Switch Theme:

Serpent Shield rule clarification.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




Serpent shields question.

"Any damage suffered by a Wave Serpent from a ranged weapon is reduced by 1, to a minimum of 1. "

Is this total damaged caused for a single weapon. For example a twin Autocannon Heavy-4 D2. If all 4 shots wound and cause 8 damage total, is this reduced to 7?

OR

Is it per wounding hit? So each of the 4 shots that successfully wound are each reduced by 1, so the total wounds would be 4.

Thanks in advance.
   
Made in gb
Gargantuan Gargant





The second. Each wound does damage individually, they don't pool together.

Disclaimer: My YMDC answers are from a "What the rules, as written in the rulebook, actually say" perspective, not a "What I wish the rules said" perspective.
Because some people get their knickers in a twist, I'll list these RaW 'oddities' in my sig. Sadly GW's promise of fixing their broken rules has itself been broken. RaW you cannot advance and then fire assault weapons, you can't shoot pistols if within 1" of an enemy, "minimum" ranges don't work, Seraphim have to re-roll saves that "fail" pre-re-roll, the game simply breaks if you ever have more than one wounded model in a unit, the game also breaks if a single rule ever tries to do multiple things simultaneously, Khârn punches himself in the face if he's not near some meatshields, Librarians on Bikes are locked to the Index power list, Howling Banshees can't declare a charge further than 12", Spore Mines have an infinite range, Shroudpsalm technically doesn't do anything, only enemy models, not friendly models, have permission to move on top of a Skyshield Landing Pad, T'au have access to stackable Ignore Wounds (albeit against Mortal Wounds only), and T'au Early Warning Override Support System only works if a unit is "teleporting to the battlefield", not just arriving mid-battle, Genestealer Cults can no longer move after ambushing, you can only ever use the Deathwatch Teleportarium Stratagem "once", and then never again in any battle after you use it, single use weapons MUST be fired the first time a model shoots if they are in range and LOS, if a model splits fire, each weapon must target a different unit, the Agents of Vect stratagem can be used by ANY Drukhari army, not just one with a Kabal of the Black Heart detachment, a Tyrant Guard with Lashwhip can absorb an infinite amount of damage via Shieldwall between the time they die and the time they fight, Chapter Tactics on Successor Chapters don't actually do anything, Codex Leman Russ's can take an infinite amount of Hunter-Killer Missiles, Storm Bolters and Heavy Stubbers, and Imothekh's 'Lord of the Storm' ability hits the "target unit" twice.
--- Mathhammer tables for 2D6 and 3D6 Charging with various re-roll abilities --- Stylish CSS theme for DakkaDakka forums to hide black avatar background and fully hide ignored users. --- 
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




 BaconCatBug wrote:
The second. Each wound does damage individually, they don't pool together.


Can you give further clarification on why this is?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/07/17 20:58:28


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




If you fail a save vs the Autocannon you take 2 damage. The Shield then reduces that to 1.

Any other "failed saves" have no effect on the damage done from 1 failed save.
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

You take saves and take damage one wound at a time. This is under Fast Dice Rolling on page 179. So, the wave serpent would get allocated 4 wounds. It would take a single save for the first wound. It would then take 2 damage if it did not save, reduced to 1 for its shield. Then you'd resolve the next wound. Rinse and repeat.

The reason it is getting muddied is because you're lumping all the saves together (which is perfectly fine, if everyone understands the rules).

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/07/17 20:49:49


WH40K
Weeping Legion 2000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

26 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in gb
Gargantuan Gargant





Zelcon01 wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
The second. Each wound does damage individually, they don't pool together.


Can you give further clarification on why this is? I'm having a small disagreement over it with someone.
I can't give further clarification because there isn't any to give. The rules in the massive 8 page tome are clear on how the order of dice work for wounding and damage.

Disclaimer: My YMDC answers are from a "What the rules, as written in the rulebook, actually say" perspective, not a "What I wish the rules said" perspective.
Because some people get their knickers in a twist, I'll list these RaW 'oddities' in my sig. Sadly GW's promise of fixing their broken rules has itself been broken. RaW you cannot advance and then fire assault weapons, you can't shoot pistols if within 1" of an enemy, "minimum" ranges don't work, Seraphim have to re-roll saves that "fail" pre-re-roll, the game simply breaks if you ever have more than one wounded model in a unit, the game also breaks if a single rule ever tries to do multiple things simultaneously, Khârn punches himself in the face if he's not near some meatshields, Librarians on Bikes are locked to the Index power list, Howling Banshees can't declare a charge further than 12", Spore Mines have an infinite range, Shroudpsalm technically doesn't do anything, only enemy models, not friendly models, have permission to move on top of a Skyshield Landing Pad, T'au have access to stackable Ignore Wounds (albeit against Mortal Wounds only), and T'au Early Warning Override Support System only works if a unit is "teleporting to the battlefield", not just arriving mid-battle, Genestealer Cults can no longer move after ambushing, you can only ever use the Deathwatch Teleportarium Stratagem "once", and then never again in any battle after you use it, single use weapons MUST be fired the first time a model shoots if they are in range and LOS, if a model splits fire, each weapon must target a different unit, the Agents of Vect stratagem can be used by ANY Drukhari army, not just one with a Kabal of the Black Heart detachment, a Tyrant Guard with Lashwhip can absorb an infinite amount of damage via Shieldwall between the time they die and the time they fight, Chapter Tactics on Successor Chapters don't actually do anything, Codex Leman Russ's can take an infinite amount of Hunter-Killer Missiles, Storm Bolters and Heavy Stubbers, and Imothekh's 'Lord of the Storm' ability hits the "target unit" twice.
--- Mathhammer tables for 2D6 and 3D6 Charging with various re-roll abilities --- Stylish CSS theme for DakkaDakka forums to hide black avatar background and fully hide ignored users. --- 
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




I can't give further clarification because there isn't any to give. The rules in the massive 8 page tome are clear on how the order of dice work for wounding and damage.

Okay. Cheers anyway.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 puma713 wrote:
You take saves and take damage one wound at a time. This is under Fast Dice Rolling on page 179. So, the wave serpent would get allocated 4 wounds. It would take a single save for the first wound. It would then take 2 damage if it did not save, reduced to 1 for its shield. Then you'd resolve the next wound. Rinse and repeat.

The reason it is getting muddied is because you're lumping all the saves together (which is perfectly fine, if everyone understands the rules).



This was very useful. Thanks.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/07/17 21:19:42


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: