Switch Theme:

[SWA] GSC question about Brood Command  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Nimble Dark Rider





Land of Lincoln

Ok, so Brood Command reads as:

"Brood Command: Any fighter within 12" of their kill team’s Neophyte Leader
can use their Leadership characteristic when taking break tests and tests to see
if they recover their nerve when broken. In addition, any fighters within 12" of
their kill team’s Neophyte Leader can use their Initiative characteristic when
testing to escape pinning early."

I think this is an issue of the ability being poorly worded, but its meant that a fighter within 12" of the Leader can use the Leaders LD and Initiative in place of their own, correct? Cuz the way i read it, it sounds like a fighter within 12" of the leader uses its own LD and Initiative for tests, which is the way it works anyways....

And maybe I'm thinking too optimistically here, but does it also mean that a fighter can test to escape pinning early as long as they're within 12" of the leader, even if theres not another fighter within 2"?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/04/18 22:28:00


Malifaux - Rezzers
40K - Iron Hands


 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut






Yes, models within 12" use the Leader's Ld and I.

No, they don't get to test if they're on their own.

That's how I read that rule, anyway. The "their" in the rule refers to the Neophyte Leader; it's one way of having a gender-neutral third-person pronoun in English.
   
Made in us
Sneaky Kommando




Southern California

As an aside, the only way that the Leader's Initiative comes into play is if he has had an increase in Initiative. Otherwise, all members have the same Initiative. Except the Purestrian.
   
Made in au
Infiltrating Broodlord





he lets them check for escaping pinning as well
   
Made in us
Sneaky Kommando




Southern California

GodDamUser wrote:
he lets them check for escaping pinning as well


In addition, any fighters within 12" of their kill team’s Neophyte Leader can use their Initiative characteristic when testing to escape pinning early.

That doesn't mean the fighter can test to escape Pinning unless he has a buddy with 12" (as usual, Leader's are excepted). Scouts do have that as a special rule.
   
 
Forum Index » Games Workshop Board Games & Specialist/Legacy Games
Go to: