Switch Theme:

Necron Catacomb Command Barge and Enduring Will warlord trait  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in fi
Freaky Flayed One





How does the Enduring Will warlord trait work with Quantum Shielding on the Catacomb Command Barge?

Enduring Will:
"Reduce any damage inflicted on your Warlord by 1 (to a minimum of 1).
For example, if your Warlord fails a saving throw against a weapon that inflicts 3 damage, they will only loose 2 wounds."

Quantum Shielding:
"Each time this model suffers damage from an unsaved wound, roll a D6.
If the result is less than the damage inflicted by the attack, the damage is ignored (e.g. if this model suffers 4 damage, if you then roll a 3 or less the damage is ignored)."

Which of these rules are applied first?
As i interpret it the damage is reduced first and then you roll for Quantum Shielding.
This makes the warlord trait have less effect on the CCB .

GW, FAQ por favor.
   
Made in us
Huge Hierodule






Well, first, if 2 effects take place at the same time then the player whos turn it is gets to choose which effects resolve in what order.

But thats irrelevant in this case.

Enduring Will reduces the damage as/before it's applied.

Quantum Shielding kicks in after.

Quantum Shielding is essentially a super FNP.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/12/29 14:09:30


   
Made in fi
Freaky Flayed One





A reddit user answered like this and it sounds reasonable:
"Since the warlord trait reduces damage by 1, it would only trigger if any damage was suffered at all - meaning after the quantum shielding roll."

However it's still not clear how it should be handled so I quess you would need to discuss it with your opponent or tournament organizer.
   
Made in us
Huge Hierodule






Disagree. That reddit user seems to not be able to read. You cannot roll for quantum shielding until after the damage has been applied.

   
Made in fi
Freaky Flayed One





Yeah, I guess so... *kicking gravel*

Answer on GW community page:
https://www.facebook.com/permalink.php?story_fbid=1933394110314552&id=1575682476085719

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/12/29 14:21:25


 
   
Made in us
Major General





Florence, KY

 Cmdr_Sune wrote:
Yeah, I guess so... *kicking gravel*

Answer on GW community page:
https://www.facebook.com/permalink.php?story_fbid=1933394110314552&id=1575682476085719

And their answer is {as usual)

Warhammer 40,000 wrote:As always though, we're not the rules writers so this isn't an official answer, and we'll pass it on up to them.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Huge Hierodule






YUP Facebook doesn't mean gak.

   
Made in us
Major General





Florence, KY

 Lance845 wrote:
YUP Facebook doesn't mean gak.

It's good for what it was meant for (Interacting with the consumers and giving the consumers a place to interact with each other online). Answering rules is not what it's meant for as GW themselves have stated. For rules, GW has THIS.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Sister Oh-So Repentia




Tacoma, WA, USA

The Facebook post has marginally more authority than we do, but what do you think of the reasoning given the the helpful player?

Chris Duncan: Hi, this would be my understanding and two credits - including the logic behind it.

The 'Enduring Will' Trait in Chapter Approved states "Reduce any damage inflicted on your Warlord by 1....." Whereas, the 'Quantum Shielding' ability only triggers once the unit "suffers" damage from a wound* i.e. after any random amounts of damage have been determined and or modified by various abilities, like 'Enduring Will'

"Each time this model SUFFERS damage from an unsaved wound, roll a D6. If the result is less than the damage inflicted by the attack, the damage is ignored..."
Command Barge Datasheet, pg93 Index Xenos 1.

So continuing your example involving a Lascannon, the order of operation, when shoot it, would be:
1) Roll-to-hit
2) Roll-to-wound
3) Allocate Wound
4) Roll save, if possible
5) Determine damage a unit suffers e.g. Lascannon does D6 damage and gets a 4. At this point the 'Eternal Will' trait triggers and reduces the damage by 1. The resultant damage now suffered is reduced to 3.
6) The 'Quantum Shielding' ability now triggers. If the Necron player rolls a 1 or 2 the damage is ignored. If the roll is 3,4,5 or 6 the damage suffered is not ignored and the unit is reduced by 3 wounds.

Hope that helps
   
Made in us
Implaccable Grey Knight Paladin




That's how I played it when it came up in a game a couple of weeks ago. Even used the same logic chain.
   
Made in no
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





Suffering damage, and having damage inflicted, is there really crystal clear what comes before the other?

Are there similar phrases used for similarly timed rules?

Shiny 40k 8th tool with colors: dice-hammer.com 
   
Made in gb
Freaky Flayed One




I think it makes sense to say that given we roll QS after determining the results of Damage (I.e., any d3 or d6 results and after any bonuses) it makes sense that we would have to roll QS after any detriments as well.

I wonder as to the implications this has on whether the Eldar save-reduction psychic power positively affects QS rolls...
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: