Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/11/08 20:54:26
Subject: Evil Sunz +1 to Advanced Rolls
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Came up in a game last night. My opponent told me that the Deffkilla Wartrike does not get the +1 to his advance move because it does not roll and just adds 6".
Red Ones Go Fasta : ...Add 1 to advance and charge rolls made for them...
Fuel Mixa Grot: Once per battle, when this model advances add 6" to its move characteristic for that movement phase instead of rolling a dice.
Its only an inch but that can be huge in making first turn charges
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/11/08 20:54:55
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/11/08 20:57:39
Subject: Evil Sunz +1 to Advanced Rolls
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Seems correct.
You can not add to a roll if you do not roll.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/11/08 21:06:20
Subject: Re:Evil Sunz +1 to Advanced Rolls
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
Let me quote some necron rules :
My will be done
At the beginning of your turn, choose a friendly <DYNASTY> INFANTRY unit within 6" of this model. Add 1 to Advance, charge, and hit rolls of that unit until the beginning of your next turn. A unit can only be chosen as the target of this ability once in each turn.
Necron nephrekh dynasty
If a unit with this code Advances, add 6" to its Move characteristic for that Movement phase instead of rolling a dice (if the unit is being affected by the My Will Be Done or Wave of Command ability, add 7" to its Move characteristic instead). In addition, if a unit with this code Advances, its models can move across models and terrain as if they were not there.
You dont have to roll a dice to get +1" to advance.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/11/08 21:07:01
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/11/08 21:08:22
Subject: Re:Evil Sunz +1 to Advanced Rolls
|
 |
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle
|
p5freak wrote:Let me quote some necron rules :
My will be done
At the beginning of your turn, choose a friendly <DYNASTY> INFANTRY unit within 6" of this model. Add 1 to Advance, charge, and hit rolls of that unit until the beginning of your next turn. A unit can only be chosen as the target of this ability once in each turn.
Necron nephrekh dynasty
If a unit with this code Advances, add 6" to its Move characteristic for that Movement phase instead of rolling a dice (if the unit is being affected by the My Will Be Done or Wave of Command ability, add 7" to its Move characteristic instead). In addition, if a unit with this code Advances, its models can move across models and terrain as if they were not there.
You dont have to roll a dice to get +1" to advance.
Not sure I agree. Necron code SPECIFICALLY calls out how it interacts. Since the Ork benefit does not call out any such interaction, I'm not convinced they stack. I'd currently say that if you don't roll, you don't get the bonus to the roll.
|
Death Guard - "The Rotmongers"
Chaos Space Marines - "The Sin-Eaters"
Dark Angels - "Nemeses Errant"
Deathwatch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/11/08 21:15:10
Subject: Re:Evil Sunz +1 to Advanced Rolls
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
p5freak wrote:Let me quote some necron rules :
My will be done
At the beginning of your turn, choose a friendly <DYNASTY> INFANTRY unit within 6" of this model. Add 1 to Advance, charge, and hit rolls of that unit until the beginning of your next turn. A unit can only be chosen as the target of this ability once in each turn.
Necron nephrekh dynasty
If a unit with this code Advances, add 6" to its Move characteristic for that Movement phase instead of rolling a dice (if the unit is being affected by the My Will Be Done or Wave of Command ability, add 7" to its Move characteristic instead). In addition, if a unit with this code Advances, its models can move across models and terrain as if they were not there.
You dont have to roll a dice to get +1" to advance.
Dude, what you quoted literally proves you DO need to roll a dice. If you didn't they would not have needed to add that line about MWBD.
To the OP: No, you cannot add 1 if you do not roll.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/11/08 21:41:09
Subject: Evil Sunz +1 to Advanced Rolls
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Agreed. As the rule stands now you wouldn't get the +1 because it wasn't called out in the Fuel Mixa Grot's (or the Evil Suns) rules.
That said, I wouldn't be surprised to see it FAQ'd so that it does get the +1 bonus, but I wouldn't play it like that unless it's FAQ'd to allow it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/11/08 22:14:17
Subject: Evil Sunz +1 to Advanced Rolls
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
doctortom wrote:Agreed. As the rule stands now you wouldn't get the +1 because it wasn't called out in the Fuel Mixa Grot's (or the Evil Suns) rules.
That said, I wouldn't be surprised to see it FAQ'd so that it does get the +1 bonus, but I wouldn't play it like that unless it's FAQ'd to allow it.
Wait, you'd play by the RULES??? As they were WRITTEN????? How un-cash-money of you!
In any case, I agree with the sentiment, unless this gets changed, you don't get the Bonus unless you actually roll.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/11/08 22:23:32
Subject: Evil Sunz +1 to Advanced Rolls
|
 |
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta
|
Can I get +1 if I roll a dice and still use the Fuel Mixa Grot?
I think the intent here is pretty clear.
There's not much space on the Wartrike's datasheet as is, I'm sure GW just missed this or assumed people would use same ruling that has been set with the Necron ruling.
FAQ will clarify in a week or so. I'd suggest you email them.
The same applies to Deffkoptas.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/11/08 22:27:02
Subject: Evil Sunz +1 to Advanced Rolls
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Of course. It's a good thing you can't do both on the same movement action then, isn't it.  Codex: Orks, Page 89 wrote:Fuel-mixa Grot: Once per battle, when this model Advances, add 6" to its Move characteristic for that Movement phase instead of rolling a dice.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/11/08 22:43:54
Subject: Evil Sunz +1 to Advanced Rolls
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
An Actual Englishman wrote:Can I get +1 if I roll a dice and still use the Fuel Mixa Grot?
I think the intent here is pretty clear.
There's not much space on the Wartrike's datasheet as is, I'm sure GW just missed this or assumed people would use same ruling that has been set with the Necron ruling.
FAQ will clarify in a week or so. I'd suggest you email them.
The same applies to Deffkoptas.
I guess it was lack of room and not just a mistake when they mentioned in a rule that you can fire grenades and pistols in addition to normal weapons but didn't actually list any pistols on the weapon list.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/11/19 18:48:31
Subject: Re:Evil Sunz +1 to Advanced Rolls
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
What i said about necrons is confirmed in the ork FAQ. You dont have to roll a dice to get +1 to advance
Q: Do Evil Sunz models that have a set value when they
Advance – like a Deffkilla Wartrike using the Fuel-mixa Grot
ability or a Deffkopta, due to Turbo-boost – also benefit from the
Red Ones Go Fasta kultur?
A: Yes, add 7" to their Move characteristic for that
Advance move in these cases.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/11/19 19:04:44
Subject: Re:Evil Sunz +1 to Advanced Rolls
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
p5freak wrote:What i said about necrons is confirmed in the ork FAQ. You dont have to roll a dice to get +1 to advance Q: Do Evil Sunz models that have a set value when they Advance – like a Deffkilla Wartrike using the Fuel-mixa Grot ability or a Deffkopta, due to Turbo-boost – also benefit from the Red Ones Go Fasta kultur? A: Yes, add 7" to their Move characteristic for that Advance move in these cases.
That is a classic example of a Special Snowflake FAQ. It doesn't apply to anything other than Evil Sunz models. Good to see it's cleared up either way.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/11/19 19:20:20
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/11/19 20:07:20
Subject: Re:Evil Sunz +1 to Advanced Rolls
|
 |
Omnipotent Necron Overlord
|
p5freak wrote:What i said about necrons is confirmed in the ork FAQ. You dont have to roll a dice to get +1 to advance
Q: Do Evil Sunz models that have a set value when they
Advance – like a Deffkilla Wartrike using the Fuel-mixa Grot
ability or a Deffkopta, due to Turbo-boost – also benefit from the
Red Ones Go Fasta kultur?
A: Yes, add 7" to their Move characteristic for that
Advance move in these cases.
Intent was clear here.
|
If we fail to anticipate the unforeseen or expect the unexpected in a universe of infinite possibilities, we may find ourselves at the mercy of anyone or anything that cannot be programmed, categorized or easily referenced.
- Fox Mulder |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/11/20 10:12:09
Subject: Evil Sunz +1 to Advanced Rolls
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
Absolutely, and good to see it clarified to avoid arguing over 1”!
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
|