Switch Theme:

[0] - Teleporting balewind vortex question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Malicious Mutant Scum





Aboard Terminus Est.

Hey guys, getting back into AoS, hadn't encountered this before.

Can a model on a balewind vortex teleport? As an example, if I use the seraphon ability "Lords of Space and Time" and teleport a model on a balewind vortex, what happens? Where do I go? Can I tp off it?


Thanks

No- it's your turn to die. 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Aspiring Champion of Chaos






Teleporting is a form of movement, so no. The model would have to dismiss the Vortex before teleporting and then summon it again.

2750 Unliving Legion of the Zarith Dynasty
840 Imperial Knights of House Janis
2000 Khorne Bloodbound of the Skullfiend Tribe (Aqshy)
2000 Tzeentch Arcanites of the Cult of Searing Light (Hysh)
3000 Slaves to Darkness of the Legion of Rusted Chains (Allpoints/Azyr)
2500 Sylvaneth of the Seelie Court (Ghyran)
 
   
Made in pl
Been Around the Block






The Vortex will be left empty. You do not have to dispell it. It can be used to blok enemy movement that way.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/12/28 09:15:00


 
   
Made in gb
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan





Fareham

You can't leave the vortex empty atall.
For the wizard to leave it, he MUST banish it first.

Sadly, the only way to move is as said.
Banish the vortex then move, summoning it again later.

   
Made in pl
Been Around the Block







A wizard can leave the Vortex without banishing it if he has special ability that does not count as a move i.e. Changehost battalion swap places rules.
BV albo stays in place (empty) when the wizard is killed.
   
Made in gb
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan





Fareham

It doesn't say in the movement phase or as a normal move etc.

The balewind rules simply state the wizard cannot move.
So, if he teleported, he moved.
He is not in the same place he was previously.

   
Made in pl
Been Around the Block






Only because teleporting (i.e. Seraphon teleport?) is counted as a move (written in description of special rule). Some action are not a move even if they displace the model to other location.
   
Made in us
Auspicious Aspiring Champion of Chaos






What are you basing that on, Xyxel? If model ends an action in a different place than it started, that model has moved.

2750 Unliving Legion of the Zarith Dynasty
840 Imperial Knights of House Janis
2000 Khorne Bloodbound of the Skullfiend Tribe (Aqshy)
2000 Tzeentch Arcanites of the Cult of Searing Light (Hysh)
3000 Slaves to Darkness of the Legion of Rusted Chains (Allpoints/Azyr)
2500 Sylvaneth of the Seelie Court (Ghyran)
 
   
Made in gb
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan





Fareham

Doesn't matter if its a move in any phase.
Moving a model is moving a model.

Teleport, go into a form of reserves, walk etc.
If a model is told it cannot move, then nothing enables it to be in a different place.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/12/28 19:44:13


   
Made in pl
Been Around the Block






Moving a model physically in some case is not counted as a move. Most of the special rules (teleport, reinforcement, summons, etc) state that "This is counted as a move". But there are some which are not a move and a model is entitled to move normalny afer such special action.
Please check changehost battalion rules (link below) and try to deny : )
http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170302/f1a95e339a25a35081b538536fa23b3f.jpg
Using this "swap" rules you can remove the wizard from the Vortex without banishing it.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/12/29 10:33:35


 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Aspiring Champion of Chaos






We're fully aware of what rule you're trying to say doesn't count as a move. We're telling you you're mistaken. The rules you're referring to in your first sentence stated that the action counts as the unit's move for that phase. They are not saying "this is the only thing that counts as a move". If a model ends any action in a different position than the where it started the action, that model has moved. The Balewind Vortex' Held Aloft rules says "A Wizard atop a Balewind Vortex cannot move." It does not say it can't move in a specific phase, or in a specific way. It cannot move.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/12/29 14:48:42


2750 Unliving Legion of the Zarith Dynasty
840 Imperial Knights of House Janis
2000 Khorne Bloodbound of the Skullfiend Tribe (Aqshy)
2000 Tzeentch Arcanites of the Cult of Searing Light (Hysh)
3000 Slaves to Darkness of the Legion of Rusted Chains (Allpoints/Azyr)
2500 Sylvaneth of the Seelie Court (Ghyran)
 
   
Made in pl
Been Around the Block






"Moving" is described in rules. Special rules that swap/relocate/etc the model IF they are to be considered as a move are described as such. i.e. "the model cannot move after this action". If such actions are not described as a move or resulting as after a move they are not (surprise!) a move.

You are confusing "move" as a definition in rules with physically moving a model on the table top, which are not the same.
But of course You are free to play your games as you wish. Over and out.
   
Made in us
Auspicious Aspiring Champion of Chaos






This game must be so much easier to win if you disregard common sense.

2750 Unliving Legion of the Zarith Dynasty
840 Imperial Knights of House Janis
2000 Khorne Bloodbound of the Skullfiend Tribe (Aqshy)
2000 Tzeentch Arcanites of the Cult of Searing Light (Hysh)
3000 Slaves to Darkness of the Legion of Rusted Chains (Allpoints/Azyr)
2500 Sylvaneth of the Seelie Court (Ghyran)
 
   
Made in gb
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan





Fareham

We are not confusing anything.
We are using the definition of the word "move"

Phase, type of movement etc isn't important.
The model simply cannot move atall.

If it ends up elsewhere on the table, it has moved.

   
Made in pl
Been Around the Block






Yes, you are confusing. You can "relocate" unit on the battlefield without moving.
Such action/ability/rule is only called a "move" if it is specificaly said so. There, read this :

darmowy serwer www

This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2018/01/30 23:15:33


 
   
 
Forum Index » AoS Tactics, Army Lists & Rules Questions
Go to: