Switch Theme:

Are there any units that have Characters and non Characters in the same unit in 8th ed?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Are there any units that have Characters and non Characters in the same unit in 8th ed?

I know multiple CHARACTERS can be a unit on some Dataslates (Like the Adepta Sororitas – Geminae Superia which can have 2 models and they are both characters in a single unit)

But are there units that have some CHARACTERS and other models without the CHARACTER keyword as a single unit?

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 DeathReaper wrote:
Are there any units that have Characters and non Characters in the same unit in 8th ed?

I know multiple CHARACTERS can be a unit on some Dataslates (Like the Adepta Sororitas – Geminae Superia which can have 2 models and they are both characters in a single unit)

But are there units that have some CHARACTERS and other models without the CHARACTER keyword as a single unit?
Big Mek (whichever ones can take a Grot Oiler) and GSC Patriarch. However they have an FAQ dealing with that issue in 8th (BRB FAQ, it explicitly even calls out the Patriarch).

In 9th it seems that the Character rule itself is sufficient, the entire unit benefits from Character "protection" because the unit "contains any CHARACTER models".

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2020/06/18 22:05:56


Add me on Discord: BaconCatBug#0294 +++++List of "broken" RaW in Warhammer 40,000 8th edition+++++
+++++List of documents required to play Warhammer 40,000 8th edition+++++
Disclaimer: My YMDC answers are from a "What the rules, as written (or modified by Special Snowflake FAQ) in the rulebooks, actually say" perspective, not a "What I wish the rules said" perspective. Even GW agrees with me, send an email to 40kfaq@gwplc.com for a confirmation reply "4. Apply The Rules As Written. If you still don’t have a satisfactory answer, use the rule just as it is written if you possibly can, even if you are not completely happy with the effect the rule has."
Mathhammer tables for 2D6 and 3D6 Charging with various re-roll abilities || Stylus CSS theme for DakkaDakka forums to hide black avatar background and fully hide ignored users. || Userscript to add a button to open all "[First Unread]" links on the page, hides the "[Blog View]" links, and adds a "Subscribed Threads" link to forum pages.  
   
Made in us
Spawn of Chaos




Bellevue

dark apostle, tau battle suits

I'm a cool guy 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 brazenjaw wrote:
dark apostle, tau battle suits
Huh? Dark Apostle is a single model. Tau Battlesuits don't have Character models in it.

Add me on Discord: BaconCatBug#0294 +++++List of "broken" RaW in Warhammer 40,000 8th edition+++++
+++++List of documents required to play Warhammer 40,000 8th edition+++++
Disclaimer: My YMDC answers are from a "What the rules, as written (or modified by Special Snowflake FAQ) in the rulebooks, actually say" perspective, not a "What I wish the rules said" perspective. Even GW agrees with me, send an email to 40kfaq@gwplc.com for a confirmation reply "4. Apply The Rules As Written. If you still don’t have a satisfactory answer, use the rule just as it is written if you possibly can, even if you are not completely happy with the effect the rule has."
Mathhammer tables for 2D6 and 3D6 Charging with various re-roll abilities || Stylus CSS theme for DakkaDakka forums to hide black avatar background and fully hide ignored users. || Userscript to add a button to open all "[First Unread]" links on the page, hides the "[Blog View]" links, and adds a "Subscribed Threads" link to forum pages.  
   
Made in it
Wild Wyrdboy with Minderz




Italy

Badrukk can take an ammo runt.

Orks 7000
Space Wolves 5000
 
   
Made in us
Mutated Chosen Chaos Marine




The dark hollows of Kentucky

 brazenjaw wrote:
dark apostle, tau battle suits

Dark disciples are a separate unit from the apostle.
   
Made in de
Storm Trooper with Maglight






Death Korps Quartermaster Cadre. The Quartermaster is a character, his Servitors are not.

~2800 build and painted 
   
Made in au
Sneaky Sniper Drone




 brazenjaw wrote:
dark apostle, tau battle suits


T'au Commanders can be taken with some Drones but the two separate into their own units when the battle begins, so I don't think that really counts.
   
Made in gb
Human Auxiliary to the Empire




Aun'va.

The Aun'va model has the character keyword but the two ethereal do not.
   
Made in fi
Decrepit Dakkanaut





Orks have tons of grot options

12 factions for Lord of The Rings
4663
11772 pts(along with lots of unpainted unsorted stuff)
5265 pts
5150 pts
~3200 pts Knights

 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






tneva82 wrote:
Orks have tons of grot options
Not really a "ton". Big Mek (though there are technically 4 different Big Mek datasheets) and Captain Badrukk are the only ones IIRC, since the Grot Orderly isn't a "model", just a wargear upgrade represented by a model (like a Cherub).

Add me on Discord: BaconCatBug#0294 +++++List of "broken" RaW in Warhammer 40,000 8th edition+++++
+++++List of documents required to play Warhammer 40,000 8th edition+++++
Disclaimer: My YMDC answers are from a "What the rules, as written (or modified by Special Snowflake FAQ) in the rulebooks, actually say" perspective, not a "What I wish the rules said" perspective. Even GW agrees with me, send an email to 40kfaq@gwplc.com for a confirmation reply "4. Apply The Rules As Written. If you still don’t have a satisfactory answer, use the rule just as it is written if you possibly can, even if you are not completely happy with the effect the rule has."
Mathhammer tables for 2D6 and 3D6 Charging with various re-roll abilities || Stylus CSS theme for DakkaDakka forums to hide black avatar background and fully hide ignored users. || Userscript to add a button to open all "[First Unread]" links on the page, hides the "[Blog View]" links, and adds a "Subscribed Threads" link to forum pages.  
   
Made in it
Wild Wyrdboy with Minderz




Italy

 BaconCatBug wrote:
tneva82 wrote:
Orks have tons of grot options
Not really a "ton". Big Mek (though there are technically 4 different Big Mek datasheets) and Captain Badrukk are the only ones IIRC, since the Grot Orderly isn't a "model", just a wargear upgrade represented by a model (like a Cherub).


Those grots are part of the unit, not just wargear. They have their own profile, can die by soaking wounds for the character they screen and even reduce the transport capacity of vehicles if they are embarked, because they actually take one seat per model. Cherubs don't have any of these qualities. In older editions ammo runts, oilers, orderlies, etc were wargear just like cherubs, now they're real models

3 big meks and a mek can take an oiler. Badrukk can have an ammo runt. That's all, outside index/legend options.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/06/20 08:35:07


Orks 7000
Space Wolves 5000
 
   
Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman




England

Pask?

See that stuff above? Completely true. All of it, every single word. Stands to reason. 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






What about Pask? He's just a special Tank Commander.

Add me on Discord: BaconCatBug#0294 +++++List of "broken" RaW in Warhammer 40,000 8th edition+++++
+++++List of documents required to play Warhammer 40,000 8th edition+++++
Disclaimer: My YMDC answers are from a "What the rules, as written (or modified by Special Snowflake FAQ) in the rulebooks, actually say" perspective, not a "What I wish the rules said" perspective. Even GW agrees with me, send an email to 40kfaq@gwplc.com for a confirmation reply "4. Apply The Rules As Written. If you still don’t have a satisfactory answer, use the rule just as it is written if you possibly can, even if you are not completely happy with the effect the rule has."
Mathhammer tables for 2D6 and 3D6 Charging with various re-roll abilities || Stylus CSS theme for DakkaDakka forums to hide black avatar background and fully hide ignored users. || Userscript to add a button to open all "[First Unread]" links on the page, hides the "[Blog View]" links, and adds a "Subscribed Threads" link to forum pages.  
   
Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman




England

Oh, nvm then.

See that stuff above? Completely true. All of it, every single word. Stands to reason. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K General Discussion
Go to: