Switch Theme:

Webway Strike Unit Set up  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Furious Fire Dragon




USA

When paying 3 CP to set up two units in the webway, would they be set up one at a time? Does the stratagem force/allow you to essentially "deploy" two units at the same time?

We mortals are but shadows and dust...
6k
:harlequin: 2k
2k
2k 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 mokoshkana wrote:
When paying 3 CP to set up two units in the webway, would they be set up one at a time? Does the stratagem force/allow you to essentially "deploy" two units at the same time?
You set them up at the same time. It's a similar situation to transports. Multiple units taking up one "drop" or deployment.

Example: I have 2 Tactical Squads, you have 2 Guardian Squads.
I deploy a Tactical Squad.
You deploy 2 Guardian Squads via the stratagem.
You have finished deploying first for the purposes of Mission Rules.
I deploy a Tactical Squad.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/07/23 21:07:45


 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




U.k

Do you mean when they deploy before the battle, as in in the webway, or when they arrive in the table, mid battle?
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

He means during deployment, via the Stratagem, and BCB has the right of it here.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




U.k

Cool. Do have it right that when they actually arrive they can be on different turns and things, but deploy is one “drop”. (Hate that term).
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Andykp wrote:
Cool. Do have it right that when they actually arrive they can be on different turns and things, but deploy is one “drop”. (Hate that term).


Yep!

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in gb
Emboldened Warlock




Widnes UK

I disagree with BCB's interpretation. The way I read it the stratagem just gives permission for the units to be set up in the webway during one of your normal deployments rather than actually setting them up as part of the stratagem.

I don't see any way of interpreting it where it would be 1 drop, either they would both be set up in the webway as part of a stratagem which doesn't say that you use it instead of a normal deployment making it take 0 drops or the drops aren't part of the stratagem in which case each unit would take up one of your normal drops.

Ulthwe: 7500 points 
   
Made in us
Omnipotent Necron Overlord






I am not sure it has been ruled on. I have always played it like it is 2 drops. Which I am going to do consecutively. So I have my opponents deploy 2 units because I am going to DS 2 units.

If we fail to anticipate the unforeseen or expect the unexpected in a universe of infinite possibilities, we may find ourselves at the mercy of anyone or anything that cannot be programmed, categorized or easily referenced.
- Fox Mulder 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Dallas area, TX

Ya know, it "condensing" 2 drops into 1 is probably the only reason for the Strat to jump up to 3CPs.
So you pay 1CP for 1 unit and 2 more CPs for a second unit that doesn't create another "drop"

So yeah, both units have to count as a single deployment, otherwise the Strat is clearly overcosted.

-

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/07/24 14:49:24


   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





I was really onboard with BCB and JohnnyHell here, but after looking into it, I think the correct way may actually be to do it one at a time. Here's an example of this kind of stratagem, from Warhammer Community:



According to this, the stratagem allows you to set up either 1 or 2 units in the webway instead of placing them on the battlefield. Now, this can be interpreted in one of 2 ways:

#1 - The Stratagem allows you to IMMEDIATELY set up those units.

#2 - The Stratagem allows the unit to be set up different when it is set up.

If we go with the first method, then there's no real timing restriction on this, so it would actually allow you to use this stratagem at any time. This could include while you are setting up another unit (effectively allowing you to set up 3 units at the same time). This would be using the "you can" verbiage as a requirement, which would require fulfilling the text immediately.

If we go with the second method, then it's giving two units a new option for setting up, but doesn't change the times that they are set up at. You could still use this stratagem at any time, choosing 1 or 2 unit as you do so, but would otherwise continue following the normal rules for setting units up. This would be using the "you can" verbiage as giving you an option, not a a requirement.

As such, when broken down like this, I think the answer is clearly option #2, which is the opposite of what I initially thought.

 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

There’s no way this allows counting 3 units as one drop when it states it allows 2 units to be set up in that way. That’s a misreading, whichever of your two options you think it counts as.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in gb
Emboldened Warlock




Widnes UK

 JohnnyHell wrote:
There’s no way this allows counting 3 units as one drop when it states it allows 2 units to be set up in that way. That’s a misreading, whichever of your two options you think it counts as.


It isn't setting up 3 units as 1 drop it is 1 normal drop and setting up 2 units for 0 drops using the stratagem because it doesn't replace a normal drop. *using that interpretation which I don't believe.*

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/07/24 15:48:39


Ulthwe: 7500 points 
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





 JohnnyHell wrote:
There’s no way this allows counting 3 units as one drop when it states it allows 2 units to be set up in that way. That’s a misreading, whichever of your two options you think it counts as.


Reread my post. I said I believe it is Option #2, which is the exact opposite one.

 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: