Switch Theme:

Mob Up! Questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Screamin' Stormboy





Okay so a couple of questions just to clarify and cement my thinking before I get into a game and use this.

1. If a unit joins a unit that is already in combat, is that new addition to the unit in combat as well? What about the inverse?

2. Does a modifyer that affects the small unit that joins the big one still affect the whole mob? Or does it get cancelled out because mob up essentially deletes the small unit and adds that many to the other unit?

3. If a unit that advanced mobs up with a unit that did not advance, does the whole big unit count as advancing or not? And what about the inverse?

Thank you in advance!

Check out my blog!
http://my40klife.blogspot.com

I've got modeling Skills!
http://www.Facebook.com/MrJ5829 
   
Made in gb
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought





Voidraven5829 wrote:
Okay so a couple of questions just to clarify and cement my thinking before I get into a game and use this.

1. If a unit joins a unit that is already in combat, is that new addition to the unit in combat as well? What about the inverse?

2. Does a modifyer that affects the small unit that joins the big one still affect the whole mob? Or does it get cancelled out because mob up essentially deletes the small unit and adds that many to the other unit?

3. If a unit that advanced mobs up with a unit that did not advance, does the whole big unit count as advancing or not? And what about the inverse?

Thank you in advance!
1. There is no such thing as being "in combat" anymore, only within 1" and not within 1". If you combine the units and any model is within 1" of an enemy, the whole unit counts as being within 1" and is treated as such.

2. Can you give an example? If it's some sort of ongoing effect then the modifier will vanish because the small unit is no longer around. Re-read the stratagem, one unit isn't "deleted" and one kept, they both get deleted and become an entirely new unit.

3. Same reasoning as number 2, the two units that used to exist no longer do, they don't carry any "flags" with them to the new unit.

I fully expect GW to issue some sort of errata or special snowflake FAQ, especially regarding the advancing thing as it could lead to far too many shenanigans.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/12/28 19:29:47


   
Made in us
Screamin' Stormboy





 BaconCatBug wrote:
Voidraven5829 wrote:
Okay so a couple of questions just to clarify and cement my thinking before I get into a game and use this.

1. If a unit joins a unit that is already in combat, is that new addition to the unit in combat as well? What about the inverse?

2. Does a modifyer that affects the small unit that joins the big one still affect the whole mob? Or does it get cancelled out because mob up essentially deletes the small unit and adds that many to the other unit?

3. If a unit that advanced mobs up with a unit that did not advance, does the whole big unit count as advancing or not? And what about the inverse?

Thank you in advance!
1. There is no such thing as being "in combat" anymore, only within 1" and not within 1". If you combine the units and any model is within 1" of an enemy, the whole unit counts as being within 1" and is treated as such.

2. Can you give an example? If it's some sort of ongoing effect then the modifier will vanish because the small unit is no longer around. Re-read the stratagem, one unit isn't "deleted" and one kept, they both get deleted and become an entirely new unit.

3. Same reasoning as number 2, the two units that used to exist no longer do, they don't carry any "flags" with them to the new unit.

I fully expect GW to issue some sort of errata or special snowflake FAQ, especially regarding the advancing thing as it could lead to far too many shenanigans.



Thank you very much! Just wanted to double check on everything.

Check out my blog!
http://my40klife.blogspot.com

I've got modeling Skills!
http://www.Facebook.com/MrJ5829 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






 BaconCatBug wrote:
Voidraven5829 wrote:
Okay so a couple of questions just to clarify and cement my thinking before I get into a game and use this.

1. If a unit joins a unit that is already in combat, is that new addition to the unit in combat as well? What about the inverse?

2. Does a modifyer that affects the small unit that joins the big one still affect the whole mob? Or does it get cancelled out because mob up essentially deletes the small unit and adds that many to the other unit?

3. If a unit that advanced mobs up with a unit that did not advance, does the whole big unit count as advancing or not? And what about the inverse?

Thank you in advance!
1. There is no such thing as being "in combat" anymore, only within 1" and not within 1". If you combine the units and any model is within 1" of an enemy, the whole unit counts as being within 1" and is treated as such.

2. Can you give an example? If it's some sort of ongoing effect then the modifier will vanish because the small unit is no longer around. Re-read the stratagem, one unit isn't "deleted" and one kept, they both get deleted and become an entirely new unit.

3. Same reasoning as number 2, the two units that used to exist no longer do, they don't carry any "flags" with them to the new unit.

I fully expect GW to issue some sort of errata or special snowflake FAQ, especially regarding the advancing thing as it could lead to far too many shenanigans.


Neither unit is "deleted".

The 2 Units Merge and become 1 unit.

Yes, we should hope for an FAQ; because The Merged unit is Either both or Neither. Meaning either any lasting effects or advancing may or may not apply to the resulting unit.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Hmm yeah that needs a FAQ.

If you were to cast doom or the horror on the unit it should remain in effect, not get deleted because they are holding hands.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in us
Sister Oh-So Repentia




Tacoma, WA, USA

Why? These are Orks and they have a magic of their own in numbers?

That being said, I would at least expect anything affecting the larger of th two units to remain in effect on the combined unit. Not so sure about the smaller unit being absorbed.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Yeah but currently theres nothing in the rules to distinguish between either unit.

In previous editions if your character joined a squad of boys the debuff's carried over to all of them.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in gb
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought





 alextroy wrote:
Why? These are Orks and they have a magic of their own in numbers?
They literally do have magic in numbers.

   
Made in us
Sister Oh-So Repentia




Tacoma, WA, USA

I actually didn't intend to put in that second question mark
   
Made in ca
Been Around the Block





HIWPI:

I'm already benefiting from the Mob Up! stratagem, so I would lean towards losing any buffs until a FAQ comes out. Same thing in regards to advancing, etc.

Interestingly, I've never had this come up while playing Imperial Guard and using the "Consolidate Squads" stratagem. In fact, I don't even recall any of my opponents questioning the unit's abilities after they consolidated.

For reference;


Mob Up: 2CP
Use this Stratagem at the end of your Movement phase. Select two ORK INFANTRY units from your army that are within 2" of each other that have the same datasheet (e.g. choose two Boyz units, or two Stormboyz units). If one of the units has 10 or more models, and the other has 10 or fewer, the two units merge and, for the rest of the battle, they are counted as a single unit for all rules purposes.



Consolidate Squads: 1CP
Use this Stratagem at the end of your Movement phase. Choose an Infantry Squad (pg 93) from your army that is within 2" of another of your Infantry Squads from the same <REGIMENT>. You can merge these squads into a single unit and they are treated as such for the rest of the battle.

   
Made in us
Screamin' Stormboy





I just saw another thing that should be cleared up in a FAQ: at least in the wording above, the two ork units dont need to be the same Klan just same datasheet so how would those interact if we ended up getting legitimate Klan rules, and mobbed two units with different Klans? Guess we'll jusy have to wait and see how it pans out.

Check out my blog!
http://my40klife.blogspot.com

I've got modeling Skills!
http://www.Facebook.com/MrJ5829 
   
Made in us
Major General





Florence, KY

From page 88 of Chapter Approved:

This section is therefore designed to give these patient players a set of rules to use in the interim until the codex for their Faction is released.

Once the codex is released, you don't use the rules in Chapter Approved.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut






Huh. Seems a bit unfair Guard pay half as many CP as Orks for basically the same thing.
   
Made in us
Stabbin' Skarboy





Georgia

 Nazrak wrote:
Huh. Seems a bit unfair Guard pay half as many CP as Orks for basically the same thing.


Welcome to orks, where other armies pay half as much for everything we have but better.

"The undead ogre believes the sack of pies is your parrot, and proceeds to eat them. The pies explode, and so does his head. The way is clear." - Me, DMing what was supposed to be a serious Pathfinder campaign.

6000 - Death Skulls, Painted
1850 - Admech/Skitarii, Painted 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: