Switch Theme:

Plasma Cannon Devs rules question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Chillicothe, OH

So if I have a PC Dev and target it with the Signum plus pop the Cherub, it can get 2d3 shots and cannot overheat right? The mortal wound only looks at the final result of the die, not the roll itself?

My Painting Blog, UPDATED!

Armies in 8th:
Minotaurs: 1-0-0
Thousand Sons: 15-3

 
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran




I don't know the rules for all the individual equipment you're referencing there, but I do know how modifiers and plasmas work:

If your total modifier is positive, it is not possible for you to take mortal wounds from firing plasma. After modification is what matters, and it will be impossible to have a 1 after modification.

Note that this is a two way street though. If you end up with a -1 modifier (eg, you walk with your Plasma Cannon and don't have the bonuses), then a roll of 1 or 2 will become 1 after modification and so you'll have doubled your chance of over heating.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Chillicothe, OH

Stux wrote:
I don't know the rules for all the individual equipment you're referencing there, but I do know how modifiers and plasmas work:

If your total modifier is positive, it is not possible for you to take mortal wounds from firing plasma. After modification is what matters, and it will be impossible to have a 1 after modification.

Note that this is a two way street though. If you end up with a -1 modifier (eg, you walk with your Plasma Cannon and don't have the bonuses), then a roll of 1 or 2 will become 1 after modification and so you'll have doubled your chance of over heating.


Yeah, definitely dont want to move them. The Signum allows you to target one model within 3" and it gets +1 to hit. The Cherub allows one model to fire twice in this phase, then remove the Cherub. So in essence, I'm trying to get 2d3 super charged shots with +1 to hit and not lose my model to overheating.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/01/01 18:31:58


My Painting Blog, UPDATED!

Armies in 8th:
Minotaurs: 1-0-0
Thousand Sons: 15-3

 
   
Made in es
Furious Fire Dragon





 nintura wrote:
Stux wrote:
I don't know the rules for all the individual equipment you're referencing there, but I do know how modifiers and plasmas work:

If your total modifier is positive, it is not possible for you to take mortal wounds from firing plasma. After modification is what matters, and it will be impossible to have a 1 after modification.

Note that this is a two way street though. If you end up with a -1 modifier (eg, you walk with your Plasma Cannon and don't have the bonuses), then a roll of 1 or 2 will become 1 after modification and so you'll have doubled your chance of over heating.


Yeah, definitely dont want to move them. The Signum allows you to target one model within 3" and it gets +1 to hit. The Cherub allows one model to fire twice in this phase, then remove the Cherub. So in essence, I'm trying to get 2d3 super charged shots with +1 to hit and not lose my model to overheating.


Yep that would work, as long you don't fire at anything with neg bonuses like ravenguard tactics or Eldar alaitoc rules.
   
Made in gb
Gargantuan Gargant





Keep in mind a 1 will still miss, it just won't overheat.

Disclaimer: My YMDC answers are from a "What the rules, as written in the rulebook, actually say" perspective, not a "What I wish the rules said" perspective.
Because some people get their knickers in a twist, I'll list these RaW 'oddities' in my sig. Sadly GW's promise of fixing their broken rules has itself been broken. RaW you cannot advance and then fire assault weapons, you can't shoot pistols if within 1" of an enemy, "minimum" ranges don't work, Seraphim have to re-roll saves that "fail" pre-re-roll, the game simply breaks if you ever have more than one wounded model in a unit, the game also breaks if a single rule ever tries to do multiple things simultaneously, Khârn punches himself in the face if he's not near some meatshields, Librarians on Bikes are locked to the Index power list, Howling Banshees can't declare a charge further than 12", Spore Mines have an infinite range, Shroudpsalm technically doesn't do anything, only enemy models, not friendly models, have permission to move on top of a Skyshield Landing Pad, T'au have access to stackable Ignore Wounds (albeit against Mortal Wounds only), and T'au Early Warning Override Support System only works if a unit is "teleporting to the battlefield", not just arriving mid-battle, Genestealer Cults can no longer move after ambushing, you can only ever use the Deathwatch Teleportarium Stratagem "once", and then never again in any battle after you use it, single use weapons MUST be fired the first time a model shoots if they are in range and LOS, if a model splits fire, each weapon must target a different unit, the Agents of Vect stratagem can be used by ANY Drukhari army, not just one with a Kabal of the Black Heart detachment, a Tyrant Guard with Lashwhip can absorb an infinite amount of damage via Shieldwall between the time they die and the time they fight, Chapter Tactics on Successor Chapters don't actually do anything, Codex Leman Russ's can take an infinite amount of Hunter-Killer Missiles, Storm Bolters and Heavy Stubbers, and Imothekh's 'Lord of the Storm' ability hits the "target unit" twice.
--- Mathhammer tables for 2D6 and 3D6 Charging with various re-roll abilities --- Stylish CSS theme for DakkaDakka forums to hide black avatar background and fully hide ignored users. --- 
   
Made in us
Revving Ravenwing Biker





To add a bit of tactics, there are no rules that tell you the second shot must be on the same target. The rules for armorium cherub simply states as per RAW , "after a model in this unit has fired... and that model can immediately shoot again."

This means that the second shot from the same weapon isn't restricted by the relevant rules:
1. you must declare all of your targets before rolling any dice to hit - rule specifically allows to fire again AFTER the first round of shooting has been declared and resolved. So you are not restricted by your initial target declaration.
2. you may not split multiple shots from a single weapon to multiple targets - you are not splitting multiple shots from a single weapon. You are firing two instances of multiple shots, i.e. two rounds of [heavy 3] shots from a [heavy bolter] is not the same as firing one round of [heavy 6] shots from [twin heavy bolter].

So, you can choose to split fire the same weapon AFTER seeing the results of how many shots you've landed on your primary target with your first shot.

The best way to use cherub is NOT TO fast roll and instead roll two 1d6's separately, rather than rolling 2d6's at once against a single target and potentially overkilling your target.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/01/02 16:46:20


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: