Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/06 19:23:53
Subject: Kill team: How does the DS8 tactical support turret work?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
As the title suggests, I would like others interpretations of how this model works.
It needs a member of its unit to be next to it in order to deploy it. Once deployed, its only destroyed if an enemy comes within 2", or if noone from its unit is within 2 inches.
My questions:
1. Can any model from that troop choice deploy it?
2. Once destroyed, can any model then spawn in another one?
My first reaction was that it would need to be assigned to a specific "unit" and once that unit was gone, its gone too.
Otherwise, it's going to be deployed round after round by different fire warriors as they spread out over the map.
Any thoughts or rules on this I'm missing would be appreciated.
Thanks,
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/10 14:55:47
Subject: Kill team: How does the DS8 tactical support turret work?
|
 |
Sneaky Sniper Drone
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
|
I too am interested in how this should work. The rules are unclear to me.
Obviously, GW wants us to use the DS8 in Kill Team - they included the model in the boxed set. Therefore, there must be some interpretation that makes sense... but I'm not able to puzzle it out.
The strictest version seems to be that the DS8 belongs to a unit of 1 model and once that model is removed the DS8 plays no further part in the game.
Haven't played 40k since 3rd edition and appreciate any help understanding the new rules.
J--
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/10 15:20:40
Subject: Kill team: How does the DS8 tactical support turret work?
|
 |
Gargantuan Gargant
|
Oathbreaker wrote:The strictest version seems to be that the DS8 belongs to a unit of 1 model and once that model is removed the DS8 plays no further part in the game.
This is the only logical way for it to work.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/10 15:43:19
Subject: Kill team: How does the DS8 tactical support turret work?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
The strictest reading is that the unit of, say, 5 breachers purchase their maximum of 1 turret in the options.
Then after deployment each of the on their own model units belong to the unit that purchased the turret and so 1 of them can deploy it. Later another model-unit from the unit that purchased the turret could move to within 2" and the model-unit that deployed the turret can wander off or die freely. A member of the unit that purchased the turret is still within 2" so it will remain on table. If the turret is removed for the reasons stated in its rules any other model-unit from the unit that purchased the turret may then deploy it.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/11 02:04:53
Subject: Kill team: How does the DS8 tactical support turret work?
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:The strictest reading is that the unit of, say, 5 breachers purchase their maximum of 1 turret in the options.
Then after deployment each of the on their own model units belong to the unit that purchased the turret and so 1 of them can deploy it. Later another model-unit from the unit that purchased the turret could move to within 2" and the model-unit that deployed the turret can wander off or die freely. A member of the unit that purchased the turret is still within 2" so it will remain on table. If the turret is removed for the reasons stated in its rules any other model-unit from the unit that purchased the turret may then deploy it.
That's how it seems to me.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/11 02:46:31
Subject: Kill team: How does the DS8 tactical support turret work?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:The strictest reading is that the unit of, say, 5 breachers purchase their maximum of 1 turret in the options.
Then after deployment each of the on their own model units belong to the unit that purchased the turret and so 1 of them can deploy it. Later another model-unit from the unit that purchased the turret could move to within 2" and the model-unit that deployed the turret can wander off or die freely. A member of the unit that purchased the turret is still within 2" so it will remain on table. If the turret is removed for the reasons stated in its rules any other model-unit from the unit that purchased the turret may then deploy it.
That's probably the best way to play it. It mimics how it works in normal 40K, which is the way it was designed for.
I'm however not sure it's correct, RAW. Since each breacher becomes its own unit, the way you're describing it means that the turret is shared amongst multiple units. I don't see any ground for that (the fact that these units of 1 model each were purchased together doesn't impact how they interact on the battlefield).
One (if that person is really a TFG) could argue that each of the 5 breachers in your example becomes, after deployment, a unit of 1 breacher that purchased a turret. Therefore, each one of them could deploy a turret.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/11 04:08:36
Subject: Kill team: How does the DS8 tactical support turret work?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
It seems to me that for a 10 point upgrade, having a turret that is, essentially, unkillable, and that can fire from a different spot on the map, is way OP for a kill team match.
Can anyone name a squad upgrade for any other unit in any other codex that would work that way?
Otherwise I'd think it seems fair that, like with most other upgrades, it is attached to a model.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/11 05:09:09
Subject: Kill team: How does the DS8 tactical support turret work?
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
|
Kreul wrote:It seems to me that for a 10 point upgrade, having a turret that is, essentially, unkillable, and that can fire from a different spot on the map, is way OP for a kill team match.
Can anyone name a squad upgrade for any other unit in any other codex that would work that way?
Otherwise I'd think it seems fair that, like with most other upgrades, it is attached to a model.
Space Marine scout bikes cluster mines..?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/28 07:47:57
Subject: Kill team: How does the DS8 tactical support turret work?
|
 |
Disbeliever of the Greater Good
|
The rules seem open to a lot of interpretation. If only 1 fire warrior can have the turret, it makes it easy to kill. If it can be deployed by anyone in the squad, it makes it much more useful.
You could interpret it as being like a drone, and counting as a unit of 1, which would make it unkillable, except in melee.
There is also the question of whether it, being a "non vehicle model" can be chosen as a specialist (an upgraded model). This definitely needs an official FAQ reply.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/28 08:15:43
Subject: Kill team: How does the DS8 tactical support turret work?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
You cannot interpret it as being like a drone. It is not in any way ever considered a model.
As to the other "interpretations" I have seen online, lets take everything step by step:
First, the armylist entry has you purchase "a DS8 tactical support Turret"; that is to say at list creation, you buy 1 turret no matter how many units that entry later splits into. A good example for this being truth is the next option down where the entry allows "a devilfish(abv. name, but same "a" verbiage)": in the same way that you do not get a devilfish for each Firewarrior model-unit deployed; you do not get a support turret per model-unit, simply one-per army list entry.
Second, all of the rules are referencing "their unit", or "its unit" in a paragraph that has already established those terms to mean the unit that has purchased the specific turret at list creation.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/28 09:23:18
Subject: Kill team: How does the DS8 tactical support turret work?
|
 |
Disbeliever of the Greater Good
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:The strictest reading is that the unit of, say, 5 breachers purchase their maximum of 1 turret in the options.
Then after deployment each of the on their own model units belong to the unit that purchased the turret and so 1 of them can deploy it. Later another model-unit from the unit that purchased the turret could move to within 2" and the model-unit that deployed the turret can wander off or die freely. A member of the unit that purchased the turret is still within 2" so it will remain on table. If the turret is removed for the reasons stated in its rules any other model-unit from the unit that purchased the turret may then deploy it.
I agree with your interpretation, but other players I know suggest that it should be tied to a single individual in the squad, as they are all treated as units of 1. That would make it far easier to kill and less value for the points.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/28 18:19:14
Subject: Kill team: How does the DS8 tactical support turret work?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
There is another thread that's been talking about the turret in kill team games
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/703125.page
you might prefer to keep on here, though. Automatically Appended Next Post: Kommissar Kel wrote:The strictest reading is that the unit of, say, 5 breachers purchase their maximum of 1 turret in the options.
Then after deployment each of the on their own model units belong to the unit that purchased the turret and so 1 of them can deploy it. Later another model-unit from the unit that purchased the turret could move to within 2" and the model-unit that deployed the turret can wander off or die freely. A member of the unit that purchased the turret is still within 2" so it will remain on table. If the turret is removed for the reasons stated in its rules any other model-unit from the unit that purchased the turret may then deploy it.
I'd go with the turret being able to passed like a hot potato between different members of the kill team. I'd say though that if the turret is destroyed then the turret would not redeploy, with another model unless the rules for it normally let it get to be redeployed near another model.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/09/28 18:23:53
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/28 19:00:41
Subject: Kill team: How does the DS8 tactical support turret work?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Kreul wrote:As the title suggests, I would like others interpretations of how this model works. It needs a member of its unit to be next to it in order to deploy it. Once deployed, its only destroyed if an enemy comes within 2", or if noone from its unit is within 2 inches. My questions: 1. Can any model from that troop choice deploy it? 2. Once destroyed, can any model then spawn in another one? My first reaction was that it would need to be assigned to a specific "unit" and once that unit was gone, its gone too. Otherwise, it's going to be deployed round after round by different fire warriors as they spread out over the map. Any thoughts or rules on this I'm missing would be appreciated. Thanks,
I opened a thread on this question a few days ago: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/60/703125.page There are different interpretations on how the turret could be set up (mine is extremely unpopular, but it seems to be the only RAW one, every other one requires a home rule). One thing is certain, though: since the Turret is a model, albeit without a profile, the Every Man for Himself rule dictates that it is an independent unit, unlike what happens in normal 40k games, where it's part of the strike team. Unfortunately, the rules for the Turret say pretty clearly that if there is no other model IN ITS UNIT within 2", it is immediately removed. And there can't be any model in its unit, since every model is its own, one-man unit. So, regardless on the correct interpretation on how to deploy it, the turret is unusable, because it will die as soon as it is set up. Yes, it makes little sense, but it's the only interpretation that is consistent with the rules (and rules are the only thing that matters).
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/09/28 19:01:28
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/28 20:19:36
Subject: Kill team: How does the DS8 tactical support turret work?
|
 |
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch
|
Teschio wrote:There are different interpretations on how the turret could be set up (mine is extremely unpopular, but it seems to be the only RAW one, every other one requires a home rule).
Except it requires just as much of a house rule as any other interpretation, if not MORE, considering your stance is that all 12 fire warriors in a full squad would each have access to their own individual turret, landing a player with up to 12 turrets per unit purchased at list building. There are many flaws in this argument that have been addressed repeatedly in the other thread.
Popular answers to OP are either:
A) You choose one fire warrior, and that one alone can set up the turret.
B) The turret is able to jump around the field.
Problems with both solutions include the idea that the turret may count as a model (though it doesn't have a profile of any kind), which would separate it out from any fire warrior that sets it up and immediately destroy it. 99% of people are not doing this.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/29 11:17:36
Subject: Kill team: How does the DS8 tactical support turret work?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
doctortom wrote:There is another thread that's been talking about the turret in kill team games
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/703125.page
you might prefer to keep on here, though.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Kommissar Kel wrote:The strictest reading is that the unit of, say, 5 breachers purchase their maximum of 1 turret in the options.
Then after deployment each of the on their own model units belong to the unit that purchased the turret and so 1 of them can deploy it. Later another model-unit from the unit that purchased the turret could move to within 2" and the model-unit that deployed the turret can wander off or die freely. A member of the unit that purchased the turret is still within 2" so it will remain on table. If the turret is removed for the reasons stated in its rules any other model-unit from the unit that purchased the turret may then deploy it.
I'd go with the turret being able to passed like a hot potato between different members of the kill team. I'd say though that if the turret is destroyed then the turret would not redeploy, with another model unless the rules for it normally let it get to be redeployed near another model.
The rules for the turret do, indeed, allow for it to be redeployed by another model from "its unit"(again meaning the unit that purchased it)
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/09/29 16:03:01
Subject: Kill team: How does the DS8 tactical support turret work?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The rules for the turret do, indeed, allow for it to be redeployed by another model from "its unit"(again meaning the unit that purchased it)
Thanks!
|
|
 |
 |
|