For many of the spells it indicates "heal x number of wounds on a unit". Lets say I have a unit of 10 originally containing 10 models, each with 2 wounds. Lets say it has suffered 5 wounds, which by wound allocation rules means it has lost 2 models and 1 model has suffered 1 wound while the others are at full health. If the spell indicates "heals D3 wounds" and I manage to roll a 6 -> I get to heal 3 wounds. So obviously the 1 model gets back 1 wound; but what about my lost models, do I get to bring them back to the table? Since many of these are spells that are cast by wizards, the casting phase is before combat, does this mean I heal before they are wounded and I can discount wounds applied if I know they will enter combat? That seems more like a protection spell than a healing spell.
Thanks for any clarifications on healing.