Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/04/06 15:30:06
Subject: Stompa: Psycho-Dakka-Blasta!. Need help with understanding the rule.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Im not fully sure how Psycho-Dakka-Blasta! works. In your Shooting phase, after firing this model’s supa-gatler for the first time that phase, you can attempt to fire it a second time by rolling a D6; on a 1 the weapon’s ammo has been expended, and it cannot be used for the rest of the battle. On a 2+ you can fire the supa-gatler a second time that phase, and after resolving those attacks, you can then attempt to fire the weapon a third time by rolling a D6; on a 4 or less the weapon’s ammo has been expended, and it cannot be used for the rest of the battle. On a 5+ you can fire the supa-gatler a third time that phase. It states, after using the models supa.gatla for the first time in the phase, not the first time in general. Meaning you can use this ability in each round. Does that mean if you roll 1D6 in your shooting phase at the end, you get a +2 which means you are allowed to shoot again with it. If the Stompa survives to the next round and you shoot with it again, and use the Psycho-Dakka-blasta ability once more, does that mean you once again first need a +2, or does it move on to the +5? is it +2 --> +5 per round? or does it carry over to the next round in case i only wanted to use the ability once, to get the +2 rather than thrice, to get +5? So round one +2, next round, +5? Also how does that work with targeting? Do you have to declare from the beginning that you intend to use the ability and then declare targets for it? or do you just only shoot the target you shot the first time? Or do you declare afterwards when the ability has been used?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2021/04/06 15:32:14
Hope, is the first step on the road to disappointment.
- About Dawn of War 3 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/04/06 16:05:15
Subject: Re:Stompa: Psycho-Dakka-Blasta!. Need help with understanding the rule.
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
It 'resets' each round, assuming you don't fail any of the rolls.
|
8930 points 6800 points 75 points 600 points
2810 points 5740 points 2650 points 3275 points
55 points 640 points 1840 points 435 points
2990 points 700 points 2235 points 1935 points
3460 points 1595 points 2480 points 2895 points
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/04/06 16:12:41
Subject: Stompa: Psycho-Dakka-Blasta!. Need help with understanding the rule.
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Beardedragon wrote:Im not fully sure how Psycho-Dakka-Blasta! works.
In your Shooting phase, after firing this model’s supa-gatler for the first time that phase, you can attempt to fire it a second time by rolling a D6; on a 1 the weapon’s ammo has been expended, and it cannot be used for the rest of the battle. On a 2+ you can fire the supa-gatler a second time that phase, and after resolving those attacks, you can then attempt to fire the weapon a third time by rolling a D6; on a 4 or less the weapon’s ammo has been expended, and it cannot be used for the rest of the battle. On a 5+ you can fire the supa-gatler a third time that phase.
It states, after using the models supa.gatla for the first time in the phase, not the first time in general. Meaning you can use this ability in each round.
Correct. This ability can be used every round.
Does that mean if you roll 1D6 in your shooting phase at the end, you get a +2 which means you are allowed to shoot again with it. If the Stompa survives to the next round and you shoot with it again, and use the Psycho-Dakka-blasta ability once more, does that mean you once again first need a +2, or does it move on to the +5?
Yes you can fire again the next round, you will need a 2+
is it +2 --> +5 per round? or does it carry over to the next round in case i only wanted to use the ability once, to get the +2 rather than thrice, to get +5? So round one +2, next round, +5?
It only adds one if you try to fire it again that same round. In a new round you fire once, then roll a 2+ to fire again. Then a 3+ if you want to fire a third time. The next round you fire once, then roll a 2+ to fire again. etc...
Also how does that work with targeting? Do you have to declare from the beginning that you intend to use the ability and then declare targets for it? or do you just only shoot the target you shot the first time? Or do you declare afterwards when the ability has been used?
if you shoot again it is a new shooting attack, so you have to go through all the steps of the shooting process, which includes picking a target.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/04/06 16:14:39
Subject: Re:Stompa: Psycho-Dakka-Blasta!. Need help with understanding the rule.
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
It resets for every new shooting phase. It says ".....after firing this model’s supa-gatler for the first time that phase". In a new shooting phase you will shoot it for the first time that phase. If you get a second round of shooting you would select the unit again, just like you would select any other unit for shooting, and then you would go through all the steps of the shooting phase as usual. You dont roll at the end of the shooting phase, you roll after firing the weapon.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/04/06 16:27:48
Subject: Stompa: Psycho-Dakka-Blasta!. Need help with understanding the rule.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Alright.
Thanks guys.
I was particularly interested in the "targeting" situation. I mean sure it shoots again if you are lucky or maybe three times, but i was under the impression i had to dedicate targets before hand, before attempting to use the ability. Because this way you can essentially see what has died, roll the ability, it goes off and then you just find another target.
But thanks guys. Im about to get a kustom Stompa home and ive given it a Lifta Droppa and the supa rokkit, deffkannon and kustom supa rokkit arm.
Its sad its only the normal Stompa that receives that stratagem to be able to reroll it.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/04/06 16:28:05
Hope, is the first step on the road to disappointment.
- About Dawn of War 3 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/04/06 18:09:16
Subject: Re:Stompa: Psycho-Dakka-Blasta!. Need help with understanding the rule.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
p5freak wrote:It resets for every new shooting phase. It says ".....after firing this model’s supa-gatler for the first time that phase". In a new shooting phase you will shoot it for the first time that phase. If you get a second round of shooting you would select the unit again, just like you would select any other unit for shooting, and then you would go through all the steps of the shooting phase as usual. You dont roll at the end of the shooting phase, you roll after firing the weapon.
Actually you don't roll after firing the weapon. You roll after you declare you are going to try to fire it a second (or third) time that phase. If you fire it only once each shooting phase, then you never have to roll to see if it's run out.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/04/06 19:39:25
Subject: Re:Stompa: Psycho-Dakka-Blasta!. Need help with understanding the rule.
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
doctortom wrote: p5freak wrote:It resets for every new shooting phase. It says ".....after firing this model’s supa-gatler for the first time that phase". In a new shooting phase you will shoot it for the first time that phase. If you get a second round of shooting you would select the unit again, just like you would select any other unit for shooting, and then you would go through all the steps of the shooting phase as usual. You dont roll at the end of the shooting phase, you roll after firing the weapon.
Actually you don't roll after firing the weapon. You roll after you declare you are going to try to fire it a second (or third) time that phase. If you fire it only once each shooting phase, then you never have to roll to see if it's run out.
I never said you have to roll, its optional.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/04/06 19:39:35
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/04/06 19:52:42
Subject: Re:Stompa: Psycho-Dakka-Blasta!. Need help with understanding the rule.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
p5freak wrote: doctortom wrote: p5freak wrote:It resets for every new shooting phase. It says ".....after firing this model’s supa-gatler for the first time that phase". In a new shooting phase you will shoot it for the first time that phase. If you get a second round of shooting you would select the unit again, just like you would select any other unit for shooting, and then you would go through all the steps of the shooting phase as usual. You dont roll at the end of the shooting phase, you roll after firing the weapon.
Actually you don't roll after firing the weapon. You roll after you declare you are going to try to fire it a second (or third) time that phase. If you fire it only once each shooting phase, then you never have to roll to see if it's run out.
I never said you have to roll, its optional.
Saying "you roll after firing the weapon" implies that it wasn't optional though, that you had to roll after you shoot every time. You also wouldn't take your second round of shooting, rolling all the shots, then after that roll to find out whether those shots were there in the first place, which could also be inferred from what you said. That's just wrong.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/04/06 20:30:10
Subject: Stompa: Psycho-Dakka-Blasta!. Need help with understanding the rule.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Well. Regardless i understood what he meant.
|
Hope, is the first step on the road to disappointment.
- About Dawn of War 3 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/04/07 11:00:12
Subject: Stompa: Psycho-Dakka-Blasta!. Need help with understanding the rule.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The relevant rules this is attempting to interact with would be things like the bad moons "shoot again" stratagem and overwatch.
It being per phase, it means if you select the supa gatla to shoot in the shooting phase, resolve it, then use "shoot again", you can't then use psycho-dakka-blasta to get extra shots on the shots from the stratagem - it can only be used on the first time it shoots each phase.
So your options are:
Shoot>PDB>shoot again, or
shoot>shoot again
you can't do
shoot>shoot again>PDB
shoot>PDB>shoot again>PDB
You can also do:
shooting phase:
Shoot>PDB
enemy assault phase:
overwatch>PDB
as it resets per phase.
The (assumed) reasoning is that you could use "shoot again" to guarantee two rounds of shots, and then use PDB to gamble on the third, whereas having to do it on the first round means you could lose your ammo and thus can't use "shoot again" afterwards. It also prevents you (with luck) shooting it 6 times per phase through shooting again and rolling a 2+ & 5+ for both PDB rolls on both rounds of shooting!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/04/07 20:05:32
Subject: Stompa: Psycho-Dakka-Blasta!. Need help with understanding the rule.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Bad Moonz Showin off can only be used on infantry
|
Hope, is the first step on the road to disappointment.
- About Dawn of War 3 |
|
 |
 |
|