Switch Theme:

[2000pts] - Cities of Sigmar - Beginner army. Tempest Eye Battalion  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in se
Been Around the Block




Hi all.
So as some of you have seen from my recent posts I'm trying to return to the hoby and make a project I have wanted for a long time.
This made me do this army which is the Tempest Eye with the Battalion.
I dont know if the list is good or not and I just took the miniatures I liked. I do like a lot more so there will always be room for tweeking or rebuilding.

Empire on Griffin (I dont know what weapon, which one is considerd the optimal?) 320pts
Cogsmith 60pts

Steam Tank 200pts
Steam Tank 200pts

20x Crossbowmen 200pts
20x Crossbowmen 200pts
30x Greatswords 480pts

5x Pistoliers 100pts
5x Pistoliers 100pts
5x Pistoliers 100pts
5x Pistoliers 100pts

2000pts in total

Any Ideas are welcome on how to play or build, rebuild and optimize.
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





You need a 3rd Battleline unit by my count.

Youd also really benefit from a regular Freeguild General here. Your crossbows will love you for it.

I'd drop 2 units of Pistoliers to give you enough points for him and another unit of Crossbows.

Alternatively, drop the Cogsmith and use the points to promote a Steam Tank to Commander. This gives you another useful command ability, and if you make him your General then your other Steam Tank will be Battleline, so you can take more Pistoliers instead of the extra Crossbowmen.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2020/05/09 18:02:46


 
   
Made in se
Been Around the Block




Thanks and really good tips.
However, as far as I undersrand it. Because I have a battalion fron the Tempest Eye with 1 General on Griffon and 3-6 pistoliers, that removes the rule for having 3 Battleline units. I also think I read that if you take a General on Griffon, the Greatswords will count as battleline. I can ofcourse be very frong since im a little overwhelmed about the rules.
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





Taking a Battalion does not remove the requirement for Battleline.

However! You are quite right that a Freeguild General as General does make both Greatswords and Pistoliers Battleline, so it doesnt matter. You're right there!

Unfortunately, there is still a big issue with the list (unless I've made another mistake...). Two actually.

First it totals 2060, not 2k. Possible the Cogsmith wasnt counted in your total? Second is the Battalion you mentioned costs 120pts, which takes your total up to 2180.
   
Made in se
Been Around the Block




Aha so I actually has to pay for the batalion rules. Well that changes things.
Out of curiosity, does anyone know how Arkanaut company will work in a Tempest Eye Battalion? Maybe transported by a frigat or an ironclad? Shoot, charge, disengage to do it all over again
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Kokaka wrote:
Aha so I actually has to pay for the batalion rules. Well that changes things.

In Matched Play, yes. That is why battalions have points in the Pitched Battle Profiles chart in the back of the battletome.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





Kokaka wrote:
Aha so I actually has to pay for the batalion rules. Well that changes things.
Out of curiosity, does anyone know how Arkanaut company will work in a Tempest Eye Battalion? Maybe transported by a frigat or an ironclad? Shoot, charge, disengage to do it all over again


Yes, you have to pay for the Battalion in matched play as Ghaz says. However, in addition to the Battalion abilities you do also get an extra CP at the start of the game and an extra artefact. So factor that in when deciding if it's worth it!

I'm not too familiar with Overlords units, but my general impression is that Arkanauts are not great. They seem basically to just be a Battleline tax for Overlords.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/05/09 20:49:51


 
   
Made in se
Been Around the Block




 Stux wrote:
Kokaka wrote:
Aha so I actually has to pay for the batalion rules. Well that changes things.
Out of curiosity, does anyone know how Arkanaut company will work in a Tempest Eye Battalion? Maybe transported by a frigat or an ironclad? Shoot, charge, disengage to do it all over again


Yes, you have to pay for the Battalion in matched play as Ghaz says. However, in addition to the Battalion abilities you do also get an extra CP at the start of the game and an extra artefact. So factor that in when deciding if it's worth it!

I'm not too familiar with Overlords units, but my general impression is that Arkanauts are not great. They seem basically to just be a Battleline tax for Overlords.


Ah thanks, its alot of new rules to take in but im sure I will get it someday.
Anyway. If I go with the Tempest Eye Battalion and buy lets say a Frigate. Can it be used to transport a unit from the CoS roster? And if so, is there any unit that would do well or are the airships better used as just gunboats. I feel the conversion and kitbashing ideas are just endless with the new book which is the part I like the most
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut



NE Ohio, USA

Kokaka wrote:
 Stux wrote:
Kokaka wrote:
Aha so I actually has to pay for the batalion rules. Well that changes things.
Out of curiosity, does anyone know how Arkanaut company will work in a Tempest Eye Battalion? Maybe transported by a frigat or an ironclad? Shoot, charge, disengage to do it all over again


Yes, you have to pay for the Battalion in matched play as Ghaz says. However, in addition to the Battalion abilities you do also get an extra CP at the start of the game and an extra artefact. So factor that in when deciding if it's worth it!

I'm not too familiar with Overlords units, but my general impression is that Arkanauts are not great. They seem basically to just be a Battleline tax for Overlords.


Ah thanks, its alot of new rules to take in but im sure I will get it someday.
Anyway. If I go with the Tempest Eye Battalion and buy lets say a Frigate. Can it be used to transport a unit from the CoS roster? And if so, is there any unit that would do well or are the airships better used as just gunboats. I feel the conversion and kitbashing ideas are just endless with the new book which is the part I like the most


Sadly the only units that a frigate/ironclad can transport are those with the Marine keyword - only found on Kharodan Overlord units.
   
Made in se
Been Around the Block




ccs wrote:
Kokaka wrote:
 Stux wrote:
Kokaka wrote:
Aha so I actually has to pay for the batalion rules. Well that changes things.
Out of curiosity, does anyone know how Arkanaut company will work in a Tempest Eye Battalion? Maybe transported by a frigat or an ironclad? Shoot, charge, disengage to do it all over again


Yes, you have to pay for the Battalion in matched play as Ghaz says. However, in addition to the Battalion abilities you do also get an extra CP at the start of the game and an extra artefact. So factor that in when deciding if it's worth it!

I'm not too familiar with Overlords units, but my general impression is that Arkanauts are not great. They seem basically to just be a Battleline tax for Overlords.


Ah thanks, its alot of new rules to take in but im sure I will get it someday.
Anyway. If I go with the Tempest Eye Battalion and buy lets say a Frigate. Can it be used to transport a unit from the CoS roster? And if so, is there any unit that would do well or are the airships better used as just gunboats. I feel the conversion and kitbashing ideas are just endless with the new book which is the part I like the most


Sadly the only units that a frigate/ironclad can transport are those with the Marine keyword - only found on Kharodan Overlord units.


Thanks. Then I have a question about the Thunderers, since I have an idea on how to convert them into high armour engineers that ride the Frigate. Will they benefit from the Battalion rules that Tempest eye brings?
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





Battalion rules only apply to units in the Battalion. Thunderers cannot be part of the Battalion.
   
Made in se
Been Around the Block




 Stux wrote:
Battalion rules only apply to units in the Battalion. Thunderers cannot be part of the Battalion.


Ah thanks. Getting a hang of it now.

Well I have been fiddeling around a little now that I understand the rules a bit more and also looking on the possabilities of army composition and also from an economic point of view since the Start Collecting Boxes just bring so much value for money.

This is my new list and it will able me to play 2 armies in the future, both that I like and will work together and because 1/4 units can be KO in Tempest Eye, that just seem like a too good opportunity to pass. However, this include that the Grundstock Gunhaulers in the battalion is not counting towards the 1/4 of other KO units if I have understood the rules correctly.

Tempest Eye Battalion 120.p

General on Griffon 320.p

5x Outriders 100.p
5x Outriders 100.p
5x Outriders 100.p
5x Outriders 100.p

Grundstock Gunhauler 150.p
Grundstock Gunhauler 150.p

Outside of Battalion

20x Guards with Halberds 160.p
20x Guards with Halberds 160.p

10x Grundstock Thunderers 240.p
Arkaunaut Frigate 250.p

1950.p Total

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2020/05/10 09:30:24


 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





I'm not aware of any rule that stops the Gunhaulers counting towards your 1 in 4 max Overlords units.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/05/10 10:44:20


 
   
Made in se
Been Around the Block




 Stux wrote:
I'm not aware of any rule that stops the Gunhaulers counting towards your 1 in 4 max Overlords units.


The reason is that the Battalion says 1 General on Griffin, 3-6 Pistolier/Outriders and 0-2 Gunhaulers.
So for me it is not obvious that the Gunhaulers counts towards the Battalion and not the 1/4 max units.
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





The Battalion isnt permission to take those units regardless of other rules. You are still bound by the maximum 6 Leader units too for instance.

Its just saying you need these units to take the Battalion.
   
 
Forum Index » AoS War Council
Go to: