Switch Theme:

Soulburst destroyed transport surround  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
Author Message

Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.

Made in ca
Kabalite Conscript

On my turn if i had a large units of hellion within 7 inches of a transport and then i destroy it, can i move the hellions from soulburst before my opponemt disembarks any models?
They both happen after you destroy the transport and i choose the order due to sequencing.

I know ynnari cant soulburst after their own transport is destroyed but thats because they arent on the table the unit is destroyed and couldnt trigger any rules.

Is this rigt? Could i surroudn ransport and kill the occupants?


//Just give them the push while I kickstart 
Made in gb
Gargantuan Gargant

I think the sequencing rule comes into play here and you could indeed attempt to surround the transport before they can disembark, since it is your turn.

Disclaimer: My YMDC answers are from a "What the rules, as written in the rulebook, actually say" perspective, not a "What I wish the rules said" perspective.
Because some people get their knickers in a twist, I'll list these RaW 'oddities' in my sig. Sadly GW's promise of fixing their broken rules has itself been broken. RaW you cannot advance and then fire assault weapons, you can't shoot pistols if within 1" of an enemy; "minimum" ranges don't work; Seraphim have to re-roll saves that "fail" pre-re-roll; the game simply breaks if you ever have more than one wounded model in a unit; the game also breaks if a single rule ever tries to do multiple things simultaneously; Khârn punches himself in the face if he's not near some meatshields; Librarians on Bikes are locked to the Index power list, Howling Banshees can't declare a charge further than 12"; Spore Mines have an infinite range; Shroudpsalm technically doesn't do anything, only enemy models, not friendly models, have permission to move on top of a Skyshield Landing Pad; T'au have access to stackable Ignore Wounds (albeit against Mortal Wounds only); the T'au Early Warning Override Support System only works if a unit is "teleporting to the battlefield", not just arriving mid-battle; Genestealer Cults can no longer move after ambushing; you can only ever use the Deathwatch Teleportarium Stratagem "once", and then never again in any battle after you use it; single use weapons MUST be fired the first time a model shoots if they are in range and LOS, if a model splits fire, each weapon must target a different unit; the Agents of Vect stratagem can be used by ANY Drukhari army, not just one with a Kabal of the Black Heart detachment; a Tyrant Guard with Lashwhip can absorb an infinite amount of damage via Shieldwall between the time they die and the time they fight; Chapter Tactics on Successor Chapters don't actually do anything; Codex Leman Russ's can take an infinite amount of Hunter-Killer Missiles, Storm Bolters and Heavy Stubbers; Imothekh's 'Lord of the Storm' ability hits the "target unit" twice; "Airborne" units can't be charged by non-FLY units, but can be Heroically Intervened into, piled into, or consolidated into just fine by non-FLY units; and Wave Serpents cannot be legally charged at by any model with a standard base.
--- Mathhammer tables for 2D6 and 3D6 Charging with various re-roll abilities --- Stylus CSS theme for DakkaDakka forums to hide black avatar background and fully hide ignored users. --- 
Made in us
Missionary On A Mission

St. Louis, Missouri USA

Well let's take a look...

Each time a unit is completely
destroyed within 7" of one or more units with this ability, except
in the Morale phase, pick one of those units to make a Soulburst
action. That unit can immediately do one of the following, even if it
has already done so in this turn:

If a transport is destroyed, any units embarked within it
immediately disembark (see below) before the transport model
is removed, but you must then roll one dice for each model you
just set up on the battlefield. For each roll of 1, a model that
disembarked (your choice) is slain.

Soulburst doesn't kick off until the model is completely destroyed. You place the models on the table and then remove the transport. I would assume, since the model is still on the battlefield, it's not completely destroyed, yet. But, the models don't get out until the transport is destroyed. But are destroyed and completely destroyed interchangable or different?

I think the models in the transport should be placed first before using soulburst simply because i see that as one step in the process of a transport being destroyed.

Made in ca
Kabalite Conscript

Well that depends. Does the rulebook make a distinction between destroyed or completely destroyed?

I mean if that were the case then a ynnari unit would disembark from their transport and then the transport isnt completely destroyed until you remove the model so why would there be a problem with them soulbursting from their own transport?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/10/13 17:11:53


//Just give them the push while I kickstart 
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut

The Xenos 1 FAQ states:

"Page 76 – Strength from Death
Change the last sentence of the first paragraph to read:
‘That unit can immediately do one of the following,
even if it has already done so in this turn (if the unit
was destroyed as the result of a unit’s action – e.g.
making a shooting attack or fighting – the Soulburst
action is resolved after the unit has completely resolved
its current action, e.g. after it has completed all of
its shooting attacks or after it has finished fighting,
including making any consolidation moves):’"

I would say that to 'completely resolve' the shooting action, the embarked unit needs to disembark from the transport, take casualties from disembarking, etc.
Made in ca
Kabalite Conscript

A good take on it and I thought of that too. However in the rulebook in the shooting phase there is a resolve attacks section and the last step of completely resolving an attack is to inflict damage. The last step of fighting is to consolidate whether you destroyed the enemy unit or not.

You completely resolve the shooting attack when the unit is destroyed. Then after the unit is destroyed, you immediately disembark and you immediately take a soulburst action.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/10/14 12:50:18


//Just give them the push while I kickstart 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: