Switch Theme:

SM: omni scrambler or auspex scan vs. Da jump or similar?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in fi
Raging-on-the-Inside Blood Angel Sergeant





So,
Can orks drop within 9" of a phobos captain? Da jump isn't excatly deep strike.

Can I use the auspex scan stratagem on a ork unit which drops within 12" with da jump?

Thanks.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/12/16 14:27:21


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Xirax wrote:
So,
Can orks drop within 9" of a phobos captain? Da jump isn't excatly deep strike.

Can I use the auspex scan stratagem on a ork unit which drops within 12" with da jump?

Thanks.


No

Yes
   
Made in fi
Raging-on-the-Inside Blood Angel Sergeant





Thanks.

I got TFG:d last weekend with me dropping a da jumping big mek in mega armour with my stalker intercessor.

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Related question, auspex scan lets them shoot stuff coming out of a valkyrie or other or transport? Cause that would be very important for me to know before it happened.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/12/16 14:40:32


Guard gaurd gAAAARDity Gaurd gaurd.  
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





Dukeofstuff wrote:
Related question, auspex scan lets them shoot stuff coming out of a valkyrie or other or transport? Cause that would be very important for me to know before it happened.
No. While the unit is indeed "set up" on the battlefield, it is not being set up as reinforcements, and so Auspex Scan does not apply. (EDIT: both conditions must be met as per the Auspex Scan stratagem)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/12/16 14:42:36


 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
Made in fi
Raging-on-the-Inside Blood Angel Sergeant





I think I saw a conversation implying that you can only shoot the drop pod, not the contents disembarking, but hopefully someone has a valid answer.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Xirax wrote:
I think I saw a conversation implying that you can only shoot the drop pod, not the contents disembarking, but hopefully someone has a valid answer.


Thats because the drop pod is entering as reinforcements. The units inside are disembarking. The latter does not satisfy the auspex scan requirements.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/12/16 14:43:49


 
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





Xirax wrote:
I think I saw a conversation implying that you can only shoot the drop pod, not the contents disembarking, but hopefully someone has a valid answer.
In this situation the reason you can't shoot the occupants is because of the FAQ for Space Marines. The occupants are also arriving from reinforcements, so normally would be eligible, but GW says that no, your opportunity to shoot with Auspex Scan comes before the unit disembarks, and so in that case you can only shoot the Drop Pod.

 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
Made in be
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker



Somewhere around fenris

 Yarium wrote:
In this situation the reason you can't shoot the occupants is because of the FAQ for Space Marines. The occupants are also arriving from reinforcements, so normally would be eligible, but GW says that no, your opportunity to shoot with Auspex Scan comes before the unit disembarks, and so in that case you can only shoot the Drop Pod.


No the reason they faqed it is because some peaple (clearly) did not understand that the transport is in deepstrike and not the unit inside of the transport is not, as they are in a transport and not in reserve...

If you actually read the rules its obvious ^,^

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/12/16 14:54:10


 
   
Made in fi
Raging-on-the-Inside Blood Angel Sergeant





You can't DS a pod 12" away from phobos captain and disembark the contents within 9"? Just checking, would be super stupid
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Xirax wrote:
You can't DS a pod 12" away from phobos captain and disembark the contents within 9"? Just checking, would be super stupid


You cant. The disembarking unit must be set up more than 9" away from enemy models.
   
Made in fi
Raging-on-the-Inside Blood Angel Sergeant





I mean disembark between 9-12" next to a phobos captain.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




But the disembarking unit can come w/in 12" of the captain (at least that's the way I understand it). It just has to stay outside of 9" (because of the unique drop pod rule as opposed to a blanket cannot disembark w/in 9" of a unit)
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




bananathug wrote:
But the disembarking unit can come w/in 12" of the captain (at least that's the way I understand it). It just has to stay outside of 9" (because of the unique drop pod rule as opposed to a blanket cannot disembark w/in 9" of a unit)


This is correct.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Sterling191 wrote:
bananathug wrote:
But the disembarking unit can come w/in 12" of the captain (at least that's the way I understand it). It just has to stay outside of 9" (because of the unique drop pod rule as opposed to a blanket cannot disembark w/in 9" of a unit)


This is correct.


Agreed.
   
Made in fi
Raging-on-the-Inside Blood Angel Sergeant





So space marines can charge infiltrators, phobos captains with drop pod. Wonder if RAI. Blob of DC with UWoF'd Lemartes with +2" charge and rerolls. Interesting.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Xirax wrote:
So space marines can charge infiltrators, phobos captains with drop pod. Wonder if RAI. Blob of DC with UWoF'd Lemartes with +2" charge and rerolls. Interesting.


Nope. UWoF doesn’t have the capacity to bypass the scrambler, and can’t legally declare a charge because they start outside 12 inches.
   
Made in fi
Raging-on-the-Inside Blood Angel Sergeant





Yes, but the reroll/charge bonus aura works from 12" for the unit within 9" and if you drop between opened drop pod doors, those doors are closer so your opponent needs to shoot the drop pod first and you have a good chance getting your dc/van vets in melee. This conversation is more about how to charge from deepstrike against a phobos cpt/inflitrators prototected gunline. With pile in and consolidate you should be able to tie things up into melee and deny shooting. Yes, very occasional and drop pods aren't for comp lists, but atleast in casual games you could suprise your enemy .

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/12/16 19:41:59


 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




But the DC can charge out of the DSing pod (with only a +2 to charge and re-rolls because +2 litany doesn't stack with anything, sorry BA special rules because GW...)

GW, game interaction A (first turn melee charges) is bad, let's remove it from the game.
Also GW, buy our new supplement(s) to get game interaction A (T1 charges), or use a combo of abilities that we didn't play test or even look at twice...
   
Made in fi
Raging-on-the-Inside Blood Angel Sergeant





Well rerollable 7" charge. I'd take it. With another relic you can choose which die(s) you reroll.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





OP:

Q: What rules apply to units that are removed from the battlefield after deployment (via abilities, Stratagems or psychic powers), and are then set back up again on the battlefield?
A: If a rule or ability causes a unit to be removed from the battlefield and subsequently set back up, the following rules apply to that unit:

1. Any rules that are triggered by or apply to units that are ‘set up on the battlefield as reinforcements’ are also triggered by and apply to that unit when it is set up on the battlefield.
2. Models in that unit count as having moved a distance equal to their Move characteristic that turn (and so suffer the penalty to their hit rolls for moving and firing Heavy weapons). If the unit has a minimum Move characteristic, it counts as having moved its maximum Move characteristic.
3. Models in that unit cannot move again during that turn for any reason, other than to make a charge move, to pile in, or to consolidate.
4. If that unit was within 1" of an enemy unit when it was removed, it does not count as having Fallen Back when it is set back up on the battlefield.
5. If that unit has Advanced during this turn, it still counts as having Advanced after it has been set back up on the battlefield.
6. Any destroyed models in that unit when it is removed are still destroyed when their unit is set back up on the battlefield. If they were destroyed during this turn, they still count towards any Morale tests taken for that unit this turn.
7. Any models in that unit that have lost any wounds do not regain those wounds when they are removed, and will still have lost them when their unit is set back up on
the battlefield.
8. Any rules that unit was being affected by when it was removed, and which would continue to affect it for a specific duration (from abilities, Stratagems, psychic powers, etc.), continue to affect that unit until such a point as they would normally have no longer applied. For example, a unit that was within range of an aura ability when it was removed would no longer be affected by that ability if it was set up outside of that aura’s range, whereas a unit that was being affected by a psychic power that lasted until the end of that turn would still be affected by it until the end of that turn

page 9 of the current rulebook faq

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/12/17 01:33:40


 
   
Made in fr
Inquisitorial Keeper of the Xenobanks





France

Wait: so we all agree that we can disembark a unit within 12"-9,1" of an infiltrator unit as long as the drop pod itself is at 12" ?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/12/20 14:10:15


   
Made in fi
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





Helsinki, Finland

Well, I agree that the drop pod had to be 12" away from the scrambler, while a unit inside it could disembark 9" away from the scrambler. Disembark is not setting as a reinforcement.

Wh40k, necromunda, Mordheim 
   
Made in fr
Inquisitorial Keeper of the Xenobanks





France

 Spreelock wrote:
Well, I agree that the drop pod had to be 12" away from the scrambler, while a unit inside it could disembark 9" away from the scrambler. Disembark is not setting as a reinforcement.

Yes exactly that what I meant. I'm going to edit my message for it to be more clear.
But this is legal and legit then ?

   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

Yes. The rules for Inflitrators does not prevent a unit from disembarking close to it and a unit disembarking from a Drop Pod is not Reinforcements.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 alextroy wrote:
Yes. The rules for Inflitrators does not prevent a unit from disembarking close to it and a unit disembarking from a Drop Pod is not Reinforcements.


Citation please.


A unit that disembarks is set up, and units which are set up fit the reinforcements description.

Transports
Disembark: Any unit that begins its Movement phase embarked within a transport can disembark before the transport moves. When a unit disembarks, set it up on the battlefield.....


Reinforcements
Many units have the ability to be set up on the battlefield mid-turn, sometimes by using teleporters, grav chutes or other, more esoteric means. Typically, this happens at the end of the Movement phase, but it can also happen during other phases.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/12/20 16:51:18


 
   
Made in us
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle





Kansas, United States

 p5freak wrote:
 alextroy wrote:
Yes. The rules for Inflitrators does not prevent a unit from disembarking close to it and a unit disembarking from a Drop Pod is not Reinforcements.


Citation please.


A unit that disembarks is set up, and units which are set up fit the reinforcements description.

Reinforcements
Many units have the ability to be set up on the battlefield mid-turn, sometimes by using teleporters, grav chutes or other, more esoteric means. Typically, this happens at the end of the Movement phase, but it can also happen during other phases.


Any unit that is Reinforcements is "set up." Not all units that are "set up" are reinforcements. It's like squares and rectangles.

Death Guard - "The Rotmongers"
Chaos Space Marines - "The Sin-Eaters"
Dark Angels - "Nemeses Errant"
Deathwatch 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 Octopoid wrote:

Any unit that is Reinforcements is "set up." Not all units that are "set up" are reinforcements. It's like squares and rectangles.


Citation please.
   
Made in us
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle





Kansas, United States

 p5freak wrote:
 Octopoid wrote:

Any unit that is Reinforcements is "set up." Not all units that are "set up" are reinforcements. It's like squares and rectangles.


Citation please.


It's difficult to prove a negative. Can you cite where disembarking from a vehicle counts as arriving as reinforcements? Your previous citation lacks that.

Death Guard - "The Rotmongers"
Chaos Space Marines - "The Sin-Eaters"
Dark Angels - "Nemeses Errant"
Deathwatch 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 p5freak wrote:

Citation please.


The BRB defines Reinforcements thusly:

Many units have the ability to be set up on the battlefield mid-turn, sometimes by using teleporters, grav chutes or other, more esoteric means. Typically, this happens at the end of the Movement phase, but it can also happen during other phases. Units that are set up in this manner cannot move or Advance further during the turn they arrive – their entire Movement phase is used in deploying to the battlefield – but they can otherwise act normally (shoot, charge, etc.) for the rest of their turn. Units that arrive as reinforcements count as having moved in their Movement phase for all rules purposes, such as shooting Heavy weapons. Any unit that has not arrived on the battlefield by the end of the battle counts as having been destroyed.


The BRB rules for disembarking are as follows:

Disembark: Any unit that begins its Movement phase embarked within a transport can disembark before the transport moves. When a unit disembarks, set it up on the battlefield so that all of its models are within 3" of the transport and not within 1" of any enemy models – any disembarking model that cannot be set up in this way is slain.

Units that disembark can then act normally (move, shoot, charge, fight, etc.) during the remainder of their turn. Note though, that even if you don’t move disembarking units further in your Movement phase, they still count as having moved for any rules purposes, such as shooting Heavy weapons.


They are in separate sections, and disembarking units are functionally different from units being set up as reinforcements. Therefore, they are not reinforcements.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: