Switch Theme:

Boon of Change and Daemon Prince Loadouts  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Moldy Mushroom




When a Thousand Sons player triggers the boon table, and rolls a 12, they get to set up a Daemon Prince of Tzeentch. This doesn't cost reinforcement points in matched play, per the stratagem. That's all well and good.


But how do you decide its psychic powers and weapon loadout? Can it have wings? What about trading the sword for second talons? I can't seem to find a relevant ruling anywhere, maybe I'm just dense and missing it, and I don't want to use my intuition from previous editions, as that has been proven wrong time and time again.


My inclination is that its free game to pick two powers, and choose any weapon loadout, since they're all the same price. Do the wings costing extra affect their ability to be chosen? Am I missing a ruling or otherwise being needlessly confused? Any help here is appreciated.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






kimjappas wrote:
When a Thousand Sons player triggers the boon table, and rolls a 12, they get to set up a Daemon Prince of Tzeentch. This doesn't cost reinforcement points in matched play, per the stratagem. That's all well and good.


But how do you decide its psychic powers and weapon loadout? Can it have wings? What about trading the sword for second talons? I can't seem to find a relevant ruling anywhere, maybe I'm just dense and missing it, and I don't want to use my intuition from previous editions, as that has been proven wrong time and time again.


My inclination is that its free game to pick two powers, and choose any weapon loadout, since they're all the same price. Do the wings costing extra affect their ability to be chosen? Am I missing a ruling or otherwise being needlessly confused? Any help here is appreciated.
In short we don't have enough information to make a decision and both arguments have merit.

One argument is that you're adding it the same way as you're adding it to your army list pre-game, thus you can select powers and wargear and options.

The other is that you're just adding the default unit, which means no wargear or options, but you do get to pick psychic powers since those are NOT optional.

I sure am glad GW are releasing FAQs to cover all the situations that need them amirite?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/04/27 14:58:10


 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




And it has indeed been faqd

Csm faq

Q: If I roll a 12 on the Chaos Boon table, when adding a
Daemon Prince to my army, which Daemon Prince datasheet
should I use – the Daemon Prince or the Daemon Prince of
Chaos? In addition, what wargear options can it take?
A: Use the Daemon Prince datasheet from Codex: Chaos
Space Marines. The model can be equipped with any of
its normal wargear options, providing you have the right
model and it is built appropriately.

DFTT 
   
Made in us
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle





Kansas, United States

Captyn_Bob wrote:
And it has indeed been faqd

Csm faq

Q: If I roll a 12 on the Chaos Boon table, when adding a
Daemon Prince to my army, which Daemon Prince datasheet
should I use – the Daemon Prince or the Daemon Prince of
Chaos? In addition, what wargear options can it take?
A: Use the Daemon Prince datasheet from Codex: Chaos
Space Marines. The model can be equipped with any of
its normal wargear options, providing you have the right
model and it is built appropriately.


We can infer a potentially similar rule for Thousand Sons, but since that is the CSM codex FAQ, and not the TS codex FAQ, my understanding is that it does not automatically apply to the TS Daemon Prince.

In short, That's HIWPI, but not necessarily RAW.

Death Guard - "The Rotmongers"
Chaos Space Marines - "The Sin-Eaters"
Dark Angels - "Nemeses Errant"
Deathwatch 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






That's a Codex Heretic Astartes Chaos Space Marines FAQ. While I would consider it fair to apply it to Codex Heretic Astartes Thousand Sons, you technically can't. It's a similar situation but not the same situation.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/04/27 15:42:36


 
   
Made in us
Moldy Mushroom




Thanks all! I'll take the Daemon FAQ for now, but yeah, not exactly right. Thanks!
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: