Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/08/08 18:27:28
Subject: Archon Overlord Ability and Transports
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Does this ability apply to the Archon if it is in a transport?
Re-roll hit rolls of 1 for friendly Kabal units that are within 6" of this model
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/08/08 18:28:13
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/08/08 18:33:50
Subject: Archon Overlord Ability and Transports
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
vindicare0412 wrote:Does this ability apply to the Archon if it is in a transport?
Re-roll hit rolls of 1 for friendly Kabal units that are within 6" of this model
BRB Page 183, "Transports" Boxout, Subtitle "Embark", Paragraph 2, Sentence 2 wrote:Unless specifically stated, abilities that affect other units within a certain range have no effect whilst the unit that has the ability is embarked.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/08/08 18:34:18
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/08/08 18:34:01
Subject: Re:Archon Overlord Ability and Transports
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
From 'Transports' page 183 of the main rulebook:
Embarked units cannot normally do anything or be affected in any way whilst they are embarked. Unless specifically stated, abilities that affect other units within a certain range have no effect whilst the unit that has the ability is embarked.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/08/08 18:38:07
Subject: Archon Overlord Ability and Transports
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
BaconCatBug wrote:vindicare0412 wrote:Does this ability apply to the Archon if it is in a transport?
Re-roll hit rolls of 1 for friendly Kabal units that are within 6" of this model
BRB Page 183, "Transports" Boxout, Subtitle "Embark", Paragraph 2, Sentence 2 wrote:Unless specifically stated, abilities that affect other units within a certain range have no effect whilst the unit that has the ability is embarked.
Sorry I should have been more specific. Does it apply to the Archon? I would argue that it would apply to only the Archon as he is not another unit. However its ambiguous enough to me to see it not working too.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/08/08 18:46:58
Subject: Archon Overlord Ability and Transports
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
vindicare0412 wrote: BaconCatBug wrote:vindicare0412 wrote:Does this ability apply to the Archon if it is in a transport? Re-roll hit rolls of 1 for friendly Kabal units that are within 6" of this model
BRB Page 183, "Transports" Boxout, Subtitle "Embark", Paragraph 2, Sentence 2 wrote:Unless specifically stated, abilities that affect other units within a certain range have no effect whilst the unit that has the ability is embarked.
Sorry I should have been more specific. Does it apply to the Archon? I would argue that it would apply to only the Archon as he is not another unit. However its ambiguous enough to me to see it not working too. BRB, Page 179, "Aura Abilities" sidebar, Paragraph 1, Sentence 2. The Overlord ability doesn't exclude the Archon, and he has the <KABAL> keyword, so it affects him. Of course this doesn't apply when embarked on a transport, due to the Transport rules stated previously.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/08/08 18:49:27
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/08/08 18:52:32
Subject: Archon Overlord Ability and Transports
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
It has no effect because the aura normally affects other units as well as itself, and them saying it has no effect shuts the ability down totally, not just for other units.
|
|
 |
 |
|