Switch Theme:

Kill Team: Can a Deathwatch Veteran Gunner take a frag cannon and a power sword?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ph
Fresh-Faced New User





In the Deathwatch Veteran Wargear Options section in the Kill Team Core Manual, the first bulleted item reads:

--------------------------------------------------------------------
"• This model may replace its boltgun with a combi-melta, combi-plasma, stalker pattern boltgun, power sword, power maul or storm shield. This model may also take a power sword or power maul; if they are a Watch Sergeant, they may take a xenophase blade instead."
--------------------------------------------------------------------

The last bulleted line reads:

--------------------------------------------------------------------
"• A Deathwatch Veteran Gunner may replace their boltgun with a Deathwatch frag cannon or infernus heavy bolter."
--------------------------------------------------------------------

Since both options require that you replace the boltgun BUT the first line proceeds with "...This model may also take a power sword..." you can outfit a Deathwatch Veteran gunner with both frag cannon and a power sword right?

TIA! ^_^
   
Made in gb
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus




United Kingdom

That's a good question - reading the unit entry I'd say you can, but GW's Command Roster tool says you can't.

EDIT: They FAQ'd it -
Page 90 – Deathwatch Veteran, Wargear Options
Change the third point to:
‘• A Deathwatch Veteran Gunner may, instead of the
above, replace their boltgun with a Deathwatch frag
cannon or infernus heavy bolter.’


Link

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2020/01/07 18:08:13


 
   
Made in ph
Fresh-Faced New User





beast_gts wrote:
That's a good question - reading the unit entry I'd say you can, but GW's Command Roster tool says you can't.

EDIT: They FAQ'd it -
Page 90 – Deathwatch Veteran, Wargear Options
Change the third point to:
‘• A Deathwatch Veteran Gunner may, instead of the
above, replace their boltgun with a Deathwatch frag
cannon or infernus heavy bolter.’


Link



"That's a good question - reading the unit entry I'd say you can"

You're one of the two people who seemed to get it. Thanks!

This closes it:

Page 90 – Deathwatch Veteran, Wargear Options
Change the third point to:
‘• A Deathwatch Veteran Gunner may, instead of the
above, replace their boltgun with a Deathwatch frag
cannon or infernus heavy bolter.’


Again, thanks! ^_^

   
Made in gb
Imperial Admiral






The updated version can.

The original version cannot (your either swap for a combiweapon, etc. and optionally take a power weapon OR you swap for a heavy weapon).
   
Made in ph
Fresh-Faced New User





 Scott-S6 wrote:
The updated version can.

The original version cannot (your either swap for a combiweapon, etc. and optionally take a power weapon OR you swap for a heavy weapon).


Wait.

What about what beast_gts copy-pasted? This one?

Page 90 – Deathwatch Veteran, Wargear Options
Change the third point to:
‘• A Deathwatch Veteran Gunner may, instead of the
above, replace their boltgun with a Deathwatch frag
cannon or infernus heavy bolter.’
   
Made in gb
Imperial Admiral






Yes, that's the updated version as indicated by you literally posting the text that updates it.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




No, can't take a powersword and a frag/infernus.

You can replace the boltgun with several things and/or take a powersword or "instead of the above [bullet point]" take a frag/inernus.

The point is that the heavy weapons take two hands, the other stuff can be held in one each.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2020/01/14 18:51:16


 
   
Made in ph
Fresh-Faced New User





rbstr wrote:
No, can't take a powersword and a frag/infernus.

You can replace the boltgun with several things and/or take a powersword or "instead of the above [bullet point]" take a frag/inernus.

The point is that the heavy weapons take two hands, the other stuff can be held in one each.


I've to agree with this rather than Scott-S6's "you can."

beast_gts' errata has the " instead of the above" clause, which erases the first line---which includes the "may take a power sword" clause---making rbstr's "can't take a powersword and a frag/infernus" the logical reply.
   
 
Forum Index » Games Workshop Board Games & Specialist Games
Go to: