Switch Theme:

Can Ynnari take Eldar/Harlies/DE earlier traits?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




For example, if Yvraine is Warlord in a harlequin detachment, can she use player of the twilight Warlord trait?
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






marcman wrote:
For example, if Yvraine is Warlord in a harlequin detachment, can she use player of the twilight Warlord trait?
Yvraine can't use any of the warlord traits from the codexes, because Yvraine doesn't meet the definition required to be able to take one.

The latest errata allows for the detachment itself to remain a Harlequins/Craftworld/Drukhari, but Warlord traits care about the model, not the detachment.

Page 116 Codex: Craftworlds, Page 114 Codex: Drukhari and Page 68 Codex: Harlequins define what a Craftworlds/Drukhari/Harlequins unit is.

Page 121 Codex: Craftworlds and Page 124 Codex: Drukhari state that only a Craftworlds/Drukhari CHARACTER may take a Warlord Trait from the list.

Page 74 Codex: Harlequins is even more specific and requires that the model be a HARLEQUINS CHARACTER.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/08/11 01:33:18


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Well gak, what Warlord trait is typically given to Yvraine then?
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






marcman wrote:
Well gak, what Warlord trait is typically given to Yvraine then?
Currently the only Warlord Traits the Yvraine has access to are the ones in the BRB.
   
Made in fi
Courageous Space Marine Captain






Then again, the rule specifically lists warlord traits among the things the Ynnari Detachment can use from the parent codex, and only way to have an Ynnari detachment is have an Ynnari warlord... So this actually seems to me like an implicit permission to give them such traits.

   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Crimson wrote:
Then again, the rule specifically lists warlord traits among the things the Ynnari Detachment can use from the parent codex, and only way to have an Ynnari detachment is have an Ynnari warlord... So this actually seems to me like an implicit permission to give them such traits.
It lets you use the traits, it doesn't give permission to ignore the restrictions on who can use the traits.

It's sloppy writing but it is what it is.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: