Switch Theme:

6’s to hit  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Brain-Dead Zombie of Nurgle





I was watching a bat rep with SCE vs Maggotkin. The SCE player put on shiny armor(?) on a unit hat caused a -1 to hit. The Blightkings attacked that unit but couldn’t trigger their ability on a 6 for extra hits due to the -1 to hit. Is that correct? According to GHB2018, 2nd rule of one, a 6 always succeeds before modifiers are applied. So no matter what, a Blightking will always get to use their ability on a natural roll of 6 to my understanding.
   
Made in us
Major General






Florence, KY

The 2nd Rule of One: A roll of 1 to hit, wound, or save always fails. By the same token, a roll of 6 to hit or wound always succeeds. In both cases, this applies to the roll after any re-rolls have been taken, but before modifiers are applied.

So in this case if the Blightking rolled a '6', they would succeed in their attempt to hit the enemy. Immediately after this the dice roll is modified to a '5' and therefore their ability would not e triggered.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Hooded Inquisitorial Interrogator





 Ghaz wrote:
The 2nd Rule of One: A roll of 1 to hit, wound, or save always fails. By the same token, a roll of 6 to hit or wound always succeeds. In both cases, this applies to the roll after any re-rolls have been taken, but before modifiers are applied.

So in this case if the Blightking rolled a '6', they would succeed in their attempt to hit the enemy. Immediately after this the dice roll is modified to a '5' and therefore their ability would not e triggered.


That actually raises a question for me. Ironjawz warchanters have the ability to generate extra hits on a 6. They also have the ability to give a unit +1 to hit rolls. If he gives himself +1 to hit does he generate extra attacks on 5s and 6s or just 5s as 6s are now 7s?

Edit- Never mind found it. Been looking in the wrong FAQ!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/04/13 13:17:30


There is no such thing as a plea of innocence in my court. A plea of innocence is guilty of wasting my time. Guilty. - Lord Inquisitor Fyodor Karamazov

In an Imperium of a million worlds, what is the death of one world in the cause of purity?~Inquisition credo

He who allows the alien to live, shares its crime of existence. ~Inquisitor Apollyon
 
   
Made in us
Mutilatin' Mad Dok




Northern Virginia

The -1 and +1 would be applied at the same time and therefore "cancel each other out." In this situation, the warchanter would be able to generate extra hits on 6's. Had your Warchanter NOT been debuffed and gave himself +1 to hit, he would have generated extra attacks on 5s and 6s.
   
Made in us
Lesser Daemon of Chaos





I was just thinking about this for my Skullreapers today. I think one of the Slaughterpriest blessings gives a +1 to hit, and for a Chaos soup army there's Unpredictable Destruction and the Lord of War trait. Definitely gotta have some coffee before a game these days to keep myself thinking.
   
Made in us
Rotting Sorcerer of Nurgle






That +1 to hit can be cast multiple times and stacks too. I've seen bloodletters mortal wounding on a 3+.

"Putting a statement in quotations makes it seem more legitimate."
--Bette R. Withname

Imagine three people with the same set of values but radically different emotional states, each of them believes their position is more valid than the other two, they all post using the same account, and your job is to make it coherent. 
   
 
Forum Index » AoS Tactics, Army Lists & Rules Questions
Go to: