Switch Theme:

Article Discussion: Making the Most of Reanimation Protocols (8th)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in dk



This is an automated message added by the articles system.

A new article titled Making the Most of Reanimation Protocols (8th) has been added to the dakka articles system.

This message thread is for the discussion of content in the article.

If you have anything to add to the article, then just jump in and edit it by going to the actual article page and clicking 'edit' (the link can be found just above the article). If there is no edit link then the article is locked for now, so just add your comments or content to this thread and if they are appropriate then they should eventually get merged in.

If there is something in the article that you wish to debate or comment on, then this is the place to do it. Just hit the reply button and get chatting! You need to be registered and logged in to post in the forums so if you are an anonymous article editor then now would be a great time to register and join in dakka's great forum discussion!
   
Made in us
I'll Be Back




Tennessee

I am glad to see this article! Mainly because it let me know I was playing the new rules correctly on RPs. I do have a question though, I got a little confused in two places: 1) where you mentioned rolling RP on a unit within 6" of a Cryptek until you hit a 5+ to get the 4+? and 2) the very last paragraph about the "chain leading back to your HQ" (which in my case would be Crypteks)

Great article! Thank you!

"Above all, love each other deeply, because love covers over a multitude of sins." - 1 Peter 4:8 
   
Made in de
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine






Germany

The article is wrong about that. You cant place reanimated models in a way that they chain back to your cryptek to get that +1 to RP. You must place reanimated models in coherency, next to a model of the same unit that didnt come back as a result of RP, and not within 1" of enemy models. You cant place a reanimated model next to an already reanimated model. If the cryptek is 6" away you would be able to reduce it to 4", but not any closer. In the next turn you could place an reanimated model to the model which is 4" from the cryptek, and then get the +1 to RP for the rest of your rolls.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/01/31 12:45:03


 
   
Made in us
I'll Be Back




Tennessee

 p5freak wrote:
The article is wrong about that. You cant place reanimated models in a way that they chain back to your cryptek to get that +1 to RP. You must place reanimated models in coherency, next to a model of the same unit that didnt come back as a result of RP, and not within 1" of enemy models. You cant place a reanimated model next to an already reanimated model. If the cryptek is 6" away you would be able to reduce it to 4", but not any closer. In the next turn you could place an reanimated model to the model which is 4" from the cryptek, and then get the +1 to RP for the rest of your rolls.


Yea that did seem a little...umm "broken" I think is the word Im looking for

You couldn't do that back in the day either - people tried it, but with all these new rules I have no idea all the little intricacies they have changed. Thanks for the clarification!

"Above all, love each other deeply, because love covers over a multitude of sins." - 1 Peter 4:8 
   
Made in dk
Freaky Flayed One






 PhaseLord wrote:
I am glad to see this article! Mainly because it let me know I was playing the new rules correctly on RPs. I do have a question though, I got a little confused in two places: 1) where you mentioned rolling RP on a unit within 6" of a Cryptek until you hit a 5+ to get the 4+? and 2) the very last paragraph about the "chain leading back to your HQ" (which in my case would be Crypteks)

Great article! Thank you!

If you are within 6" you can place a model right at the edge of 2" coherency, the model's base should give you another 1". That means you are now within 3" rather than 6", giving you access to the Cryptek's buff or the Resurrection Orb you wanted to get to.

Let's say you have a unit of 20 Warriors, you can place a blob of 15 in the middle of the table, have a Warrior within 2" of the model in the main blob as close to your board edge as possible, then another model within 2" of that model reaching even further back, so your remaining 5 models can reach back 15" from the main blob. This way you can increase the effective range of your aura abilities because even though the 15 models are in the middle of the table, you have at least one model reaching back to your HQs. When it comes to taking off casualties you don't need to take from the main blob or from the models furthest from the main blob, you can remove the chain links in the middle. This gives you as many models up front as possible (in RF range or able to attack in melee) and still leaves one model in range of all your aura abilities. Your unit will be unable to move due to not being able to move back into coherency, but sometimes it's more important to have access to damage + aura abilities vs damage + mobility or aura abilities + mobility. When you Reanimate you can reanimate a model on each side of the broken chain, which should allow you to restore coherency with 5" move, if you only have a 3" move to get back in coherency you might want to just remove two out of every three models in the chain.

I'm glad if it helped, I just thought it was silly to have tactica articles from 10 year old editions still up and didn't want to leave it entirely bare.
   
Made in us
I'll Be Back




Tennessee

 vict0988 wrote:
 PhaseLord wrote:
I am glad to see this article! Mainly because it let me know I was playing the new rules correctly on RPs. I do have a question though, I got a little confused in two places: 1) where you mentioned rolling RP on a unit within 6" of a Cryptek until you hit a 5+ to get the 4+? and 2) the very last paragraph about the "chain leading back to your HQ" (which in my case would be Crypteks)

Great article! Thank you!

If you are within 6" you can place a model right at the edge of 2" coherency, the model's base should give you another 1". That means you are now within 3" rather than 6", giving you access to the Cryptek's buff or the Resurrection Orb you wanted to get to.

Let's say you have a unit of 20 Warriors, you can place a blob of 15 in the middle of the table, have a Warrior within 2" of the model in the main blob as close to your board edge as possible, then another model within 2" of that model reaching even further back, so your remaining 5 models can reach back 15" from the main blob. This way you can increase the effective range of your aura abilities because even though the 15 models are in the middle of the table, you have at least one model reaching back to your HQs. When it comes to taking off casualties you don't need to take from the main blob or from the models furthest from the main blob, you can remove the chain links in the middle. This gives you as many models up front as possible (in RF range or able to attack in melee) and still leaves one model in range of all your aura abilities. Your unit will be unable to move due to not being able to move back into coherency, but sometimes it's more important to have access to damage + aura abilities vs damage + mobility or aura abilities + mobility. When you Reanimate you can reanimate a model on each side of the broken chain, which should allow you to restore coherency with 5" move, if you only have a 3" move to get back in coherency you might want to just remove two out of every three models in the chain.

I'm glad if it helped, I just thought it was silly to have tactica articles from 10 year old editions still up and didn't want to leave it entirely bare.


Wow and that actually works?! BRILLIANCE!!!

"Above all, love each other deeply, because love covers over a multitude of sins." - 1 Peter 4:8 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Northwest Arkansas

So, I have a quick question... If I have a cryptek in a ghost ark surrounded by 3 blobs of warriors, can I still use the cryptek's aura? If so, how do I determine that? Do I measure from the hull of the ghost ark? Also, still kind of on topic but slightly different question, can psychers cast powers from inside a transport?

2,400 points
1,800 nidzillas
750 points
1,200 points
1,000 points
2,000 points
 
   
Made in de
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine






Germany

Embarked units are not on the battlefield, read the transports rule. It literally tells you to remove the unit from the battlefield. If a unit is not on the battlefield it cant affect anything. So, no, an embarked cryptek doesnt give +1 to RP, not even to embarked warriors, because they arent on the battlefield either. Psykers cant cast any psychic power, because, you know why.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/02/11 17:54:15


 
   
Made in dk
Freaky Flayed One






OptimalWater wrote:
So, I have a quick question... If I have a cryptek in a ghost ark surrounded by 3 blobs of warriors, can I still use the cryptek's aura? If so, how do I determine that? Do I measure from the hull of the ghost ark? Also, still kind of on topic but slightly different question, can psychers cast powers from inside a transport?

As p5reak said no, but you can get out during your Movement phase with the Cryptek and benefit from his buff to RP for any Warriors you roll RP for with the Ghost Ark's ability. You get 56% of your Warriors back with two RP rolls of 5+, 67% if you get one RP of 5+ and one RP roll of 4+ (getting the Cryptek out to benefit you at the end of the Movement phase), 75% if you roll RP of 4+ twice. Whether you need a Cryptek depends on what types of armies you play and which armies you play against, if none of your units number more than 10 models your Crypteks will most likely be wasted, whether you are bringing Ghost Arks or not.

I would recommend you read the main rulebook with a fine-toothed comb, the more details of the rules the less your opponents will be able to cheat and the more will you be able to exploit the rules, knowing the rules is a much larger benefit than +1 to RP rolls so take your time and read the rules thoroughly.
   
 
Forum Index » Article Discussion
Go to: