Switch Theme:

Craftworld Support Weapon Crew Model - How Does It Interact?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Mounted Kroot Tracker







I've found the rules for the extra crew in a support weapon unit to be rather wonky in game when choosing to represent the model with a crew on foot. The model can be built with either both crew on the weapon platform or with one crew on a separate base.



"This unit contains 1 Support Weapon and 2 crew, one manning the weapon and one standing alongside it."

"Guardian Crew: Each Support Weapon and its crew are treated as a single model for all rules purposes. The crew must remain within 1" of their Support Weapon and cannot be targeted or attacked separately. The range and visibility of all attacks made by a Support Weapon and its crew are measured from the Support Weapon, not the crew."

So what I gather from that is the two models only count as one in the game (one model claiming an objective, one model destroyed, etc.), but the crew model does exist as a footprint, as it must remain within 1" of the weapon. What kind of interactions can this crew model make? It cannot be targeted or attacked, and it cannot be used to draw line of sight. Otherwise, does it exist for other things?

1) Can an enemy model move within 1" of the crew while remaining out of engagement range of the weapon?

2) If the crew is within 3" of an objective, but the weapon is not, does the unit count as claiming the objective?

3) The support weapon unit has the VEHICLE keyword. If a character is within 3" of the crew, but not the weapon, can it benefit from Look Out, Sir?

   
Made in gb
Walking Dead Wraithlord






The crew is still armed with shuriken catapult.
In theory, you could shoot it as well as the main gun, as the main gun reuires one crew man.

From a rules perspective, I believe all measurements are done to and from the platform itself. So for all intents and puposes the second crewman isint really there for any measuring purposes. Bit like antena..

Edit: I think the reason he is there is that if you stick him down where he should stand by the console, you cant fit the back end of the gun piece without scraping against his back or pushing so his hands aren't actually touching the console he is supposed to be manning.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/03/13 04:53:43


https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/772746.page#10378083 - My progress/failblog painting blog thingy

Eldar- 4436 pts


AngryAngel80 wrote:
I don't know, when I see awesome rules, I'm like " Baby, your rules looking so fine. Maybe I gotta add you to my first strike battalion eh ? "


 Eonfuzz wrote:


I would much rather everyone have a half ass than no ass.


"A warrior does not seek fame and honour. They come to him as he humbly follows his path"  
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Oaka wrote:
"Guardian Crew: Each Support Weapon and its crew are treated as a single model for all rules purposes. The crew must remain within 1" of their Support Weapon and cannot be targeted or attacked separately. The range and visibility of all attacks made by a Support Weapon and its crew are measured from the Support Weapon, not the crew."

1) Can an enemy model move within 1" of the crew while remaining out of engagement range of the weapon?

No, because the crew model and the Support Weapon are treated as a single model for all rules purposes, so you cant get within 1 inch of the weapon or the crew.

2) If the crew is within 3" of an objective, but the weapon is not, does the unit count as claiming the objective?

Support Weapon and its crew are treated as a single model for all rules purposes, so yes that unit claims the objective.

3) The support weapon unit has the VEHICLE keyword. If a character is within 3" of the crew, but not the weapon, can it benefit from Look Out, Sir?

Support Weapon and its crew are treated as a single model for all rules purposes, and the unit has all the keywords of all the models in the unit, so it depends on what the Look Out, Sir rules say when near a vehicle. It also depends on the positioning of said models. (Searching for a quote about the keywords, standby Edit: and now I can not find it.).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/03/13 05:51:37


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: