Switch Theme:

Multiple wounded models in a single unit and wound allocation  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User





How would wound allocation work if I have more than one wounded model in a single unit?
Say I bring Celestine, her geminae die and she takes some wounds, next turn I bring back a geminae with acts of faith at 1 wound.

When allocating wounds can I now pick between the wounded geminae or Celestine to take further wounds?
   
Made in gb
Gargantuan Gargant





All the rules say is "If a model in the target unit has already lost any wounds, the damage must be allocated to that model."

So basically we have a rule saying we "must" allocate to two different models.

Slipshod HIWPI is just you pick which model so long as you allocate to a wounded model.

RaW everything breaks and a singularity is formed and we all die.

Not that this is an issue because Healing Tears bring back the Geminæ with full wounds.

Homework time: Anyone found a situation where you can end up with two differently wounded models in the same unit?

I am a moron the Act of Faith does indeed return with 1 wound.

This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2017/08/08 23:50:38


Disclaimer: My YMDC answers are from a "What the rules, as written in the rulebook, actually say" perspective, not a "What I wish the rules said" perspective.
Because some people get their knickers in a twist, I'll list these RaW 'oddities' in my sig. Sadly GW's promise of fixing their broken rules has itself been broken. RaW you cannot advance and then fire assault weapons, you can't shoot pistols if within 1" of an enemy; "minimum" ranges don't work; Seraphim have to re-roll saves that "fail" pre-re-roll; the game simply breaks if you ever have more than one wounded model in a unit; the game also breaks if a single rule ever tries to do multiple things simultaneously; Khârn punches himself in the face if he's not near some meatshields; Librarians on Bikes are locked to the Index power list, Howling Banshees can't declare a charge further than 12"; Spore Mines have an infinite range; Shroudpsalm technically doesn't do anything, only enemy models, not friendly models, have permission to move on top of a Skyshield Landing Pad; T'au have access to stackable Ignore Wounds (albeit against Mortal Wounds only); the T'au Early Warning Override Support System only works if a unit is "teleporting to the battlefield", not just arriving mid-battle; you can only ever use the Deathwatch Teleportarium Stratagem "once", and then never again in any battle after you use it; if a model splits fire, each weapon must target a different unit; a Tyrant Guard with Lashwhip can absorb an infinite amount of damage via Shieldwall between the time they die and the time they fight; Chapter Tactics on Successor Chapters don't actually do anything; Codex Leman Russ's can take an infinite amount of Hunter-Killer Missiles, Storm Bolters and Heavy Stubbers; Imothekh's 'Lord of the Storm' ability hits the "target unit" twice; "Airborne" units can't be charged by non-FLY units, but can be Heroically Intervened into, piled into, or consolidated into just fine by non-FLY units; Wave Serpents cannot be legally charged at by any model with a standard base; and Slab Shields, along with the 'Take Cover!' stratagem no longer have any effect.
--- Mathhammer tables for 2D6 and 3D6 Charging with various re-roll abilities --- Stylus CSS theme for DakkaDakka forums to hide black avatar background and fully hide ignored users. --- 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






Yeah, without a rules clarification, I'd say it's defender's choice. RAI is obviously not meant to give the same single wound to multiple models, so I see no problem with the defending player choosing the model, since it's their responsibility to allocate wounds anyway.

-----
brian ® 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: