Switch Theme:

question about 25mm bases in the fight phase.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




So a friend and I have a question after reading the rules. The rule book says that models within an inch of the first row of models fighting can also fight. After measuring the bases of our infantry we realized they are not a full inch. This has lead us to believe that the third row are also technically within an inch if all 3 rows bases are touching. I understand its cheese but the rule book should be adjusted if this is not the intention because its very confusing for new players such as ourselves who only have the rule book to go off of. I dont think the rule means the second row must be fully within the inch of the first row because if it did it should specify (such as the orks force field.) Just wanted to get the opinion of more experienced players and maybe inform GW so they can change the current rule if the intent was only allowing the first two rows fight in combat.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Forgot to post the actual question. What is your take on what ive commented on above?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/12/23 20:35:20


 
   
Made in gb
Gargantuan Gargant





My "take" is to follow the rules. Since the bases are not a full inch, you can fit 3 "ranks" just fine. You can actually fit 4.

I made this using GIMP, making the bases 25mm and the Blue and Green bubbles 1". One Inch is 25.4mm

As you can see, both A and B are within 1 inch, which means that both C and D are within 1" of a model within 1".

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2017/12/23 21:11:42


Disclaimer: My YMDC answers are from a "What the rules, as written in the rulebook, actually say" perspective, not a "What I wish the rules said" perspective.
Because some people get their knickers in a twist, I'll list these RaW 'oddities' in my sig. Sadly GW's promise of fixing their broken rules has itself been broken. RaW you cannot advance and then fire assault weapons, you can't shoot pistols if within 1" of an enemy; "minimum" ranges don't work; Seraphim have to re-roll saves that "fail" pre-re-roll; the game simply breaks if you ever have more than one wounded model in a unit; the game also breaks if a single rule ever tries to do multiple things simultaneously; Khârn punches himself in the face if he's not near some meatshields; Librarians on Bikes are locked to the Index power list, Howling Banshees can't declare a charge further than 12"; Spore Mines have an infinite range; Shroudpsalm technically doesn't do anything, only enemy models, not friendly models, have permission to move on top of a Skyshield Landing Pad; T'au have access to stackable Ignore Wounds (albeit against Mortal Wounds only); the T'au Early Warning Override Support System only works if a unit is "teleporting to the battlefield", not just arriving mid-battle; you can only ever use the Deathwatch Teleportarium Stratagem "once", and then never again in any battle after you use it; if a model splits fire, each weapon must target a different unit; a Tyrant Guard with Lashwhip can absorb an infinite amount of damage via Shieldwall between the time they die and the time they fight; Chapter Tactics on Successor Chapters don't actually do anything; Codex Leman Russ's can take an infinite amount of Hunter-Killer Missiles, Storm Bolters and Heavy Stubbers; Imothekh's 'Lord of the Storm' ability hits the "target unit" twice; "Airborne" units can't be charged by non-FLY units, but can be Heroically Intervened into, piled into, or consolidated into just fine by non-FLY units; Wave Serpents cannot be legally charged at by any model with a standard base; and Slab Shields, along with the 'Take Cover!' stratagem no longer have any effect.
--- Mathhammer tables for 2D6 and 3D6 Charging with various re-roll abilities --- Stylus CSS theme for DakkaDakka forums to hide black avatar background and fully hide ignored users. --- 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




I only ask because it seems everyone I have met that plays thinks only the first two rows can fight. Some players have been playing for years and swear by it.
   
Made in es
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets




Vigo. Spain.

From 32mm upwards only two rows can fight. For 25mm, they can fight in 3 rows, or even 4 if you squeeze them between bases.

 Crimson Devil wrote:

Dakka does have White Knights and is also rather infamous for it's Black Knights. A new edition brings out the passionate and not all of them are good at expressing themselves in written form. There have been plenty of hysterical responses from both sides so far. So we descend into pointless bickering with neither side listening to each other. So posting here becomes more masturbation than conversation.

ERJAK wrote:
Forcing a 40k player to keep playing 7th is basically a hate crime.

 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Thanks for your input guys. I was pretty sure I was right but the model provided is proof even the most stubborn players were wrong.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/12/23 21:38:19


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Rccolaman wrote:
Thanks for your input guys. I was pretty sure I was right but the model provided is proof even the most stubborn players were wrong.


It sounds like they might just be assuming that all infantry bases are 1" across.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K Proposed Rules
Go to: