Switch Theme:

Deathstrikes and Artillery Barrage only once per Battle?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in de
Waaagh! Warbiker




Somewhere near Hamburg

I'm a little confused by the wording of said weapon Profiles as they say:

"This weapon may only be fired once per Battle"

As opposed to the Hunter Killer missile for example which says:

"Each Hunter Missile May only be fired once per Battle"

So... Does that mean RAW I can only ever use one deathstrike and one Artillery Barrage per Battle regardless of how many deathstrikes and Masters of ordnance i Bring?

Astra Milit..*blam* Astra Milliwhat, heretic? 
   
Made in us
Calm Celestian




Tacoma, WA, USA

No. In theory, a model could have more than 1 Hunter Killer Missile. Each of those can only be fired once per Battle.

The Deathstrike and Master of Ordnance have 1 use (per model) of their weapon. Remember that each model has it's own weapon to fire.
   
Made in gb
Dominating Dominatrix






Morkphoiz wrote:
I'm a little confused by the wording of said weapon Profiles as they say:

"This weapon may only be fired once per Battle"

As opposed to the Hunter Killer missile for example which says:

"Each Hunter Missile May only be fired once per Battle"

So... Does that mean RAW I can only ever use one deathstrike and one Artillery Barrage per Battle regardless of how many deathstrikes and Masters of ordnance i Bring?
"This" and "Each" refer to the individual weapon, not that weapon type as a whole.

+++++There are currently NINETY FOUR (94) documents required to play Warhammer 40,000 8th edition+++++ (Discord: BaconCatBug#0294)
Disclaimer: My YMDC answers are from a "What the rules, as written (or modified by Special Snowflake FAQ) in the rulebooks, actually say" perspective, not a "What I wish the rules said" perspective. Even GW agrees with me, send an email to 40kfaq@gwplc.com for a confirmation reply "4. Apply The Rules As Written. If you still don’t have a satisfactory answer, use the rule just as it is written if you possibly can, even if you are not completely happy with the effect the rule has."
Because some people get their knickers in a twist, I'll list these RaW 'oddities' in my sig. Sadly GW's promise of fixing their broken rules has itself been broken. Zoom in to read them.
RaW you cannot advance and then fire assault weapons, you can't shoot pistols if within 1" of an enemy; "minimum" ranges don't work; the game simply breaks if you ever have more than one wounded model in a unit; the game also breaks if a single rule ever tries to do multiple things simultaneously; Librarians on Bikes are locked to the Index power list, Howling Banshees can't declare a charge further than 12"; Spore Mines have an infinite range; Shroudpsalm technically doesn't do anything, only enemy models, not friendly models, have permission to move on top of a Skyshield Landing Pad; T'au have access to stackable Ignore Wounds (albeit against Mortal Wounds only); the T'au Early Warning Override Support System only works if a unit is "teleporting to the battlefield", not just arriving mid-battle; you can only ever use the Deathwatch Teleportarium Stratagem "once", and then never again in any battle after you use it; if a model splits fire, each weapon must target a different unit; a Tyrant Guard with Lashwhip can absorb an infinite amount of damage via Shieldwall between the time they die and the time they fight; Codex Leman Russ's can take an infinite amount of Hunter-Killer Missiles, Storm Bolters and Heavy Stubbers; Imothekh's 'Lord of the Storm' ability hits the "target unit" twice; Wave Serpents cannot be legally charged at by any model with a standard base; Slab Shields, along with the 'Take Cover!' stratagem no longer have any effect; and vehicles that are "slain" by a special effect do not trigger the "Explodes" ability; Taking any Forge World Space Marine Named Characters denies the use of a Chapter Tactic; Vectored Manoeuvring Thrusters may be used to move within 1" of an enemy unit during the Movement Phase and does not benefit from FLY; and Scout Sentinels may use "Go! Recon!" to move within 1" of an enemy unit during the shooting phase.
--- Mathhammer tables for 2D6 and 3D6 Charging with various re-roll abilities --- Stylus CSS theme for DakkaDakka forums to hide black avatar background and fully hide ignored users. --- Userscript to add a button to open all "[First Unread]" links on the page, hides the "[Blog View]" links, and adds a "Subscribed Threads" link to forum pages. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: