Switch Theme:

Newb trying to understand AP - Anything  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





Hello All, Apologies if this is in the wrong forum --- General seemed the place to be.

So right to the point. I'm a new player , 8th edition Death Guard. I'm learning the rules by playing through First Strike...but I need some help with resolving AP.

So just for fun I want to shoot 1 Intercessor Sergeant with a SV of 3+.

I will shoot at him with my plague crawler , Plagueburst Mortar which is a heavy d6 , S8 , AP -4 , D6

Let's assume I've hit and wounded...now the sergeant wants to make a savings throw against my AP -4 . (Is there a dice roll somewhere in this step?)

Does this mean add 4 to his 3 ...and now he has to make a Savings Throw of 7+ ....if this is true....then I'm guessing he automatically failed his SV.

Am i doing this right ? AP is a part of combat I'm struggling with obviously.

Nurgle's Blessings be upon you.
   
Made in us
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker





Modifiers apply to rolled dice, generally. So ap -4 modifies all armor save dice rolls, lowering the result by 4. Thus: a 6 becomes a 2, a 5 or less becomes 1. The intercessor has a save of 3+. Because the highest result he can achieve on a d6 with a -4 modifier is a 2, he will fail all armor saves with a -4 modifier. As a result, to save time, we don’t bother to roll the saves and move on, applying damage and resolving the remainder of the shooting sequence.

As I understand it.
Tl;dr: an ap -4 shot will punch right through 3+ armor saves.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





Follow up and thank you.

Does the D6 , mean 6 dice rolled...?

If all rolls are successfull...does the enemy make 6 sv throws (not taking into account any invulnerable saves for this example.)

Or in other words maybe .. do you roll a sv against every attempt to wound >> ?

Thanks!!
   
Made in us
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight




Don't forget that modifiers are added together so +'s and -'s get totaled for the die modifier.
In your example if the marine was in cover (+1 save) he would need to roll a "6" to avoid taking damage. He needs a 3+ base -4 AP +1 cover = 6+ roll needed to make his armor save.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





That help too , Leo_the_Rat.

In this example he's just standing alone out in the open ...against a plague crawler lol. So basically if I understand everything...this guy is dead because of AP -4 to his SV 3.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Central California

Not sure someone got your last question, if they did, pardon my duplicate, but I also have been playing my Death Guard so hope this helps with some of the complexity. That d6 at the end is for Damage. Damage is the number of wounds removed from a model AFTER they fail a save. So if you shot a Space Marine Captain with that weapon, and he failed his save (he gets no armor save but may have an invulnerable save which is not modified by AP) then you would roll a d6 and subtract that amount from his wounds characteristic. Most models have only 1 wound, although that Space Marine Intercessor might have 2 (I don't play them so am not sure). A model reaching 0 wounds is removed.
Now, because you mentioned Death Guard as your army, I feel I must also explain your Disgustingly Resilient ability is separate from armor saves, and is rolled against each point of DAMAGE, not each wound roll. So if I shot your DeathGuard Plague caster with a lascannon ( Strength 9, AP -4, Damage D6), let's assume I hit, and wound. Your armor save of 3+ is useless against AP -4 as explained above. I now roll a d6 for damage and get a 3. You get to make THREE disgustingly Resilient rolls ( one for each point of damage) Let's say you make one of the three. Your Plague caster takes only 2 off of his wound characteristic, and hopefully gets revenge on his next turn.

Hope it helps and hope you are enjoying the game and Nurgle's blessings. Deathguard are a slow army, but fairly tough to destroy.

Edward Myst
Long time gamer and creater of the free web comic
http://pawnsoffatecomic.weebly.com/

Check my older stuff out at:
http://edwardmystcreations.weebly.com/

Hey all, I'm a social media clutz...any nice people who like Pawns of Fate spread the word! 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





Thank you edwardmyst...the more info the better and it does help. I'm feeling pretty confident about Disgustingly Resilient but glad to recover it.

Personally I can't wait to use The Curse of the Poxwalkers , I think that's where an enemy that dies becomes a pox walker.

So in bare bones , " if I understand everything...this guy is dead because of AP -4 to his SV 3." Is this correct in the example of my mortar hitting the seargent ?

Thanks again
   
Made in nz
Blood Angel Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries



New Zealand

D6 refers to a 6 sided dice.

The Plague Mortar being heavy D6 means that you roll a 6 sided dice to see how many times you roll to hit. This means you could be shooting only 1 shot or 6 shots or any whole number in between.

If you roll a 6 for number of shots, each shot hits, and each shot wounds; then your opponent rolls 6 dice to see how many he saves. After each shot that hits, wounds, and fails its save, you apply damage.
For 1 wound models it is pointless just remove the model, but for characters, vehicles etc you roll the indicated dice one at a time - D6 from your example. You deduct that many wounds from the models wounds value. If it is higher or equal to the models wound value the model is removed. If not deduct the amount caused to the wounds value and a roll the next damage dice on that model. Repeat etc.

So basically yes, there is an attempt at asave after every successful wound roll.

Also it seems you are confusing the Plague Crawlers weapon options. The Plagueburst Mortar has an AP of -2 and does D3 damage.

D3 is a 6 sided dice where you divide the number by two; as there is no 3 sided dice. So 1 or 2 = 1; 3 or 4 = 2; 5 or 6 = 3.

If you don't have the core rules, you can get it on the GW site for free. Here is a link.
https://www.games-workshop.com/en-GB/Battle-Primer-2017-ENG

edit: Oops it looks like a missed a lot as I was typing this post.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/01/03 02:12:31


 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





Tygre wrote:
D6 refers to a 6 sided dice.

The Plague Mortar being heavy D6 means that you roll a 6 sided dice to see how many times you roll to hit. This means you could be shooting only 1 shot or 6 shots or any whole number in between.

If you roll a 6 for number of shots, each shot hits, and each shot wounds; then your opponent rolls 6 dice to see how many he saves. After each shot that hits, wounds, and fails its save, you apply damage.
For 1 wound models it is pointless just remove the model, but for characters, vehicles etc you roll the indicated dice one at a time - D6 from your example. You deduct that many wounds from the models wounds value. If it is higher or equal to the models wound value the model is removed. If not deduct the amount caused to the wounds value and a roll the next damage dice on that model. Repeat etc.

So basically yes, there is an attempt at asave after every successful wound roll.

Also it seems you are confusing the Plague Crawlers weapon options. The Plagueburst Mortar has an AP of -2 and does D3 damage.

D3 is a 6 sided dice where you divide the number by two; as there is no 3 sided dice. So 1 or 2 = 1; 3 or 4 = 2; 5 or 6 = 3.

If you don't have the core rules, you can get it on the GW site for free. Here is a link.
https://www.games-workshop.com/en-GB/Battle-Primer-2017-ENG

edit: Oops it looks like a missed a lot as I was typing this post.


This helps me a great deal, and yes I did mistake some numbers .... when I was looking at the stats I put D6 from the entropy canon , not D3. My bad. I do have the rules....working through the missions in First Strike , Youtube and here has helped a great deal. I basically just built the plague crawler and wanted to destroy something...correctly

Thanks a bunch,
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Central California

Sounds like you're getting the rules well. "Curse of the Walking Pox" can be the thing that wins a game in more than one way. First of all, more zombies the better, but also it can force an opponent to focus fire on them because of the danger and maybe ignore another unit that is moving in for the kill. Remember, Curse of the Walking Pox applies only to models killed by the poxwalkers, whereas the Command Point Strategy The Dead Walk Again applies to ALL infantry models killed within 7" of the poxwalkers (even your own guys but not poxwalkers themselves..) and lasts through your whole turn and the enemy's. So that turn your plaguelord and his uber close combat guys charge into the enemy and your zombies are close... ZOMBIE HORDE!! So keep some extra poxwalkers handy.
And sounds like your interested and having fun with this, remember that is always the point of 40k.

Edward Myst
Long time gamer and creater of the free web comic
http://pawnsoffatecomic.weebly.com/

Check my older stuff out at:
http://edwardmystcreations.weebly.com/

Hey all, I'm a social media clutz...any nice people who like Pawns of Fate spread the word! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K General Discussion
Go to: