Switch Theme:

Flames of war v4 Multiple Artillery units and Assaulting units?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in se
Yellin' Yoof





Northen Sweden

Our gaming group have had two questions that we cant answer our self "yet". Maybe some of you can point us in the right direction or your own thoughts about the problems.
(Yes I have read Lessons from the front.)

The first one: In the rules there is no rule I can find that specifies that only one Artillery Unit can fire in a bombardment at one time, so can you combine batteries for more then 5 guns effect? Or maybe you want to combine your US 60mm mortar's in your rifle platoons?
(So far we have allowed to do this, but we are curious how you guys do?)

The second: If you have an assault as normal with defensive fire and all. If a second unit assaults the same enemy teams after the first assault is over, can they fire Defensive fire again?
(We don't give the enemy a second Defensive fire, but this seams like a bit of a loophole as you can sacrifice a "lesser unit" before the real assault.)
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





This Is Where the Fish Lives

 Kato wrote:

The first one: In the rules there is no rule I can find that specifies that only one Artillery Unit can fire in a bombardment at one time, so can you combine batteries for more then 5 guns effect? Or maybe you want to combine your US 60mm mortar's in your rifle platoons?
(So far we have allowed to do this, but we are curious how you guys do?)
No, you cannot combine multiple units to fire a bombardment. Artillery bombardments are done in lieu of shooting normally and therefore follows the "one Unit at a time" part of the Shooting Step.

The second: If you have an assault as normal with defensive fire and all. If a second unit assaults the same enemy teams after the first assault is over, can they fire Defensive fire again?
(We don't give the enemy a second Defensive fire, but this seams like a bit of a loophole as you can sacrifice a "lesser unit" before the real assault.)
Do what the rules say to do, not what they don't say. There is no rule that says you cannot fire Defensive Fire more than once.

 d-usa wrote:
"When the Internet sends its people, they're not sending their best. They're not sending you. They're not sending you. They're sending posters that have lots of problems, and they're bringing those problems with us. They're bringing strawmen. They're bringing spam. They're trolls. And some, I assume, are good people."
 
   
Made in se
Yellin' Yoof





Northen Sweden

No, you are probably right
We did not think about bombardment as shooting I guess.
But don't it feel wrong to fire multiple defensive-fire actions in one turn?

We will have our second game of V4 now on Saturday so it might go better
   
Made in us
Executing Exarch




Some of the older lists have special rules that allow you to combine artillery barrages. These rules are forced to incorporate guidelines on how to do so because you're firing different kinds of shells at the same target. Your opponent is going to complain if adding two 75mm guns to a barrage by two 105mm guns allows you to treat the barrage as one being performed by four 105mm guns.

IIRC, Early War French have this capability.

   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





This Is Where the Fish Lives

 Kato wrote:
But don't it feel wrong to fire multiple defensive-fire actions in one turn?
Multiple assaults on the same unit during the Assault Step should be extremely rare.

If a unit fails to counterattack, they lose the assault and have to Break Off, moving more than 6" from the assaulting teams or they are destroyed. This move can and should move them too far away from another unit that has yet to assault, considering most units can only Charge into Contact within 4" (with the notable exception of some mid war Soviet infantry) and there's a list of other conditions that the would-be assaulting unit will have had to meet (pg.72). But, in the event that another unit can launch an assault against a unit that broke off, then yes, that unit (and all units within 8") can fire in defensive fire if they are assaulted.

 d-usa wrote:
"When the Internet sends its people, they're not sending their best. They're not sending you. They're not sending you. They're sending posters that have lots of problems, and they're bringing those problems with us. They're bringing strawmen. They're bringing spam. They're trolls. And some, I assume, are good people."
 
   
 
Forum Index » Historical Miniature Games: WW1 to Modern
Go to: