Switch Theme:

Who can pile in and fight?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Can a unit that did not charge and was not charged this turn pile in and fight? How close do they need to be to the enemy to make a pile in? 1 inch? 3 inches?
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

If the unit you are asking about is within 1” of an enemy unit it can pile in, fight and consolidate.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






In the Fight Phase, a unit can be chosen to fight if it either charged, or is within 1" of an enemy unit at the time it is chosen. Once chosen a unit piles in, fights, and then consolidates.

A unit that did not charge and was not charged can still be selected as long as it is within 1" of an enemy. This is often the case for units that were not the target of the original assault, but were consolidated into by the victorious unit in a previous combat.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Quanar wrote:
In the Fight Phase, a unit can be chosen to fight if it either charged, or is within 1" of an enemy unit at the time it is chosen. Once chosen a unit piles in, fights, and then consolidates.

A unit that did not charge and was not charged can still be selected as long as it is within 1" of an enemy. This is often the case for units that were not the target of the original assault, but were consolidated into by the victorious unit in a previous combat.
This is indeed the correct answer. The rulebook is (for once) clear on who can and cannot be activated to fight.
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






Note that quite a few people mistakenly declare Heroic Intervention to be a consolidate move. Characters (and some other models with special rules/stratagems) can move 3" to get within 1" of an enemy at the end of the charge phase.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/09/03 13:30:42


7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: