Switch Theme:

Question on "Look Out Sir" concerning a Tech Priest Engineer, Leman Russ and a Commissar  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block




Los Angeles

Apologies ahead of time if this has been answered, but I was unable to query an answer.

Scenario:
You have Leman Russ, Tech Priest, and Commissar near one another. Now, the Leman Russ is closest to an enemy unit. Next is the Com and finally the TPE
Who could the enemy not target?

I debated this subject with my fellow players. I argued the Leman Russ or the TPE could be targeted first then the Commissar. If the Com was the closest, then the LR or the Com.
Am I correct?

Thank you
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Blastum wrote:
Apologies ahead of time if this has been answered, but I was unable to query an answer.

Scenario:
You have Leman Russ, Tech Priest, and Commissar near one another. Now, the Leman Russ is closest to an enemy unit. Next is the Com and finally the TPE
Who could the enemy not target?

I debated this subject with my fellow players. I argued the Leman Russ or the TPE could be targeted first then the Commissar. If the Com was the closest, then the LR or the Com.
Am I correct?

Thank you
Insufficient information to answer. How far from the Leman Russ are the Commissar and Tech Priest? Keep in mind Look Out Sir in the rulebook is incorrect, it has been errata'd. If the Priest and Commissar are within 3" of the Leman Russ, and not the closest enemy unit, they can't be targeted. If they are the closest, they can. As soon as the Leman Russ dies, both can be targeted if they aren't within 3" of any other units as they have less than 9 wounds and thus are ignored for the purposes of Look Out Sir. If the Tech Priest is 4" away from the Leman Russ, and 3" away from the Commissar, it can be targeted just fine, even if it's not the closest.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2020/10/28 22:36:01


 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Los Angeles

 BaconCatBug wrote:
 Blastum wrote:
Apologies ahead of time if this has been answered, but I was unable to query an answer.

Scenario:
You have Leman Russ, Tech Priest, and Commissar near one another. Now, the Leman Russ is closest to an enemy unit. Next is the Com and finally the TPE
Who could the enemy not target?

I debated this subject with my fellow players. I argued the Leman Russ or the TPE could be targeted first then the Commissar. If the Com was the closest, then the LR or the Com.
Am I correct?

Thank you
Insufficient information to answer. How far from the Leman Russ are the Commissar and Tech Priest? Keep in mind Look Out Sir in the rulebook is incorrect, it has been errata'd. If the Priest and Commissar are within 3" of the Leman Russ, and not the closest enemy unit, they can't be targeted. If they are the closest, they can. As soon as the Leman Russ dies, both can be targeted if they aren't within 3" of any other units as they have less than 9 wounds and thus are ignored for the purposes of Look Out Sir. If the Tech Priest is 4" away from the Leman Russ, and 3" away from the Commissar, it can be targeted just fine, even if it's not the closest.


I think you answered it just fine. Sorry about the inches, should have included it.
I didn't know there is an errata. Are we talking about this one?
[https://www.warhammer-community.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/09/rLPei6snULK8OoF7.pdf

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/10/28 22:48:46


 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






No, the errata to the Core Book. https://www.warhammer-community.com/faqs/?orderby=post_created&order=desc#warhammer-40000
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Los Angeles


Got it. Thanks!
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: