Switch Theme:

Soulburst and other immediate effects  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
Author Message

Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.

Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User

Hey Dakka,

Had this issue come up the other day in a game and we could not determine a suitable outcome. Luckily we worked around it but its still interesting to discuss.

The situation is thus:
- a unit of ynnari bikers assault and kill the swarmlord, allowing them to now use a soulburst.
- at the same time, the tyranid player elects to use the "death frenzy" strategem, which states "when a character is slain they can immediately shoot or fight as per the respective phase before it is removed from the battlefield"
- as per the rules, the soulburst happens first as its the ynnaris players turn so his immediate effect rule is resolved first

The issues we had were all related to whether the swarmlord is still on the battlefield or not during the soulburst. If the soulbursting unit chooses to fight again, does the pile in and consolidate go towards the swarmlord? Is the swarmlord assumed to be removed, but then replaced in his same position for his attacks? Can the ynarri unit move into the spot the swarmlord was occupying?

As i said, we didn't really have a good understanding, but in the end i decided not to use the death frenzy strat on swarmlord and to just save the cp.

Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut

No your Ynnari doesnt occupied his space, he is getting another phase before he is removed, so he is still on the table.

15k+ 12k+ 5k :Harlequin: 4k

Reading/Writing LD, be kind!

Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut

Read the tyranid strat all the way.

It immediately shoots or fights as per the phase before it is removed

The Ynnari don't get a chance to do anything if he activates the stratagem.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
Made in gb
Waaagh! Ork Warboss

 Eihnlazer wrote:
Read the tyranid strat all the way.

It immediately shoots or fights as per the phase before it is removed

The Ynnari don't get a chance to do anything if he activates the stratagem.

They do because of the rules on sequencing, but he's still there bodyblocking them while they do it.

Disclaimer: My YMDC answers are from a "What the rules, as written (or modified by Special Snowflake FAQ) in the rulebooks, actually say" perspective, not a "What I wish the rules said" perspective. Even GW agrees with me, send an email to 40kfaq@gwplc.com for a confirmation reply "4. Apply The Rules As Written. If you still don’t have a satisfactory answer, use the rule just as it is written if you possibly can, even if you are not completely happy with the effect the rule has."
Because some people get their knickers in a twist, I'll list these RaW 'oddities' in my sig. Sadly GW's promise of fixing their broken rules has itself been broken. Zoom in to read them. RaW you cannot advance and then fire assault weapons, you can't shoot pistols if within 1" of an enemy; "minimum" ranges don't work; Seraphim have to re-roll saves that "fail" pre-re-roll; the game simply breaks if you ever have more than one wounded model in a unit; the game also breaks if a single rule ever tries to do multiple things simultaneously; Khârn punches himself in the face if he's not near some meatshields; Librarians on Bikes are locked to the Index power list, Howling Banshees can't declare a charge further than 12"; Spore Mines have an infinite range; Shroudpsalm technically doesn't do anything, only enemy models, not friendly models, have permission to move on top of a Skyshield Landing Pad; T'au have access to stackable Ignore Wounds (albeit against Mortal Wounds only); the T'au Early Warning Override Support System only works if a unit is "teleporting to the battlefield", not just arriving mid-battle; you can only ever use the Deathwatch Teleportarium Stratagem "once", and then never again in any battle after you use it; if a model splits fire, each weapon must target a different unit; a Tyrant Guard with Lashwhip can absorb an infinite amount of damage via Shieldwall between the time they die and the time they fight; Chapter Tactics on Successor Chapters don't actually do anything; Codex Leman Russ's can take an infinite amount of Hunter-Killer Missiles, Storm Bolters and Heavy Stubbers; Imothekh's 'Lord of the Storm' ability hits the "target unit" twice; "Airborne" units can't be charged by non-FLY units, but can be Heroically Intervened into, piled into, or consolidated into just fine by non-FLY units; Wave Serpents cannot be legally charged at by any model with a standard base; Slab Shields, along with the 'Take Cover!' stratagem no longer have any effect; and vehicles that are "slain" by a special effect do not trigger the "Explodes" ability.
--- Mathhammer tables for 2D6 and 3D6 Charging with various re-roll abilities --- Stylus CSS theme for DakkaDakka forums to hide black avatar background and fully hide ignored users. 
Made in us
Repentia Mistress

Tacoma, WA, USA

Page 76 – Strength from Death
Change the last sentence of the first paragraph to read: ‘That unit can immediately do one of the following, even if it has already done so in this turn (if the unit was destroyed as the result of a unit’s action – e.g. making a shooting attack or fighting – the Soulburst action is resolved after the unit has completely resolved its current action, e.g. after it has completed all of its shooting attacks or after it has finished fighting, including making any consolidation moves):’

Strength from Death doesn't happen until after the entire Fight sequence is completed. Per the wording noted above, the Tyranid Stratagem happens before the model is removed from the board, which would happen before the Consolidation step of the Fight sequence. It therefore happens before the ynnari unit can act on Strength from Death.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/01/02 05:02:28

Made in nz
Regular Dakkanaut

It seems that Strength from Death actually gives priority to other abilities that the enemy have to resolve if used.

in this case, the swarmlords stratagem would go first even though the enemy has priority due to the sequence of play because it's rule states to activate soul burst after all other enemy actions have been done.

What a very weird turn of events
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: