Switch Theme:

8th edition overwatch on multiple charges  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User




Let's say I have a unit of space marines. My enemy is a tyranid.

On his turn during the charge phase, 3 of the tyranid units declare a charge on my one space marines unit. My space marines unit, before the charge phase, had no enemy units within 1" of them.

Assuming all charges will end up being a success, how does overwatch work?

A) The space marines get to overwatch on all 3 tyranid squads, because all overwatch is resolved before the charge moves are made

B) The space marines get to overwatch only on the first charge, because every charge is treated one by one, so as a result of the first charge the marines have enemies within 1" of them and cannot overwatch on the other units.


Thanks!
   
Made in gb
The Last Chancer Who Survived





United Kingdom

You resolve one charge at a time, they are not simultaneous.

Select one Nids unit, delcare charge, resolve overwatch, then roll for the charge distance.

If they get in, no more overwatch from that unit of Marines, if they don't, repeat the process with the next unit of Nids.

 
   
Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User




Thanks for the clear answer. Follow-up question - do you need to declare all charges at the same time?

Or can you declare how charge, see how it unfolds, then declare the next charge?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/28 14:50:33


 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut



Glasgow

1) choose unit to charge with
2) choose target
3) resolve overwatch
4) roll 2 d6 make charge move
5) choose another eligible unit

So tyranid unit 1 charges space marines who overwatch tyranids successfully make charge. Then tyranids unit 2 and 3 may charge without facing overwatch


So tyranid unit 1 charges space marines who overwatch tyranids fail charge. Then tyranids unit 2 declares charge space marines overwatch again and repeat

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/06/28 14:51:30


 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






olivier wrote:
Thanks for the clear answer. Follow-up question - do you need to declare all charges at the same time?

Or can you declare how charge, see how it unfolds, then declare the next charge?
The Latter. Don't forget you gotta roll charges for your characters separately now too.

Add me on Discord: BaconCatBug#0294
+++++List of documents required to play Warhammer 40,000 8th edition+++++
Disclaimer: My YMDC answers are from a "What the rules, as written (or modified by Special Snowflake FAQ) in the rulebooks, actually say" perspective, not a "What I wish the rules said" perspective. Even GW agrees with me, send an email to 40kfaq@gwplc.com for a confirmation reply "4. Apply The Rules As Written. If you still don’t have a satisfactory answer, use the rule just as it is written if you possibly can, even if you are not completely happy with the effect the rule has."
Mathhammer tables for 2D6 and 3D6 Charging with various re-roll abilities || Stylus CSS theme for DakkaDakka forums to hide black avatar background and fully hide ignored users. || Userscript to add a button to open all "[First Unread]" links on the page, hides the "[Blog View]" links, and adds a "Subscribed Threads" link to forum pages.  
   
Made in im
Beast of Nurgle





Charges are performed one at a time so your opponent will declare a charge with one squad, give the the opportunity to overwatch and move his squad before moving onto the second.

"A target unit can potentially fire Overwatch several times a turn, though it cannot fire if there are any enemy models within 1" of it."

So if the first charge fails, the unit can overwatch again on the second charge etc. but if one of the charges connects, you can't overwatch during subsequent charges.

https://www.games-workshop.com/resources/PDF/40k/warhammer_40000_en.pdf
p. 8
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: