Switch Theme:

Soulburst destroyed transport surround  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Kabalite Conscript






On my turn if i had a large units of hellion within 7 inches of a transport and then i destroy it, can i move the hellions from soulburst before my opponemt disembarks any models?
They both happen after you destroy the transport and i choose the order due to sequencing.

I know ynnari cant soulburst after their own transport is destroyed but thats because they arent on the table the unit is destroyed and couldnt trigger any rules.

Is this rigt? Could i surroudn ransport and kill the occupants?

//ALL GLORY TO THE PARTRIDGES

//Just give them the push while I kickstart 
   
Made in gb
Nasty Nob





I think the sequencing rule comes into play here and you could indeed attempt to surround the transport before they can disembark, since it is your turn.

Because some people get their knickers in a twist, I'll list these in my sig: RaW you cannot advance and then fire assault weapons, you can't shoot pistols if within 1" of an enemy, "minimum" ranges don't work, Seraphim have to re-roll saves that "fail" pre-re-roll, the game simply breaks if you ever have more than one wounded model in a unit,
Khârn punches himself in the face if he's not near some meatshields and the Mordian doctrine doesn't do very much.

"Your presence does not surprise me, Assassin. I have known of you ever since your craft entered the Eastern Fringes. Why did I not have you killed? Because your mission and the act you are about to commit proves the truth of all I have ever said or done. I merely punished those who had wronged, just as your False Emperor now seeks to punish me. Death is nothing compared to vindication." - Konrad Curze, Primarch of the Night Lords

"I PUNCHED OUT ONE OF HIS HEARTS! WHY DOES NOBODY REMEMBER THAT?!" - Magnus the Red, Primarch of the Thousand Sons 
   
Made in us
Calm Celestian





St. Louis, Missouri USA

Well let's take a look...

Soulburst:
Each time a unit is completely
destroyed within 7" of one or more units with this ability, except
in the Morale phase, pick one of those units to make a Soulburst
action. That unit can immediately do one of the following, even if it
has already done so in this turn:

Kersplosions:
If a transport is destroyed, any units embarked within it
immediately disembark (see below) before the transport model
is removed, but you must then roll one dice for each model you
just set up on the battlefield. For each roll of 1, a model that
disembarked (your choice) is slain.

Soulburst doesn't kick off until the model is completely destroyed. You place the models on the table and then remove the transport. I would assume, since the model is still on the battlefield, it's not completely destroyed, yet. But, the models don't get out until the transport is destroyed. But are destroyed and completely destroyed interchangable or different?

I think the models in the transport should be placed first before using soulburst simply because i see that as one step in the process of a transport being destroyed.

3200
2100
1000
900 
   
Made in ca
Kabalite Conscript






Well that depends. Does the rulebook make a distinction between destroyed or completely destroyed?

I mean if that were the case then a ynnari unit would disembark from their transport and then the transport isnt completely destroyed until you remove the model so why would there be a problem with them soulbursting from their own transport?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/10/13 17:11:53


//ALL GLORY TO THE PARTRIDGES

//Just give them the push while I kickstart 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




The Xenos 1 FAQ states:

"Page 76 – Strength from Death
Change the last sentence of the first paragraph to read:
‘That unit can immediately do one of the following,
even if it has already done so in this turn (if the unit
was destroyed as the result of a unit’s action – e.g.
making a shooting attack or fighting – the Soulburst
action is resolved after the unit has completely resolved
its current action, e.g. after it has completed all of
its shooting attacks or after it has finished fighting,
including making any consolidation moves):’"

I would say that to 'completely resolve' the shooting action, the embarked unit needs to disembark from the transport, take casualties from disembarking, etc.
   
Made in ca
Kabalite Conscript






A good take on it and I thought of that too. However in the rulebook in the shooting phase there is a resolve attacks section and the last step of completely resolving an attack is to inflict damage. The last step of fighting is to consolidate whether you destroyed the enemy unit or not.

You completely resolve the shooting attack when the unit is destroyed. Then after the unit is destroyed, you immediately disembark and you immediately take a soulburst action.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/10/14 12:48:03


//ALL GLORY TO THE PARTRIDGES

//Just give them the push while I kickstart 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: