfordshire , UK

Looks like this answers the horrendously long Solitaire Kiss and/or Caress issue amongst others!
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

 Bhazakhain wrote:
Looks like this answers the horrendously long Solitaire Kiss and/or Caress issue amongst others!


Yup. Nice that they clarified that. I'm hoping that the next step is to simply rewrite the rules to be less ambiguous in the first place.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





I am really impressed with all the questions answered, and they went after some which were contentous among the gaming community such as ICs joined to skyhammer, how may powers can a psyker cast, does psychic shriek roll to hit?

The one drawback to this is now we can't have 17 pages arguements about if an IC joined to an unit gets its "unit rules" or not, or whether a psychic power without a profile rolls to hit or not, and if it does how many dice.

Well done GW, this is actually very impressive.

It will be interesting to see how tournaments change their rules based on this, if at all.

I know ITC allows ICs attached to NSF to deploy first turn, this specifically calls that out as not allowed. I also believe ETC allows attached ICs to benefit from formation rules/unit rules where it does not specify the IC benefits.

This could change a lot of tournament lists, and shift the meta somewhat.

Spoiler:
Well they answered psychic shriek being a to hit roll or not, well done GW.

surprise to me was QS and Lance rules canceling each other and using the base AV without QS. Lance buff right there.

They also clarified the axe of khorne that causes you to strike last and harlequins kiss working when not using them.

The gets hot roll is not a to hit roll..

Units in transports are only affected by things in range if the thing affecting them specifies it does so- this is pretty huge.

Clarified units entering play from DS transport are also entering play by deep strike.

VSG- all models in unit must be within range to benefit. -huge.

VSG- models do not benefit from cover saves before shield is stripped- huge.

Tank shock- not intended as a way to remove enemy models. clarified.

Jinking+ stealth and shrouded- not clarified. They do say jinking and in cover are different saves. somewhat intendeing in the same section that stealth and shrouded affect cover saves from cover, not jink but do not say such.

Psykers cannot try to manifest more powers than their ML in a turn- clarification- this is a pretty big deal

Psykers use the combined ML of the psykers in the unit for determing WC generated.

Veil of darkness ruling- is strange. If you go into ongoing reserves from VoD(which also means gate) and do not have the deep strike rule, you may not come back in by deep strike.

Overwatch- if you get extra shots in the normal shooting phase, you get extra shots in the overwatch phase- clarification

Novas- each unit hit suffers the hits, ie cleansing flame causes 2d6 hits to each unit affected, and roll separately for each unit.

GMC- can fire all weapons, at different targets if desired. As per SHV they have to call out what is firing before resolving.

GMC- can still stomp if all enemies dead at I1 step.

GMC- do not get hit by blasts, but can be targetted by skyfire blasts/templates(I assume they get hit by them too if they can be targetted but not specifically stated)

FMC- get DS special rule

Pivoting of anything to gain movement is illegal

Infiltrate- you are allowed to not use it and deploy normally, this affects some ICs with Infiltrate.

Rules for detachments/formations only apply to those detachments/formations- Specifically calls out that an IC attached to NSF cannot benefit from first turn deep strike. Huge.

Do rules applying to an unit, such as dunestrider, or skyhammer anhillation force rules apply to attached ICs? answer is no. This is huge.

Graviton- Uses majority armor save when firing at mixed units.

Flyers cannot bomb and go into reserves on the same turn.

Flyers can fire 4 weapons at full BS and others as snapshots- nice.

Units containing multiple psykers cannot attempt to cast the same power more than once. Big deal.

If something states 1 model for a detachment it means 1, uses tomb spyders for necron canoptek spyder formation

Relics/artifacts- models may only be given 1 unless noted otherwise.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2016/05/04 18:03:06


 
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






Connecticut

Q : The coverage range of the Void Shield Generator's void shields is 12". If a unit is not entirely within the 12" range, does it still benefit form the Projected Void Shield special rule?
A : No

Oh snap. Does that mean if one guy is out of 12" the entire unit does not get the VSG or just that guy? It seems that the entire unit.
   
Made in us
Major General





Florence, KY

blaktoof wrote:
The one drawback to this is now we can't have 17 pages arguements about if an IC joined to an unit gets its "unit rules" or not, or whether a psychic power without a profile rolls to hit or not, and if it does how many dice.

Don't worry, we'll find other things to have 17 page arguments about just as soon as they drop a new codex or supplement ('Death From the Skies' is coming soon )

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Rampaging Carnifex





Fredericksburg, Virginia

 labmouse42 wrote:
Q : The coverage range of the Void Shield Generator's void shields is 12". If a unit is not entirely within the 12" range, does it still benefit form the Projected Void Shield special rule?
A : No

Oh snap. Does that mean if one guy is out of 12" the entire unit does not get the VSG or just that guy? It seems that the entire unit.


That is indeed what it says. If one guy is outside 12", then the unit isn't covered.

6000+
2500
2000
2000
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





A few of the FAQs have longer answers to the right in the comments from the GW poster than in the pretty faq picture.
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






Connecticut

Looks like the nurf bat came down on the VSG.

Q : Does a void shield intercept Psychic Shriek?
A : No

Q: Do Gauss, Melta, Haywire, and Graviation special rules affect void shields?
A : Yes. Gravitation hits cause the field to collapse on a 6.

And on the stormsurge.

Q: Do you have to select all targets before any dice are rolled for the weapons mounted on a Super-Heavy vehicle? If that's the case, are One Use Only/One Shot weapons used up if a previous weapon destroyed the target?
A : Yes to both.

Q : Can you stomp an invisible unit
A : Yes

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/05/04 18:11:13


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





I am still shocked at the lance/QS ruling

If a QS model is hit by a lance you ignore both rules.

They use the cancelling out of rules for something else later in the faq.

That's a buff to lance weapons as far as I can tell.

   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






Connecticut

blaktoof wrote:
That's a buff to lance weapons as far as I can tell.
It's a nice buff and will encourage people to take a weapon normally overlooked.
   
Made in us
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine





OMFG Gobsmacked. Trying to read at work...ain't happening.
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






Connecticut

No more double stacks of cursed earth. Only one flickering fire form a screamer star.

Q : If there are 2 Daemon Psykers who cast Cursed Earth and they are within 12" of each other, do they have a +2 bonus to their invuln save?
A : No. Modifiers from identical psychic powers do not stack.

Q : If a unit includes multiple IC psykers, can they cast the same power (Psychic Shriek) multiple times, once for each IC
A : No.

In other news...

Q : How does a Gargantuan Creature move through difficult terrain?
A : Roll 3d6 and double the highest result.

Q : If a MC is also an IC, can it join other units? Can other ICs then join the unit that the MC is now a part of?
A : Yes, and No.
(What MCs are ICs)

Q : Can Swooping FMCs be hit with blast or Template attacks that don't target them, such as scattered Blasts and vehicle explosions?
A : No

Q : Can swooping FMCs be hit by nova and beam powers ?
A : Yes for nova powers, no for beam powers.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2016/05/04 18:32:34


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 labmouse42 wrote:
No more double stacks of cursed earth. Only one flickering fire form a screamer star.

Q : If there are 2 Daemon Psykers who cast Cursed Earth and they are within 12" of each other, do they have a +2 bonus to their invuln save?
A : No. Modifiers from identical psychic powers do not stack.

Q : If a unit includes multiple IC psykers, can they cast the same power (Psychic Shriek) multiple times, once for each IC
A : No.

In other news...

Q : How does a Gargantuan Creature move through difficult terrain?
A : Roll 3d6 and double the highest result.

Q : If a MC is also an IC, can it join other units? Can other ICs then join the unit that the MC is now a part of?
A : Yes, and No.
(What MCs are ICs)


I think theres a riptide character from farsight that is a MC and IC.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/05/04 18:32:23


 
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






Connecticut

Psychic Shriek gets a buff

"However, some witchfire powers do not have a weapon profile (such as the Telepathy power Psychic Shriek); where this is the case, no To Hit roll is required -- the weapon hits automatically.

This means that there is no price for jinking for your farseer. Jink away and still shriek all day.
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

Honour Shas'vre O'Vesa is an MC/IC from the Farsight Enclaves Supplement.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in gb
Wight Lord with the Sword of Kings






UK

There is a specific discussion thread guys

I'll just leave this here:

Q: Can units that are Battle Brothers embark in each other’s Transport vehicles during deployment?

A: No.

"Unimaginably ancient xenos artefact somewhere on the planet, hive fleet poised above our heads, hidden 'stealer broods making an early start....and now a bloody Chaos cult crawling out of the woodwork just in case we were bored. Welcome to my world, Ciaphas."
Inquisitor Amberley Vail, Ordo Xenos

"I will admit that some Primachs like Russ or Horus could have a chance against an unarmed 12 year old novice but, a full Battle Sister??!! One to one? In close combat? Perhaps three Primarchs fighting together... but just one Primarch?" da001

www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/528517.page

A Bloody Road - my Warhammer Fantasy Fiction 
   
Made in gb
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps





Nottingham

That's a great effort. Looking forward to the codex FAQs.

Have a look at my P&M blog - currently working on: Tempestus Scions/Primaris Howling Griffons

Previous projects
30k Iron Warriors (11k+)
Full first company Crimson Fists
Zone Mortalis (unfinished)
Classic high elf bloodbowl team 
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






Connecticut

 Mr Morden wrote:
There is a specific discussion thread guys

I'll just leave this here:

Q: Can units that are Battle Brothers embark in each other’s Transport vehicles during deployment?

A: No.
Bam! No more assassains in drop pods.
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

 labmouse42 wrote:
 Mr Morden wrote:
There is a specific discussion thread guys

I'll just leave this here:

Q: Can units that are Battle Brothers embark in each other’s Transport vehicles during deployment?

A: No.
Bam! No more assassains in drop pods.


No more lots of things in Drop Pods.

Also, I play Tau Empire. What are Battle Brothers?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/05/04 18:50:01


Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in us
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta




hehe, finally a end to the argument about PE and rerolls. Sorry NOS, you backed the wrong horse. It's not a reroll, you can't even reroll the gets hot die.

 
   
Made in us
Second Story Man




Astonished of Heck

Interestingly enough, the notes put in to the GW comment associated with the ICs contradicts the picture.

The picture states things like an IC joined to the NSF can arrive with the NSF unit. The comment says they cannot.

I am very surprised by the QS vs Lance ruling. Some replies to it have already pointed out that QS is a codex rule, and Lance is an Advanced Rulebook rule.

I am also surprised that some one asked regarding BB and Transports during Deployment and taking a Dedicated Transport in Unbound that the unit does not have access to. Some people, what are you going to do?

So, we may see some adjustments for Second/Final Draft.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Major General





Florence, KY

From the discussion in News & Rumours (emphasis added):

blaktoof wrote:
 Kap'n Krump wrote:
blaktoof wrote:
 Kap'n Krump wrote:
Well, I'll be a runty squig. They actually made a FAQ.


A unit's special rules (e.g. skyhammer) confers to attached to ICs.





Q: If I’m using a special Detachment, such as the Nemesis Strike Force Detachment, and add Independent Characters from Battle Brother Factions (e.g. the Librarius Conclave), can they all still benefit from the first turn deployment and come in together?
A: No, the rules for Detachments and Formations only apply to models/units that are part of the Detachment or Formation.

Q: Do rules applying to ‘the unit’, such as those from Formation command benefits (e.g. the Skyhammer Annihilation Force), or unit-wide special rules such as Dunestrider from Codex: Skitarii apply to any attached Independent Characters?
A: No.


You might have misread that one there.



Independent character page, 3rd entry from the top, says yes, you can, and specifically references skyhammer. Though it is a draft, and I did see some typos, maybe some stuff is contradictory.


Your right, my apologies.
under their comments edit is this:

The last couple of questions on the image here are a glitch. Unfortunately, Facebook won't let us update it, so please go off this text, rather than the image:


Which makes it confusing, but the text is right and image is wrong

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






Whelp, they seem to have come down on the opposite side to me on nearly all of the contentious issues. I'm still glad they've finally done some FAQ's though.
   
Made in us
Locked in the Tower of Amareo




sirlynchmob wrote:
hehe, finally a end to the argument about PE and rerolls. Sorry NOS, you backed the wrong horse. It's not a reroll, you can't even reroll the gets hot die.


That position was absurd anyway.
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





Lance versus Quantum Shields... I'm still reeling. They also pulled another of these "two things affect exact same thing? bam! neither applies!". It's very against "whose turn is it?" ruling, but one I'm happy to see.

 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
Made in us
Second Story Man




Astonished of Heck

 Yarium wrote:
Lance versus Quantum Shields... I'm still reeling. They also pulled another of these "two things affect exact same thing? bam! neither applies!". It's very against "whose turn is it?" ruling, but one I'm happy to see.

Whose turn is it only matters with rules that state a timing, neither of which applies in the case of Quantum Shielding or Lance.

It is interesting that the Canoptek Harvest answer doesn't really answer the Demi-Company Captain answer completely.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/05/04 20:19:00


Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Angelic Adepta Sororitas





Q: How does a power that targets ‘the Psyker’ but not his unit work on a unit with Brotherhood of Psykers? If, for example, a Wyrdvane Psyker squad casts Iron Arm, does one model nominated as ‘the caster’ receive the benefits?

A: The power applies to all ‘Brotherhood of Psykers’ models in the unit.


Dope.




Q: Using grenades in the Assault phase. Can every model replace their close combat attacks with a single grenade attack or just one model in the unit? Like in the Shooting phase e.g. a unit of 5 Tau Pathfinders charge a Knight. Do 5 Pathfinders make close combat haywire grenade attacks?

A: Only one model from the unit can attack with a grenade in the Assault phase. Per Warhammer 40,000: The Rules, ‘Only one grenade (of any type) can be thrown by a unit per phase’.

WHAT THE HELL?!?


Q: Can units that are Battle Brothers embark in each other’s Transport vehicles during deployment?

A: No.

YAY!!!


Now if they would just errata invisibility out of the game, get rid of stomp, and dis-allow units from different factions to join into a single unit, we would be back to a much more balanced gamestate...
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Btothefnrock wrote:
Q: How does a power that targets ‘the Psyker’ but not his unit work on a unit with Brotherhood of Psykers? If, for example, a Wyrdvane Psyker squad casts Iron Arm, does one model nominated as ‘the caster’ receive the benefits?

A: The power applies to all ‘Brotherhood of Psykers’ models in the unit.


Dope.




Q: Using grenades in the Assault phase. Can every model replace their close combat attacks with a single grenade attack or just one model in the unit? Like in the Shooting phase e.g. a unit of 5 Tau Pathfinders charge a Knight. Do 5 Pathfinders make close combat haywire grenade attacks?

A: Only one model from the unit can attack with a grenade in the Assault phase. Per Warhammer 40,000: The Rules, ‘Only one grenade (of any type) can be thrown by a unit per phase’.

WHAT THE HELL?!?


Q: Can units that are Battle Brothers embark in each other’s Transport vehicles during deployment?

A: No.

YAY!!!


Now if they would just errata invisibility out of the game, get rid of stomp, and dis-allow units from different factions to join into a single unit, we would be back to a much more balanced gamestate...


Different factions can join but none of the "unit" special rules work for models outside of the original unit or detachment/formation according to the faq. Which greatly neuters the different factions joining into the same unit.

   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





UK

Yeah Quantam Shielding or Lance was always a Codex/core rulebook issue.

At least Dark Eldar got a buff.

YMDC = nightmare 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: