Switch Theme:

Changing Warlords and Maelstrom Objectives?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Potent Possessed Daemonvessel





Why Aye Ya Canny Dakkanaughts!

Codex Tactical Objectives says:
If your army is led by a <FACTION KEYWORD> Warlord, these Tactical Objectives replace the Capture and Control Tactical Objectives in the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook.


How does this interact with abilities that allow you to change your Warlord such as 'Shoulder the Mantle'? Do you use the Tactical Objectives of your original Warlord's faction or do you switch Objectives as you switch Warlords?

Ghorros wrote:
The moral of the story: Don't park your Imperial Knight in a field of Gretchin carrying power tools.
 Marmatag wrote:
All the while, my opponent is furious, throwing his codex on the floor, trying to slash his wrists with safety scissors.
 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





RAW... Weirdly it looks like you're supposed to change!

There's no clause about it only being your Warlord at the beginning of the game. It just says if you are led by that Warlord then use them.

I feel this is not the intention of the rule though. For instance, no one plays that when your Warlord dies you stop using the faction objectives, which is another implication of the wording of the rule. You aren't led by a dead warlord after all!

Also, in practice if you use cards this is an absolute nightmare! So I think it's unlikely any event will play it this way. Contact the TO if you're playing a tournament.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






We had this discussion before. In short we have no idea because GW didn't write the rules properly.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: