Switch Theme:

Earthshacker Battery  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control




AZ

The Earthshaker Plateform without any guardsmen found on page 15 of the index, does it need guard around it to fire or could I place them in a corner somewhere on the battlefield and fire without friendly units around it?



 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






usmcmidn wrote:
The Earthshaker Plateform without any guardsmen found on page 15 of the index, does it need guard around it to fire or could I place them in a corner somewhere on the battlefield and fire without friendly units around it?
"The index"? Which index, there are lots of indexes. If you mean the Earthshaker Battery from Imperial Armour - Index: Forces of the Astra Militarum, then the rules for them are explicitly listed on the datasheet. If it doesn't mention crew, it doesn't have crew.

Add me on Discord: BaconCatBug#0294
+++++There are currently ONE HUNDRED AND FIFTEEN (115) documents required to play Warhammer 40,000 8th edition+++++
+++++List of "broken" RaW in Warhammer 40,000 8th edition+++++
Disclaimer: My YMDC answers are from a "What the rules, as written (or modified by Special Snowflake FAQ) in the rulebooks, actually say" perspective, not a "What I wish the rules said" perspective. Even GW agrees with me, send an email to 40kfaq@gwplc.com for a confirmation reply "4. Apply The Rules As Written. If you still don’t have a satisfactory answer, use the rule just as it is written if you possibly can, even if you are not completely happy with the effect the rule has."
Mathhammer tables for 2D6 and 3D6 Charging with various re-roll abilities
Stylus CSS theme for DakkaDakka forums to hide black avatar background and fully hide ignored users.
Userscript to add a button to open all "[First Unread]" links on the page, hides the "[Blog View]" links, and adds a "Subscribed Threads" link to forum pages.  
   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control




AZ

So it can fire without crew? That’s what I was asking.



 
   
Made in us
Mighty Chosen Warrior of Chaos





The Wastes of Krieg

usmcmidn wrote:
So it can fire without crew? That’s what I was asking.
yes, for the stationary earth shaker the crew is meant to be inside whatever building or area it's mounted on
   
Made in ca
Eternally-Stimulated Slaanesh Dreadnought





Rzhev

Yes, 'cause the crew don't actually do anything.

But you can't just randomly add crew models to your army and put them in a corner somewhere, which the OP suggest you might be thinking of.

The FAQ changes the wording of the Earthshaker Battery to include crew. They don't get a profile or any weaponry and have to be set up within a unit coherency of 6".

The Fall of Kronstaat IV
Война Народная | Voyna Narodnaya | The People's War - 2,898pts painted (updated 18/09/19)
Волшебная Сказка | Volshebnaya Skazka | A Fairy Tale (updated 07/10/19, ep9 - Разорение | Razoreniye | Downfall)
Kabal of The Violet Heart (updated 18/09/19)

You know, if there's one thing I've learnt from being in the Army, it's never ignore a pooh-pooh. I knew a Major who got pooh-poohed; made the mistake of ignoring the pooh-pooh. He pooh-poohed it! Fatal error! 'Cause it turned out all along that the soldier who pooh-poohed him had been pooh-poohing a lot of other officers who pooh-poohed their pooh-poohs. In the end, we had to disband the regiment.
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Excommunicatus wrote:
Yes, 'cause the crew don't actually do anything.

But you can't just randomly add crew models to your army and put them in a corner somewhere, which the OP suggest you might be thinking of.

The FAQ changes the wording of the Earthshaker Battery to include crew. They don't get a profile or any weaponry and have to be set up within a unit coherency of 6".
You're thinking of the Earthshaker Carriage Battery (on page 16) not the normal Earthshaker Platform (confusingly the Datasheet is titled Earthshaker Battery) on page 15.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/04/15 18:47:01


Add me on Discord: BaconCatBug#0294
+++++There are currently ONE HUNDRED AND FIFTEEN (115) documents required to play Warhammer 40,000 8th edition+++++
+++++List of "broken" RaW in Warhammer 40,000 8th edition+++++
Disclaimer: My YMDC answers are from a "What the rules, as written (or modified by Special Snowflake FAQ) in the rulebooks, actually say" perspective, not a "What I wish the rules said" perspective. Even GW agrees with me, send an email to 40kfaq@gwplc.com for a confirmation reply "4. Apply The Rules As Written. If you still don’t have a satisfactory answer, use the rule just as it is written if you possibly can, even if you are not completely happy with the effect the rule has."
Mathhammer tables for 2D6 and 3D6 Charging with various re-roll abilities
Stylus CSS theme for DakkaDakka forums to hide black avatar background and fully hide ignored users.
Userscript to add a button to open all "[First Unread]" links on the page, hides the "[Blog View]" links, and adds a "Subscribed Threads" link to forum pages.  
   
Made in ca
Eternally-Stimulated Slaanesh Dreadnought





Rzhev

Ayuh, I am indeed.

Mea culpa.

The Fall of Kronstaat IV
Война Народная | Voyna Narodnaya | The People's War - 2,898pts painted (updated 18/09/19)
Волшебная Сказка | Volshebnaya Skazka | A Fairy Tale (updated 07/10/19, ep9 - Разорение | Razoreniye | Downfall)
Kabal of The Violet Heart (updated 18/09/19)

You know, if there's one thing I've learnt from being in the Army, it's never ignore a pooh-pooh. I knew a Major who got pooh-poohed; made the mistake of ignoring the pooh-pooh. He pooh-poohed it! Fatal error! 'Cause it turned out all along that the soldier who pooh-poohed him had been pooh-poohing a lot of other officers who pooh-poohed their pooh-poohs. In the end, we had to disband the regiment.
 
   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control




AZ

So the one without the crew profile, I could fire it without any type of crew or guard models around?



 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






usmcmidn wrote:
So the one without the crew profile, I could fire it without any type of crew or guard models around?
The "Artillery" special rule explicitly spells out which models have to be within range in order for it to fire.

Add me on Discord: BaconCatBug#0294
+++++There are currently ONE HUNDRED AND FIFTEEN (115) documents required to play Warhammer 40,000 8th edition+++++
+++++List of "broken" RaW in Warhammer 40,000 8th edition+++++
Disclaimer: My YMDC answers are from a "What the rules, as written (or modified by Special Snowflake FAQ) in the rulebooks, actually say" perspective, not a "What I wish the rules said" perspective. Even GW agrees with me, send an email to 40kfaq@gwplc.com for a confirmation reply "4. Apply The Rules As Written. If you still don’t have a satisfactory answer, use the rule just as it is written if you possibly can, even if you are not completely happy with the effect the rule has."
Mathhammer tables for 2D6 and 3D6 Charging with various re-roll abilities
Stylus CSS theme for DakkaDakka forums to hide black avatar background and fully hide ignored users.
Userscript to add a button to open all "[First Unread]" links on the page, hides the "[Blog View]" links, and adds a "Subscribed Threads" link to forum pages.  
   
Made in gb
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets





Cardiff

 BaconCatBug wrote:
 Excommunicatus wrote:
Yes, 'cause the crew don't actually do anything.

But you can't just randomly add crew models to your army and put them in a corner somewhere, which the OP suggest you might be thinking of.

The FAQ changes the wording of the Earthshaker Battery to include crew. They don't get a profile or any weaponry and have to be set up within a unit coherency of 6".
You're thinking of the Earthshaker Carriage Battery (on page 16) not the normal Earthshaker Platform (confusingly the Datasheet is titled Earthshaker Battery) on page 15.


Nothing confusing about a unit of artillery pieces being called a ‘battery’, as that’s an entirely correct and relevant description, much like ‘squad’ for infantry or ‘squadron’ for vehicles. It’s a battery comprised of Earthshaker platforms. Nothing to see here.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in ca
Eternally-Stimulated Slaanesh Dreadnought





Rzhev

Yeah. It honestly wasn't 'battery' that tripped me up; it was the highly complicated task of reading a page number.

I recognize my failing and will be sure to correct it.

The Fall of Kronstaat IV
Война Народная | Voyna Narodnaya | The People's War - 2,898pts painted (updated 18/09/19)
Волшебная Сказка | Volshebnaya Skazka | A Fairy Tale (updated 07/10/19, ep9 - Разорение | Razoreniye | Downfall)
Kabal of The Violet Heart (updated 18/09/19)

You know, if there's one thing I've learnt from being in the Army, it's never ignore a pooh-pooh. I knew a Major who got pooh-poohed; made the mistake of ignoring the pooh-pooh. He pooh-poohed it! Fatal error! 'Cause it turned out all along that the soldier who pooh-poohed him had been pooh-poohing a lot of other officers who pooh-poohed their pooh-poohs. In the end, we had to disband the regiment.
 
   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control




AZ

Where is the artillery special rule located at? The only one im seeing is in the FAQ and it relates to the Earthshaker Carriage Battery on Pg 16 of the Imperial Armor Index, which specifically has crew. I am wondering if you need crew to shoot the Earthshaker Battery on Pg 15 of the Imperial Armor Index which does not have crew in its profile or crew given to it.

I am very confused with this profile.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/04/17 17:56:04




 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






usmcmidn wrote:
Where is the artillery special rule located at? The only one im seeing is in the FAQ and it relates to the Earthshaker Carriage Battery on Pg 16 of the Imperial Armor Index, which specifically has crew. I am wondering if you need crew to shoot the Earthshaker Battery on Pg 15 of the Imperial Armor Index which does not have crew in its profile or crew given to it.

I am very confused with this profile.
That's like asking "Does a Leman Russ Battle Tank also need a crew?" They are different units entirely and have no relation to each other whatsoever.

To sum it up, you don't need a crew for the Earthshaker Battery on page 15.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/04/17 18:21:55


Add me on Discord: BaconCatBug#0294
+++++There are currently ONE HUNDRED AND FIFTEEN (115) documents required to play Warhammer 40,000 8th edition+++++
+++++List of "broken" RaW in Warhammer 40,000 8th edition+++++
Disclaimer: My YMDC answers are from a "What the rules, as written (or modified by Special Snowflake FAQ) in the rulebooks, actually say" perspective, not a "What I wish the rules said" perspective. Even GW agrees with me, send an email to 40kfaq@gwplc.com for a confirmation reply "4. Apply The Rules As Written. If you still don’t have a satisfactory answer, use the rule just as it is written if you possibly can, even if you are not completely happy with the effect the rule has."
Mathhammer tables for 2D6 and 3D6 Charging with various re-roll abilities
Stylus CSS theme for DakkaDakka forums to hide black avatar background and fully hide ignored users.
Userscript to add a button to open all "[First Unread]" links on the page, hides the "[Blog View]" links, and adds a "Subscribed Threads" link to forum pages.  
   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control




AZ

Ok cool. So I can field 3 and a just a company commander and use it in a detachment for a space marine force?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/04/17 19:16:53




 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






usmcmidn wrote:
Ok cool. So I can field 3 and a just a company commander and use it in a detachment for a space marine force?
Sure, but considering they are expensive FW models and are actually not worth it when compared to just taking basilisks...

Add me on Discord: BaconCatBug#0294
+++++There are currently ONE HUNDRED AND FIFTEEN (115) documents required to play Warhammer 40,000 8th edition+++++
+++++List of "broken" RaW in Warhammer 40,000 8th edition+++++
Disclaimer: My YMDC answers are from a "What the rules, as written (or modified by Special Snowflake FAQ) in the rulebooks, actually say" perspective, not a "What I wish the rules said" perspective. Even GW agrees with me, send an email to 40kfaq@gwplc.com for a confirmation reply "4. Apply The Rules As Written. If you still don’t have a satisfactory answer, use the rule just as it is written if you possibly can, even if you are not completely happy with the effect the rule has."
Mathhammer tables for 2D6 and 3D6 Charging with various re-roll abilities
Stylus CSS theme for DakkaDakka forums to hide black avatar background and fully hide ignored users.
Userscript to add a button to open all "[First Unread]" links on the page, hides the "[Blog View]" links, and adds a "Subscribed Threads" link to forum pages.  
   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control




AZ

It’s more for the coolness factor, I know they are expensive but rule of cool. I’m not a competitive player, I just like modes and I think I made a pretty cool list so...



 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: