Switch Theme:

Beginning of Player Turn Strategem *UPDATE FROM GW*  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block




Can strategems that are used "At the beginning of the player turn" be used more than once? Does this count as a phase?

*UPDATE*

GW has replied on their community Facebook page they consider it an out of phase strategem. Take that as you will. I am still hoping for an email from their faq department.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/06/14 15:41:34


 
   
Made in de
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws





Germany

The core rules list the phases on the first or second page. Beginning or end of a players turn/battle round is outside of a phase. No limit how many times a stratagem can be played. BRB pg. 215 has two examples what counts as outside of phase.
   
Made in gb
Gargantuan Gargant





 p5freak wrote:
The core rules list the phases on the first or second page. Beginning or end of a players turn/battle round is outside of a phase. No limit how many times a stratagem can be played. BRB pg. 215 has two examples what counts as outside of phase.
And yet again I have to tell you this is incorrect.

The beginning of a players turn is the same as the beginning of the movement phase. You cannot use "At the start of your turn" stratagems more than once.

Disclaimer: My YMDC answers are from a "What the rules, as written in the rulebook, actually say" perspective, not a "What I wish the rules said" perspective.
Because some people get their knickers in a twist, I'll list these RaW 'oddities' in my sig. Sadly GW's promise of fixing their broken rules has itself been broken. RaW you cannot advance and then fire assault weapons, you can't shoot pistols if within 1" of an enemy, "minimum" ranges don't work, Seraphim have to re-roll saves that "fail" pre-re-roll, the game simply breaks if you ever have more than one wounded model in a unit, the game also breaks if a single rule ever tries to do multiple things simultaneously, Khârn punches himself in the face if he's not near some meatshields, Librarians on Bikes are locked to the Index power list, Howling Banshees can't declare a charge further than 12", Spore Mines have an infinite range, Shroudpsalm technically doesn't do anything, only enemy models, not friendly models, have permission to move on top of a Skyshield Landing Pad, T'au have access to stackable Ignore Wounds (albeit against Mortal Wounds only), and T'au Early Warning Override Support System only works if a unit is "teleporting to the battlefield", not just arriving mid-battle, Genestealer Cults can no longer move after ambushing, you can only ever use the Deathwatch Teleportarium Stratagem "once", and then never again in any battle after you use it, single use weapons MUST be fired the first time a model shoots if they are in range and LOS, if a model splits fire, each weapon must target a different unit, the Agents of Vect stratagem can be used by ANY Drukhari army, not just one with a Kabal of the Black Heart detachment, a Tyrant Guard with Lashwhip can absorb an infinite amount of damage via Shieldwall between the time they die and the time they fight, Chapter Tactics on Successor Chapters don't actually do anything, Codex Leman Russ's can take an infinite amount of Hunter-Killer Missiles, Storm Bolters and Heavy Stubbers, and Imothekh's 'Lord of the Storm' ability hits the "target unit" twice.
--- Mathhammer tables for 2D6 and 3D6 Charging with various re-roll abilities --- Stylish CSS theme for DakkaDakka forums to hide black avatar background and fully hide ignored users. --- 
   
Made in de
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws





Germany

 BaconCatBug wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
The core rules list the phases on the first or second page. Beginning or end of a players turn/battle round is outside of a phase. No limit how many times a stratagem can be played. BRB pg. 215 has two examples what counts as outside of phase.
And yet again I have to tell you this is incorrect.

The beginning of a players turn is the same as the beginning of the movement phase. You cannot use "At the start of your turn" stratagems more than once.


No, you are incorrect. The start of your turn is not the movement phase. There are stratagem and abilities happening at the start of your turn or any players turn. So there is something before the movement phase which is undefined by the rules. If it's undefined it's not a phase. Otherwise it would be the start of players turn phase. But There is no such thing.
   
Made in gb
Gargantuan Gargant





 p5freak wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
The core rules list the phases on the first or second page. Beginning or end of a players turn/battle round is outside of a phase. No limit how many times a stratagem can be played. BRB pg. 215 has two examples what counts as outside of phase.
And yet again I have to tell you this is incorrect.

The beginning of a players turn is the same as the beginning of the movement phase. You cannot use "At the start of your turn" stratagems more than once.


No, you are incorrect. The start of your turn is not the movement phase. There are stratagem and abilities happening at the start of your turn or any players turn. So there is something before the movement phase which is undefined by the rules. If it's undefined it's not a phase. Otherwise it would be the start of players turn phase. But There is no such thing.
Read the rules, the start of the turn is the start of the movement phase.

Edit: Removed some stuff that offended JohnnyHell.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/06/13 15:28:46


Disclaimer: My YMDC answers are from a "What the rules, as written in the rulebook, actually say" perspective, not a "What I wish the rules said" perspective.
Because some people get their knickers in a twist, I'll list these RaW 'oddities' in my sig. Sadly GW's promise of fixing their broken rules has itself been broken. RaW you cannot advance and then fire assault weapons, you can't shoot pistols if within 1" of an enemy, "minimum" ranges don't work, Seraphim have to re-roll saves that "fail" pre-re-roll, the game simply breaks if you ever have more than one wounded model in a unit, the game also breaks if a single rule ever tries to do multiple things simultaneously, Khârn punches himself in the face if he's not near some meatshields, Librarians on Bikes are locked to the Index power list, Howling Banshees can't declare a charge further than 12", Spore Mines have an infinite range, Shroudpsalm technically doesn't do anything, only enemy models, not friendly models, have permission to move on top of a Skyshield Landing Pad, T'au have access to stackable Ignore Wounds (albeit against Mortal Wounds only), and T'au Early Warning Override Support System only works if a unit is "teleporting to the battlefield", not just arriving mid-battle, Genestealer Cults can no longer move after ambushing, you can only ever use the Deathwatch Teleportarium Stratagem "once", and then never again in any battle after you use it, single use weapons MUST be fired the first time a model shoots if they are in range and LOS, if a model splits fire, each weapon must target a different unit, the Agents of Vect stratagem can be used by ANY Drukhari army, not just one with a Kabal of the Black Heart detachment, a Tyrant Guard with Lashwhip can absorb an infinite amount of damage via Shieldwall between the time they die and the time they fight, Chapter Tactics on Successor Chapters don't actually do anything, Codex Leman Russ's can take an infinite amount of Hunter-Killer Missiles, Storm Bolters and Heavy Stubbers, and Imothekh's 'Lord of the Storm' ability hits the "target unit" twice.
--- Mathhammer tables for 2D6 and 3D6 Charging with various re-roll abilities --- Stylish CSS theme for DakkaDakka forums to hide black avatar background and fully hide ignored users. --- 
   
Made in se
Hungry Little Ripper





I'd say BCB is wrong in this one. A stratagem that says it's used "at the start of your turn" would have to be used before a stratagem that says "at the start of your movement phase" since your turn must begin before your movement phase can begin. The stratagem would therefore be used before the movement phase, which means that it is an out-of-phase stratagem and can therefore be used more than once. I can't find anything in the rules that supports BCB's claim that the start of your turn = the start of your movement phase.
   
Made in gb
Gargantuan Gargant





 Nighttail wrote:
I'd say BCB is wrong in this one. A stratagem that says it's used "at the start of your turn" would have to be used before a stratagem that says "at the start of your movement phase" since your turn must begin before your movement phase can begin. The stratagem would therefore be used before the movement phase, which means that it is an out-of-phase stratagem and can therefore be used more than once. I can't find anything in the rules that supports BCB's claim that the start of your turn = the start of your movement phase.
The very first page of the core rules shows the turn structure.
Each turn consists of a series of phases, which must be resolved in order. The phases are as follows:
At no point does it say "There are also mythical spaces between phases."

Disclaimer: My YMDC answers are from a "What the rules, as written in the rulebook, actually say" perspective, not a "What I wish the rules said" perspective.
Because some people get their knickers in a twist, I'll list these RaW 'oddities' in my sig. Sadly GW's promise of fixing their broken rules has itself been broken. RaW you cannot advance and then fire assault weapons, you can't shoot pistols if within 1" of an enemy, "minimum" ranges don't work, Seraphim have to re-roll saves that "fail" pre-re-roll, the game simply breaks if you ever have more than one wounded model in a unit, the game also breaks if a single rule ever tries to do multiple things simultaneously, Khârn punches himself in the face if he's not near some meatshields, Librarians on Bikes are locked to the Index power list, Howling Banshees can't declare a charge further than 12", Spore Mines have an infinite range, Shroudpsalm technically doesn't do anything, only enemy models, not friendly models, have permission to move on top of a Skyshield Landing Pad, T'au have access to stackable Ignore Wounds (albeit against Mortal Wounds only), and T'au Early Warning Override Support System only works if a unit is "teleporting to the battlefield", not just arriving mid-battle, Genestealer Cults can no longer move after ambushing, you can only ever use the Deathwatch Teleportarium Stratagem "once", and then never again in any battle after you use it, single use weapons MUST be fired the first time a model shoots if they are in range and LOS, if a model splits fire, each weapon must target a different unit, the Agents of Vect stratagem can be used by ANY Drukhari army, not just one with a Kabal of the Black Heart detachment, a Tyrant Guard with Lashwhip can absorb an infinite amount of damage via Shieldwall between the time they die and the time they fight, Chapter Tactics on Successor Chapters don't actually do anything, Codex Leman Russ's can take an infinite amount of Hunter-Killer Missiles, Storm Bolters and Heavy Stubbers, and Imothekh's 'Lord of the Storm' ability hits the "target unit" twice.
--- Mathhammer tables for 2D6 and 3D6 Charging with various re-roll abilities --- Stylish CSS theme for DakkaDakka forums to hide black avatar background and fully hide ignored users. --- 
   
Made in de
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws





Germany

 BaconCatBug wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
The core rules list the phases on the first or second page. Beginning or end of a players turn/battle round is outside of a phase. No limit how many times a stratagem can be played. BRB pg. 215 has two examples what counts as outside of phase.
And yet again I have to tell you this is incorrect.

The beginning of a players turn is the same as the beginning of the movement phase. You cannot use "At the start of your turn" stratagems more than once.


No, you are incorrect. The start of your turn is not the movement phase. There are stratagem and abilities happening at the start of your turn or any players turn. So there is something before the movement phase which is undefined by the rules. If it's undefined it's not a phase. Otherwise it would be the start of players turn phase. But There is no such thing.
Read the rules, the start of the turn is the start of the movement phase.

I'll leave the thread here because I know some double standards will come into play. In short, p5freak is wrong and has a history of deliberately being wrong.



Citation please, where in the rules does it say that your turn begins with the movement phase ?
A history about being wrong can be said about you as well.
   
Made in gb
Gargantuan Gargant





 p5freak wrote:
Citation please, where in the rules does it say that your turn begins with the movement phase ?
Literally the first page of the Core rules.
Page 176 BRB wrote:Each turn consists of a series of phases, which must be resolved in order. The phases are as follows:

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/06/13 11:17:57


Disclaimer: My YMDC answers are from a "What the rules, as written in the rulebook, actually say" perspective, not a "What I wish the rules said" perspective.
Because some people get their knickers in a twist, I'll list these RaW 'oddities' in my sig. Sadly GW's promise of fixing their broken rules has itself been broken. RaW you cannot advance and then fire assault weapons, you can't shoot pistols if within 1" of an enemy, "minimum" ranges don't work, Seraphim have to re-roll saves that "fail" pre-re-roll, the game simply breaks if you ever have more than one wounded model in a unit, the game also breaks if a single rule ever tries to do multiple things simultaneously, Khârn punches himself in the face if he's not near some meatshields, Librarians on Bikes are locked to the Index power list, Howling Banshees can't declare a charge further than 12", Spore Mines have an infinite range, Shroudpsalm technically doesn't do anything, only enemy models, not friendly models, have permission to move on top of a Skyshield Landing Pad, T'au have access to stackable Ignore Wounds (albeit against Mortal Wounds only), and T'au Early Warning Override Support System only works if a unit is "teleporting to the battlefield", not just arriving mid-battle, Genestealer Cults can no longer move after ambushing, you can only ever use the Deathwatch Teleportarium Stratagem "once", and then never again in any battle after you use it, single use weapons MUST be fired the first time a model shoots if they are in range and LOS, if a model splits fire, each weapon must target a different unit, the Agents of Vect stratagem can be used by ANY Drukhari army, not just one with a Kabal of the Black Heart detachment, a Tyrant Guard with Lashwhip can absorb an infinite amount of damage via Shieldwall between the time they die and the time they fight, Chapter Tactics on Successor Chapters don't actually do anything, Codex Leman Russ's can take an infinite amount of Hunter-Killer Missiles, Storm Bolters and Heavy Stubbers, and Imothekh's 'Lord of the Storm' ability hits the "target unit" twice.
--- Mathhammer tables for 2D6 and 3D6 Charging with various re-roll abilities --- Stylish CSS theme for DakkaDakka forums to hide black avatar background and fully hide ignored users. --- 
   
Made in de
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws





Germany

 BaconCatBug wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
Citation please, where in the rules does it say that your turn begins with the movement phase ?
Literally the first page of the Core rules.
Page 176 BRB wrote:Each turn consists of a series of phases, which must be resolved in order. The phases are as follows:


That doesn't mean that your turn starts with the movement phase.
   
Made in gb
Gargantuan Gargant





 p5freak wrote:
That doesn't mean that your turn starts with the movement phase.
It quite literally does. Your turn consists of phases. It does not consist of magical instances of non-phases between phases.

Disclaimer: My YMDC answers are from a "What the rules, as written in the rulebook, actually say" perspective, not a "What I wish the rules said" perspective.
Because some people get their knickers in a twist, I'll list these RaW 'oddities' in my sig. Sadly GW's promise of fixing their broken rules has itself been broken. RaW you cannot advance and then fire assault weapons, you can't shoot pistols if within 1" of an enemy, "minimum" ranges don't work, Seraphim have to re-roll saves that "fail" pre-re-roll, the game simply breaks if you ever have more than one wounded model in a unit, the game also breaks if a single rule ever tries to do multiple things simultaneously, Khârn punches himself in the face if he's not near some meatshields, Librarians on Bikes are locked to the Index power list, Howling Banshees can't declare a charge further than 12", Spore Mines have an infinite range, Shroudpsalm technically doesn't do anything, only enemy models, not friendly models, have permission to move on top of a Skyshield Landing Pad, T'au have access to stackable Ignore Wounds (albeit against Mortal Wounds only), and T'au Early Warning Override Support System only works if a unit is "teleporting to the battlefield", not just arriving mid-battle, Genestealer Cults can no longer move after ambushing, you can only ever use the Deathwatch Teleportarium Stratagem "once", and then never again in any battle after you use it, single use weapons MUST be fired the first time a model shoots if they are in range and LOS, if a model splits fire, each weapon must target a different unit, the Agents of Vect stratagem can be used by ANY Drukhari army, not just one with a Kabal of the Black Heart detachment, a Tyrant Guard with Lashwhip can absorb an infinite amount of damage via Shieldwall between the time they die and the time they fight, Chapter Tactics on Successor Chapters don't actually do anything, Codex Leman Russ's can take an infinite amount of Hunter-Killer Missiles, Storm Bolters and Heavy Stubbers, and Imothekh's 'Lord of the Storm' ability hits the "target unit" twice.
--- Mathhammer tables for 2D6 and 3D6 Charging with various re-roll abilities --- Stylish CSS theme for DakkaDakka forums to hide black avatar background and fully hide ignored users. --- 
   
Made in se
Hungry Little Ripper





Let us not ignore
Page 215 BRB wrote: The same Stratagem cannot be used by the same player more than once during any single phase. This does not affect Stratagems that are not used during a phase, such as those used ‘before the battle begins’ or ‘at the end of a battle round’.

and
Page 176 BRB wrote:During each battle round, both players have a turn.


So a battle round consists of two turns. There is no "magical space" between each battle round, nor between the start of the battle round and start of the first player's turn. Therefore, the start of a battle round is the start of a player turn, and the end of a battle round is the end of a player turn. By the definition that "the start of your turn" = "the start of your movement phase", you'd also need the definition that "the end of your turn" = "the end of your morale phase". This would also mean that the end of the second players morale phase = the end of the battle round. By this definition, the end of the battle round = morale phase, and no stratagem can be used more than once. However, the BRB clearly gives permission to use stratagems more than once during the end of the battle round, which is the end of the player turn. One would also therefore apply the logic that "start of the battle round" would have permission to use a stratagem more than once, and since "the start of the battle round" = "the start of your turn" (if you're player one), you'd be able to use a stratagem more than once.
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




If the beginning of the player turn=the movement phase, why wouldn't they phrase it "at the beginning of any movement phase"?
   
Made in de
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws





Germany

 BaconCatBug wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
That doesn't mean that your turn starts with the movement phase.
It quite literally does. Your turn consists of phases. It does not consist of magical instances of non-phases between phases.


If your turn is only the 5 phases, how come that the BRB pg. 215 gives explicit examples what is outside of a phase ?? The two examples given are "before the battle begins" and "at the end of a battle round". According to you thats not possible, because there are only the 5 phases, and nothing else.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Riggs wrote:
If the beginning of the player turn=the movement phase, why wouldn't they phrase it "at the beginning of any movement phase"?


Because its not true. There is something called the start of your turn, before the movement phase, and after the morale phase, which is the end of your turn.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Nighttail wrote:

So a battle round consists of two turns. There is no "magical space" between each battle round, nor between the start of the battle round and start of the first player's turn. Therefore, the start of a battle round is the start of a player turn, and the end of a battle round is the end of a player turn. By the definition that "the start of your turn" = "the start of your movement phase", you'd also need the definition that "the end of your turn" = "the end of your morale phase". This would also mean that the end of the second players morale phase = the end of the battle round. By this definition, the end of the battle round = morale phase, and no stratagem can be used more than once. However, the BRB clearly gives permission to use stratagems more than once during the end of the battle round, which is the end of the player turn. One would also therefore apply the logic that "start of the battle round" would have permission to use a stratagem more than once, and since "the start of the battle round" = "the start of your turn" (if you're player one), you'd be able to use a stratagem more than once.


Agreed.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/06/13 13:53:12


 
   
Made in gb
Gargantuan Gargant





Riggs wrote:
If the beginning of the player turn=the movement phase, why wouldn't they phrase it "at the beginning of any movement phase"?
Because they are the same thing, so it doesn't matter which one you call it?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Nighttail wrote:
Let us not ignore
Page 215 BRB wrote: The same Stratagem cannot be used by the same player more than once during any single phase. This does not affect Stratagems that are not used during a phase, such as those used ‘before the battle begins’ or ‘at the end of a battle round’.

and
Page 176 BRB wrote:During each battle round, both players have a turn.


So a battle round consists of two turns. There is no "magical space" between each battle round, nor between the start of the battle round and start of the first player's turn. Therefore, the start of a battle round is the start of a player turn, and the end of a battle round is the end of a player turn. By the definition that "the start of your turn" = "the start of your movement phase", you'd also need the definition that "the end of your turn" = "the end of your morale phase". This would also mean that the end of the second players morale phase = the end of the battle round. By this definition, the end of the battle round = morale phase, and no stratagem can be used more than once. However, the BRB clearly gives permission to use stratagems more than once during the end of the battle round, which is the end of the player turn. One would also therefore apply the logic that "start of the battle round" would have permission to use a stratagem more than once, and since "the start of the battle round" = "the start of your turn" (if you're player one), you'd be able to use a stratagem more than once.
The end of the battle round isn't the same as the start of the turn. The End of the Battle Round stratagems have an explicit exception, it doesn't apply to start of turn stratagems.

To go full RaI for a moment (yes, shocking I know), do you think it's intended for Imperial Guard to heal 16 wounds on a Baneblade in a single turn? I doubt it is, and coincidentally the rules don't allow it.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/06/13 13:59:14


Disclaimer: My YMDC answers are from a "What the rules, as written in the rulebook, actually say" perspective, not a "What I wish the rules said" perspective.
Because some people get their knickers in a twist, I'll list these RaW 'oddities' in my sig. Sadly GW's promise of fixing their broken rules has itself been broken. RaW you cannot advance and then fire assault weapons, you can't shoot pistols if within 1" of an enemy, "minimum" ranges don't work, Seraphim have to re-roll saves that "fail" pre-re-roll, the game simply breaks if you ever have more than one wounded model in a unit, the game also breaks if a single rule ever tries to do multiple things simultaneously, Khârn punches himself in the face if he's not near some meatshields, Librarians on Bikes are locked to the Index power list, Howling Banshees can't declare a charge further than 12", Spore Mines have an infinite range, Shroudpsalm technically doesn't do anything, only enemy models, not friendly models, have permission to move on top of a Skyshield Landing Pad, T'au have access to stackable Ignore Wounds (albeit against Mortal Wounds only), and T'au Early Warning Override Support System only works if a unit is "teleporting to the battlefield", not just arriving mid-battle, Genestealer Cults can no longer move after ambushing, you can only ever use the Deathwatch Teleportarium Stratagem "once", and then never again in any battle after you use it, single use weapons MUST be fired the first time a model shoots if they are in range and LOS, if a model splits fire, each weapon must target a different unit, the Agents of Vect stratagem can be used by ANY Drukhari army, not just one with a Kabal of the Black Heart detachment, a Tyrant Guard with Lashwhip can absorb an infinite amount of damage via Shieldwall between the time they die and the time they fight, Chapter Tactics on Successor Chapters don't actually do anything, Codex Leman Russ's can take an infinite amount of Hunter-Killer Missiles, Storm Bolters and Heavy Stubbers, and Imothekh's 'Lord of the Storm' ability hits the "target unit" twice.
--- Mathhammer tables for 2D6 and 3D6 Charging with various re-roll abilities --- Stylish CSS theme for DakkaDakka forums to hide black avatar background and fully hide ignored users. --- 
   
Made in de
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws





Germany

 BaconCatBug wrote:

To go full RaI for a moment (yes, shocking I know), do you think it's intended for Imperial Guard to heal 16 wounds on a Baneblade in a single turn? I doubt it is, and coincidentally the rules don't allow it.


Do you think its intended that a leman russ has no limit to the number of hunter killer missiles he can take ? Up to the total points limit, of course. Want a leman russ with 100 hk missiles ? Go ahead, its legal.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Start of turn is movement phase. The stratagems clearly show the examples of what is out of phase. Before battle, end of battle ROUND.. etc.. Start of turn is not one of those.
   
Made in gb
Gargantuan Gargant





 p5freak wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:

To go full RaI for a moment (yes, shocking I know), do you think it's intended for Imperial Guard to heal 16 wounds on a Baneblade in a single turn? I doubt it is, and coincidentally the rules don't allow it.


Do you think its intended that a leman russ has no limit to the number of hunter killer missiles he can take ? Up to the total points limit, of course. Want a leman russ with 100 hk missiles ? Go ahead, its legal.
The difference is the rules allow that.

Disclaimer: My YMDC answers are from a "What the rules, as written in the rulebook, actually say" perspective, not a "What I wish the rules said" perspective.
Because some people get their knickers in a twist, I'll list these RaW 'oddities' in my sig. Sadly GW's promise of fixing their broken rules has itself been broken. RaW you cannot advance and then fire assault weapons, you can't shoot pistols if within 1" of an enemy, "minimum" ranges don't work, Seraphim have to re-roll saves that "fail" pre-re-roll, the game simply breaks if you ever have more than one wounded model in a unit, the game also breaks if a single rule ever tries to do multiple things simultaneously, Khârn punches himself in the face if he's not near some meatshields, Librarians on Bikes are locked to the Index power list, Howling Banshees can't declare a charge further than 12", Spore Mines have an infinite range, Shroudpsalm technically doesn't do anything, only enemy models, not friendly models, have permission to move on top of a Skyshield Landing Pad, T'au have access to stackable Ignore Wounds (albeit against Mortal Wounds only), and T'au Early Warning Override Support System only works if a unit is "teleporting to the battlefield", not just arriving mid-battle, Genestealer Cults can no longer move after ambushing, you can only ever use the Deathwatch Teleportarium Stratagem "once", and then never again in any battle after you use it, single use weapons MUST be fired the first time a model shoots if they are in range and LOS, if a model splits fire, each weapon must target a different unit, the Agents of Vect stratagem can be used by ANY Drukhari army, not just one with a Kabal of the Black Heart detachment, a Tyrant Guard with Lashwhip can absorb an infinite amount of damage via Shieldwall between the time they die and the time they fight, Chapter Tactics on Successor Chapters don't actually do anything, Codex Leman Russ's can take an infinite amount of Hunter-Killer Missiles, Storm Bolters and Heavy Stubbers, and Imothekh's 'Lord of the Storm' ability hits the "target unit" twice.
--- Mathhammer tables for 2D6 and 3D6 Charging with various re-roll abilities --- Stylish CSS theme for DakkaDakka forums to hide black avatar background and fully hide ignored users. --- 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 p5freak wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:

To go full RaI for a moment (yes, shocking I know), do you think it's intended for Imperial Guard to heal 16 wounds on a Baneblade in a single turn? I doubt it is, and coincidentally the rules don't allow it.


Do you think its intended that a leman russ has no limit to the number of hunter killer missiles he can take ? Up to the total points limit, of course. Want a leman russ with 100 hk missiles ? Go ahead, its legal.


Of course, he'd have to fire them all off the first time he shoots.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
The end of the battle round isn't the same as the start of the turn. The End of the Battle Round stratagems have an explicit exception, it doesn't apply to start of turn stratagems.


More accurately, End of Battle Round is one example cited for an explicit exception for any stratagems played outside of a phase. That does not mean that anything not cited as an example has to be taking place during a phase..such as the start of a turn. The citing of the End of Battle Round ishowever, evidence that your statement about turns only consisting of phases is incorrect, as a battleround consists of each player's turn. If the End of Battle Round exists outside the phase structure, then other end of turn things would also exist outside the phase structure. If end of round/turn things exist outside the phase structure, then beginning of phase/turn things must equally exist outside the phase structure.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/06/13 15:06:31


 
   
Made in gb
Gargantuan Gargant





 doctortom wrote:
If end of round/turn things exist outside the phase structure, then beginning of phase/turn things must equally exist outside the phase structure.
You can't claim that, there is no basis to suggest that is true.

Disclaimer: My YMDC answers are from a "What the rules, as written in the rulebook, actually say" perspective, not a "What I wish the rules said" perspective.
Because some people get their knickers in a twist, I'll list these RaW 'oddities' in my sig. Sadly GW's promise of fixing their broken rules has itself been broken. RaW you cannot advance and then fire assault weapons, you can't shoot pistols if within 1" of an enemy, "minimum" ranges don't work, Seraphim have to re-roll saves that "fail" pre-re-roll, the game simply breaks if you ever have more than one wounded model in a unit, the game also breaks if a single rule ever tries to do multiple things simultaneously, Khârn punches himself in the face if he's not near some meatshields, Librarians on Bikes are locked to the Index power list, Howling Banshees can't declare a charge further than 12", Spore Mines have an infinite range, Shroudpsalm technically doesn't do anything, only enemy models, not friendly models, have permission to move on top of a Skyshield Landing Pad, T'au have access to stackable Ignore Wounds (albeit against Mortal Wounds only), and T'au Early Warning Override Support System only works if a unit is "teleporting to the battlefield", not just arriving mid-battle, Genestealer Cults can no longer move after ambushing, you can only ever use the Deathwatch Teleportarium Stratagem "once", and then never again in any battle after you use it, single use weapons MUST be fired the first time a model shoots if they are in range and LOS, if a model splits fire, each weapon must target a different unit, the Agents of Vect stratagem can be used by ANY Drukhari army, not just one with a Kabal of the Black Heart detachment, a Tyrant Guard with Lashwhip can absorb an infinite amount of damage via Shieldwall between the time they die and the time they fight, Chapter Tactics on Successor Chapters don't actually do anything, Codex Leman Russ's can take an infinite amount of Hunter-Killer Missiles, Storm Bolters and Heavy Stubbers, and Imothekh's 'Lord of the Storm' ability hits the "target unit" twice.
--- Mathhammer tables for 2D6 and 3D6 Charging with various re-roll abilities --- Stylish CSS theme for DakkaDakka forums to hide black avatar background and fully hide ignored users. --- 
   
Made in gb
Ancient Venerable Dark Angels Dreadnought






Sororitas Acts Of Faith disagree with you, but that was endless and tediously argued in another thread.

Saying you’re bowing out then flagrantly breaking rule 1 with a side of insulting the mods, then continuing to post further, is a questionable approach, btw...

I scratch-built a Macharius, Thunderbolt, Spartan, Land Raider and more! Have a peek at the build and my painting progress here: https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/90/513429.page

 jojo_monkey_boy wrote:
Why are you guys all so obviously falling for that guy's trolling?
He's just one random guy on the internet with an opinion that is laughably divorced from reality. Move along.

 
   
Made in de
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws





Germany

 BaconCatBug wrote:
 doctortom wrote:
If end of round/turn things exist outside the phase structure, then beginning of phase/turn things must equally exist outside the phase structure.
You can't claim that, there is no basis to suggest that is true.


Sure he can claim that. The two examples on pg. 215 of the BRB prove him right. If a turn would only be the 5 phases the two examples wouldnt be necessary.
   
Made in gb
Gargantuan Gargant





 p5freak wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
 doctortom wrote:
If end of round/turn things exist outside the phase structure, then beginning of phase/turn things must equally exist outside the phase structure.
You can't claim that, there is no basis to suggest that is true.
Sure he can claim that. The two examples on pg. 215 of the BRB prove him right. If a turn would only be the 5 phases the two examples wouldnt be necessary.
You mean the examples that aren't "the start of the turn"?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/06/13 15:46:46


Disclaimer: My YMDC answers are from a "What the rules, as written in the rulebook, actually say" perspective, not a "What I wish the rules said" perspective.
Because some people get their knickers in a twist, I'll list these RaW 'oddities' in my sig. Sadly GW's promise of fixing their broken rules has itself been broken. RaW you cannot advance and then fire assault weapons, you can't shoot pistols if within 1" of an enemy, "minimum" ranges don't work, Seraphim have to re-roll saves that "fail" pre-re-roll, the game simply breaks if you ever have more than one wounded model in a unit, the game also breaks if a single rule ever tries to do multiple things simultaneously, Khârn punches himself in the face if he's not near some meatshields, Librarians on Bikes are locked to the Index power list, Howling Banshees can't declare a charge further than 12", Spore Mines have an infinite range, Shroudpsalm technically doesn't do anything, only enemy models, not friendly models, have permission to move on top of a Skyshield Landing Pad, T'au have access to stackable Ignore Wounds (albeit against Mortal Wounds only), and T'au Early Warning Override Support System only works if a unit is "teleporting to the battlefield", not just arriving mid-battle, Genestealer Cults can no longer move after ambushing, you can only ever use the Deathwatch Teleportarium Stratagem "once", and then never again in any battle after you use it, single use weapons MUST be fired the first time a model shoots if they are in range and LOS, if a model splits fire, each weapon must target a different unit, the Agents of Vect stratagem can be used by ANY Drukhari army, not just one with a Kabal of the Black Heart detachment, a Tyrant Guard with Lashwhip can absorb an infinite amount of damage via Shieldwall between the time they die and the time they fight, Chapter Tactics on Successor Chapters don't actually do anything, Codex Leman Russ's can take an infinite amount of Hunter-Killer Missiles, Storm Bolters and Heavy Stubbers, and Imothekh's 'Lord of the Storm' ability hits the "target unit" twice.
--- Mathhammer tables for 2D6 and 3D6 Charging with various re-roll abilities --- Stylish CSS theme for DakkaDakka forums to hide black avatar background and fully hide ignored users. --- 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






Falls Church, VA

 BaconCatBug wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
 doctortom wrote:
If end of round/turn things exist outside the phase structure, then beginning of phase/turn things must equally exist outside the phase structure.
You can't claim that, there is no basis to suggest that is true.
Sure he can claim that. The two examples on pg. 215 of the BRB prove him right. If a turn would only be the 5 phases the two examples wouldnt be necessary.
You mean the examples that aren't "the start of the turn"?


You do realize that "an example of a thing happening" isn't an exhaustive list of any time that thing can happen?

And, in fact, the definition of the word "example" means that it cannot be an exhaustive list, and that interpreting it thusly is either disingenuous or willfully ignorant?

Some people say they know no fear. What they mean is that they have encountered and conquered it. I, on the other hand, truly know no fear. It is as alien to me as doubt, rage, or mercy.

2nd Concordian Independent Super Heavy Tank Armoured Regiment - 12,376 points
Order of the Luminous Beacon - 2087 points
Nevian Conclave of the Ordo Hereticus - 2002 points 
   
Made in no
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin





Yeah the term "such as" certainly invites generalization when interpreting the rule.

And the rule already establishes that there is indeed magic space at the end of a battle round, ie after one player's moral phase and another player's movement phase.

This certainly invites you to consider the option that there is also magic space at the end of a player's turn (otherwise, how is that end of a turn structurally any different from the end of a battle round - as far as generalizing from the existing rule goes.

Shiny 40k 8th tool with colors: dice-hammer.com 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Riggs wrote:
Can strategems that are used "At the beginning of the player turn" be used more than once? Does this count as a phase?


The start of a turn is implicitly not a phase , so stratagems can indeed be used multiple times.

DFTT 
   
Made in gb
Gargantuan Gargant





Captyn_Bob wrote:
Riggs wrote:
Can strategems that are used "At the beginning of the player turn" be used more than once? Does this count as a phase?


The start of a turn is implicitly not a phase , so stratagems can indeed be used multiple times.
The start of the turn is the start of the movement phase, so you're still using it inside a phase.

Disclaimer: My YMDC answers are from a "What the rules, as written in the rulebook, actually say" perspective, not a "What I wish the rules said" perspective.
Because some people get their knickers in a twist, I'll list these RaW 'oddities' in my sig. Sadly GW's promise of fixing their broken rules has itself been broken. RaW you cannot advance and then fire assault weapons, you can't shoot pistols if within 1" of an enemy, "minimum" ranges don't work, Seraphim have to re-roll saves that "fail" pre-re-roll, the game simply breaks if you ever have more than one wounded model in a unit, the game also breaks if a single rule ever tries to do multiple things simultaneously, Khârn punches himself in the face if he's not near some meatshields, Librarians on Bikes are locked to the Index power list, Howling Banshees can't declare a charge further than 12", Spore Mines have an infinite range, Shroudpsalm technically doesn't do anything, only enemy models, not friendly models, have permission to move on top of a Skyshield Landing Pad, T'au have access to stackable Ignore Wounds (albeit against Mortal Wounds only), and T'au Early Warning Override Support System only works if a unit is "teleporting to the battlefield", not just arriving mid-battle, Genestealer Cults can no longer move after ambushing, you can only ever use the Deathwatch Teleportarium Stratagem "once", and then never again in any battle after you use it, single use weapons MUST be fired the first time a model shoots if they are in range and LOS, if a model splits fire, each weapon must target a different unit, the Agents of Vect stratagem can be used by ANY Drukhari army, not just one with a Kabal of the Black Heart detachment, a Tyrant Guard with Lashwhip can absorb an infinite amount of damage via Shieldwall between the time they die and the time they fight, Chapter Tactics on Successor Chapters don't actually do anything, Codex Leman Russ's can take an infinite amount of Hunter-Killer Missiles, Storm Bolters and Heavy Stubbers, and Imothekh's 'Lord of the Storm' ability hits the "target unit" twice.
--- Mathhammer tables for 2D6 and 3D6 Charging with various re-roll abilities --- Stylish CSS theme for DakkaDakka forums to hide black avatar background and fully hide ignored users. --- 
   
Made in us
Cultist of Nurgle with Open Sores





Kansas, United States

 BaconCatBug wrote:
Captyn_Bob wrote:
Riggs wrote:
Can strategems that are used "At the beginning of the player turn" be used more than once? Does this count as a phase?


The start of a turn is implicitly not a phase , so stratagems can indeed be used multiple times.
The start of the turn is the start of the movement phase, so you're still using it inside a phase.


Much as I'd love to side with you, I think this time, neither side is right. I think we simply do not have enough information to tell. We have explicit confirmation that the end of the turn is its own special timing, and IMPLICIT suggestion that the beginning of the phase is the same, but not explicit confirmation of this. It's implied one way, but never stated. I think we'd need a clarification FAQ for this, and I recommend someone send that in to GW.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Yeah it's not airtight, but the implication is a lot stronger that its not a phase, as per end of turn.

DFTT 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




How do we send this to GW?
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: