Switch Theme:

Which Warscroll to use?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





So I know generally the rule is to use the most recent version of a unit's rules. But sometimes that seems easier said than done.

I'm looking at options for my Stormcast army, and come across one Gavriel Sureheart. He has a command ability that gives +3 to charge rolls. Awesome! Very strong ability for an army with a lot of deep strike.

I hear this applies to all Stormcast in range, not just Gavriel's Hammers of Sigmar. Which is good, as I wasn't planning to run Hammers of Sigmar.

I look in my Battletome - huh, it says it only applies to HAMMER OF SIGMAR. No big deal, the original information must be wrong. Except then I look up his Warscroll on the GW website, and there it says the ability applies to all Stormcast...

Here's the rub: which came first?

Or more generally, how can you tell for sure?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/04/01 11:37:25


 
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





the one in the battletome, the one from the site has no date.

PS. the warscroll in the app also state hammer of sigmar

 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





terry wrote:
the one in the battletome, the one from the site has no date.

PS. the warscroll in the app also state hammer of sigmar


So I am assuming the Battletome is correct, I'm ok with that.

But why does not having a date make it clear that the Battletome is correct? The whole issue is there's no date to compare.
   
Made in gb
Fixture of Dakka




UK

 Stux wrote:
terry wrote:
the one in the battletome, the one from the site has no date.

PS. the warscroll in the app also state hammer of sigmar


So I am assuming the Battletome is correct, I'm ok with that.

But why does not having a date make it clear that the Battletome is correct? The whole issue is there's no date to compare.


That's the point, the website one could be newer or out of date; however considering that the army hasn't had any major updates the Battletome stands as the most recent with a known date.

   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





 Overread wrote:
 Stux wrote:
terry wrote:
the one in the battletome, the one from the site has no date.

PS. the warscroll in the app also state hammer of sigmar


So I am assuming the Battletome is correct, I'm ok with that.

But why does not having a date make it clear that the Battletome is correct? The whole issue is there's no date to compare.


That's the point, the website one could be newer or out of date; however considering that the army hasn't had any major updates the Battletome stands as the most recent with a known date.


So the rule is "most recent with a known date"?

That does not seem terribly intuitive, but ok.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

From the Age of Sigmar Core Rules Designers' Commentary:

Q: If I have two different warscrolls for the same unit, can I choose which to use, or must I use the most recently published version? Do I have to use any errata that applies to the warscroll?

A: You must use the most recently published warscroll and errata that you or your opponent have available. Warscrolls with a date of publication are always considered to have been published more recently than a warscroll that doesn’t have one. If you have two warscrolls for a unit and neither has a date of publication, you can choose which warscroll to use.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Fixture of Dakka




UK

By and large use the one in your Battletome.

If it gets updated with a more recent one its normally going to be in a Generals Handbook.




White Dwarf stuff is always a bit iffy; some is main game; some is optional some is just purely fan fun stuff etc...

   
Made in us
Wing Commander





The Wastes of Krieg

Check the FAQ, maybe it’ll say in there. The Skaven FAQ tells you to disregard the Plague Monk card in the book and use the one on the website
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





 Ghaz wrote:
From the Age of Sigmar Core Rules Designers' Commentary:

Q: If I have two different warscrolls for the same unit, can I choose which to use, or must I use the most recently published version? Do I have to use any errata that applies to the warscroll?

A: You must use the most recently published warscroll and errata that you or your opponent have available. Warscrolls with a date of publication are always considered to have been published more recently than a warscroll that doesn’t have one. If you have two warscrolls for a unit and neither has a date of publication, you can choose which warscroll to use.


Cool thanks! That's that sorted then
   
 
Forum Index » AoS War Council
Go to: