Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/11/04 20:53:33
Subject: Always strike First Being Charged and then Interrupting
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
I have a question about units that have always fight first.
Two units of space marines charge two different Keepers of Secrets, the space marine player chooses Unit A to fight. Once Unit A completes the fight phase, can I use the Counter Offensive stratagem to interrupt and choose a keeper to fight with, and then get the next activation to swing with the second Keeper? Since Returning to normal sequencing it's the Daemon player's turn to activate a unit still right?
|
"Ideas are more powerful than guns. We would not let our enemies have guns, why should we let them have ideas."
-Joseph Stalin
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/11/04 21:27:15
Subject: Re:Always strike First Being Charged and then Interrupting
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
I take it the Keepers of Secrets have "fight first", triggering the Rare Rules that tell you to alternate them with the chargers anyway?
If so, I believe you'd be wasting the CP in using the strat. You would indeed be able to use it and choose a Keeper to fight with next... but it doesn't say anything about overriding alternations. So that unit fighting would still be an activation, that triggers it being your opponent's turn to choose their next unit anyway.
In that respect - the Counter-Offensive stratagem isn't useful when you're following normal alternations. It's only useful when your opponent has multiple charger/fight first units, and you don't.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/11/04 21:27:57
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/11/04 21:27:42
Subject: Re:Always strike First Being Charged and then Interrupting
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
My understanding is that the stratagem ignores the normal order and lets you fight out of turn. You then have to return to the normal order afterwards.
Without stratagem: charging Space Marine unit A fights, Slaanesh unit A fights (before other chargers due to their Quicksilver Swiftness special rule), charging Space Marine charging unit B fights, Slaanesh unit B fights (before other chargers due to Quicksilver Swiftness). If there are no other Space Marine units that charged then Slaanesh gets to fight with all its remaining Quicksilver Swifness units. After that, the Slaanesh player gets another pick because it is not their turn.
With stratagem: charging Space Marine unit A fights, Slaanesh unit B interrupts, Slaanesh unit A fights (before other chargers due to Quicksilver Swiftness), charging Space Marine unit B fights. f there are no other Space Marine units that charged then Slaanesh gets to fight with all its remaining Quicksilver Swifness units. After that, the Slaanesh player gets another pick because it is not their turn.
|
8930 points 6800 points 75 points 600 points
2810 points 5740 points 2650 points 3275 points
55 points 640 points 1840 points 435 points
2990 points 700 points 2235 points 1935 points
3460 points 1595 points 2480 points 2895 points
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/11/04 21:30:16
Subject: Re:Always strike First Being Charged and then Interrupting
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
Bilge Rat wrote:My understanding is that the stratagem ignores the normal order and lets you fight out of turn. You then have to return to the normal order afterwards.
I initially thought this too, until I actually went and read the strat. It doesn't say anything about interrupting or disrupting order - it just says that the unit you choose, fights next. While you can use it to fight out of turn as a result, this makes it functionally useless if you were going to fight next anyway.
|
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/11/04 21:34:19
Subject: Re:Always strike First Being Charged and then Interrupting
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
Super Ready wrote: Bilge Rat wrote:My understanding is that the stratagem ignores the normal order and lets you fight out of turn. You then have to return to the normal order afterwards.
I initially thought this too, until I actually went and read the strat. It doesn't say anything about interrupting or disrupting order - it just says that the unit you choose, fights next. While you can use it to fight out of turn as a result, this makes it functionally useless if you were going to fight next anyway.
But please explain how it is not still currently the Daemon players turn to activate a unit? As he hasn't done this yet for normal sequencing, he spent 2 CP (A COST) to swing with a unit before he was allowed to, now it's the Daemon player's turn still to activate a unit thought right? IF not why?
|
"Ideas are more powerful than guns. We would not let our enemies have guns, why should we let them have ideas."
-Joseph Stalin
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/11/04 21:40:03
Subject: Re:Always strike First Being Charged and then Interrupting
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Red_Lives wrote: Super Ready wrote: Bilge Rat wrote:My understanding is that the stratagem ignores the normal order and lets you fight out of turn. You then have to return to the normal order afterwards.
I initially thought this too, until I actually went and read the strat. It doesn't say anything about interrupting or disrupting order - it just says that the unit you choose, fights next. While you can use it to fight out of turn as a result, this makes it functionally useless if you were going to fight next anyway. But please explain how it is not still currently the Daemon players turn to activate a unit? As he hasn't done this yet for normal sequencing, he spent 2 CP (A COST) to swing with a unit before he was allowed to, now it's the Daemon player's turn still to activate a unit thought right? IF not why?
Because the stratagem is "meant" to let you activate a non-Fight First unit before it gets wiped out, rather than let you double dip with Fight First units? A guess at best, but a possible explanation.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/11/04 21:40:14
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/11/04 21:42:36
Subject: Re:Always strike First Being Charged and then Interrupting
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Super Ready wrote: Bilge Rat wrote:My understanding is that the stratagem ignores the normal order and lets you fight out of turn. You then have to return to the normal order afterwards.
I initially thought this too, until I actually went and read the strat. It doesn't say anything about interrupting or disrupting order - it just says that the unit you choose, fights next. While you can use it to fight out of turn as a result, this makes it functionally useless if you were going to fight next anyway.
It doesn't explicity mention interrupting but it also doesn't explicitly say that the other players gets their pick afterwards. If it works the way I thought then it isn't useless in my example because the player using the stratagem gets two picks in a row.
I dunno. I don't think there is enough information to decide which way it is supposed to work. I guess two turns is a bit janky.
|
8930 points 6800 points 75 points 600 points
2810 points 5740 points 2650 points 3275 points
55 points 640 points 1840 points 435 points
2990 points 700 points 2235 points 1935 points
3460 points 1595 points 2480 points 2895 points
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/11/04 22:18:06
Subject: Re:Always strike First Being Charged and then Interrupting
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
BaconCatBug wrote: Red_Lives wrote: Super Ready wrote: Bilge Rat wrote:My understanding is that the stratagem ignores the normal order and lets you fight out of turn. You then have to return to the normal order afterwards.
I initially thought this too, until I actually went and read the strat. It doesn't say anything about interrupting or disrupting order - it just says that the unit you choose, fights next. While you can use it to fight out of turn as a result, this makes it functionally useless if you were going to fight next anyway.
But please explain how it is not still currently the Daemon players turn to activate a unit? As he hasn't done this yet for normal sequencing, he spent 2 CP (A COST) to swing with a unit before he was allowed to, now it's the Daemon player's turn still to activate a unit thought right? IF not why?
Because the stratagem is "meant" to let you activate a non-Fight First unit before it gets wiped out, rather than let you double dip with Fight First units? A guess at best, but a possible explanation.
Why do you see it as the Marine players turn to activate after the Daemon player pays 2 CP, why is it not still the Daemon player's turn to activate a unit? I read it as Daemon player pays 2CP picks a unit to fight with, then we go back to normal sequencing so it's still the Daemon Player's turn to activate a unit. If not WHY? I want reasonings people. My reasoning is that the Daemon player paid a cost for an ability to activate outside normal sequencing, then we return to normal sequencing
|
"Ideas are more powerful than guns. We would not let our enemies have guns, why should we let them have ideas."
-Joseph Stalin
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/11/04 22:24:29
Subject: Re:Always strike First Being Charged and then Interrupting
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Red_Lives wrote: BaconCatBug wrote: Red_Lives wrote: Super Ready wrote: Bilge Rat wrote:My understanding is that the stratagem ignores the normal order and lets you fight out of turn. You then have to return to the normal order afterwards.
I initially thought this too, until I actually went and read the strat. It doesn't say anything about interrupting or disrupting order - it just says that the unit you choose, fights next. While you can use it to fight out of turn as a result, this makes it functionally useless if you were going to fight next anyway.
But please explain how it is not still currently the Daemon players turn to activate a unit? As he hasn't done this yet for normal sequencing, he spent 2 CP (A COST) to swing with a unit before he was allowed to, now it's the Daemon player's turn still to activate a unit thought right? IF not why?
Because the stratagem is "meant" to let you activate a non-Fight First unit before it gets wiped out, rather than let you double dip with Fight First units? A guess at best, but a possible explanation.
Why do you see it as the Marine players turn to activate after the Daemon player pays 2 CP, why is it not still the Daemon player's turn to activate a unit? I read it as Daemon player pays 2CP picks a unit to fight with, then we go back to normal sequencing so it's still the Daemon Player's turn to activate a unit. If not WHY? I want reasonings people. My reasoning is that the Daemon player paid a cost for an ability to activate outside normal sequencing, then we return to normal sequencing
Because the rules say to alternate picking units. Just because you paid 2CP to pick a unit you could normally pick anyway doesn't change anything.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/11/05 01:32:15
Subject: Re:Always strike First Being Charged and then Interrupting
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
Pretty much what BCB just said.
Paying 2CP allows you to pick a unit to fight next.
Following alternation allows you to pick a unit to fight next.
In the example given, you literally can't fulfil the stratagem without also fulfilling the next step of alternations. And there's nothing in the stratagem that suggests the activation is "free" or "extra" in any way.
|
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/11/05 05:10:04
Subject: Re:Always strike First Being Charged and then Interrupting
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Red_Lives wrote:Why do you see it as the Marine players turn to activate after the Daemon player pays 2 CP, why is it not still the Daemon player's turn to activate a unit? I read it as Daemon player pays 2CP picks a unit to fight with, then we go back to normal sequencing so it's still the Daemon Player's turn to activate a unit. If not WHY? I want reasonings people. My reasoning is that the Daemon player paid a cost for an ability to activate outside normal sequencing, then we return to normal sequencing
You are adding reasoning that does not exist in the rules. All Counter Offensive does is allow you to select an eligible unit and then fight with it after your opponent has fought with a unit. An eligible unit is any unit that charged of is in Engagement Range with enemy units. It does not interrupt anything. This has the effect of allowing you to select a unit that cannot normally fight yet, but does not change the rule that player alternate fighting with units. Once you have fought with the unit you selected with Counter Offensive, it is your opponent's turn to select a unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/11/05 21:12:26
Subject: Always strike First Being Charged and then Interrupting
|
 |
Ancient Space Wolves Venerable Dreadnought
|
Look at it this way:
Say you have a mix of “always strikes first” units and regular units in engagement range after the enemy charges, then use the stratagem to pick one of your units that doesn’t “strike first” after their first unit fights; who fights next?
I say it’s one of their (charging) units.
|
"Three months? I'm going to go crazy …and I'm taking you with me!"
— Vala Mal Doran |
|
 |
 |
|